This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko

Reviews of The Emakoko

Wildlife sightings and reviews

74 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Emakoko and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Emakoko.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

7% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

89% success

Giraffe

89% success

Buffalo

76% success

Eland

71% success

White Rhino

71% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Wildebeest

47% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 74
Duration
Arrival date
Family S
Lonond

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2017
"The Emakoko was the perfect place to start the trip. Rachel, who was managing the place while the owners were away made us feel very much at home." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
Worcester Park

"The Emakoko Lodge Experience"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2017
"We did not start off with a good beginning - the driver was sent to Nairobi National Airport to meet me off an Emirates flight when in fact I was at the hotel Lazizi Premiere waiting for him. I had arrived the previous night at 2.10am by Turkish Airlines! It took several unanswered phone calls before receiving an answer from the Lodge and the problem finally resolved. It was not the driver's fault. What did surprise me was that upon my arrival at the Emakoko Lodge there was no apology for what had happened.

The staff at Emakoko Lodge were very friendly and helpful and eager to chat to me. One person insisted on taking my blouse, shoes, hat and crutch to clean after I had been spattered with red mud by an elephant.

I liked the peace and tranquility of the area and the natural surroundings and I was very content to be staying at the Emakoko Lodge. I enjoyed the Game Drives and the driver managed to find two lionesses with a total of five playful cubs which was a bonus. The sight of over a hundred storks roosting in trees was a sight I would never have imagined.

Regarding my very nice accommodation, I would have liked to have had the window/s or verandah door open but because of the invasion by destructive monkeys it was inadvisable The chef was good and produced some interesting meals the recipes for which he is happy to share with guests. Each evening during dinner a 'pet' genet appears to eat her dish of food, one evening with her kitten.

My driver took me to visit the elephant orphanage which I thought was very good but my visit to the Giraffe Centre was disappointing: I did not want to be kissed or licked by the giraffes and in a roundabout way I felt they were being coaxed to be undignified with the bribes of food pellets, although I do understand the Centre is a way for schoolchildren to get to know about giraffes, and there were plenty of schoolchildren there eagerly awaiting to meet the giraffes 'face-to-face'.

As an aside, I was amused to find that at the Lodge the hyrax had a fondness for rose flower heads and when nobody was around left a bunch of headless stalks in the vases." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C
Harvest

"Surpisingly Good"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2017
"I didn't expect much here. Emakoko is inside (or practically so) the Nairobi National Park -- but the park is surprisingly good. You are on the edge of the big city, but in the bush with all the expected African wildlife. Some of my best Eland, Lion, Rhino, and Serval Cat video footage was taken here. My room was shared with a family of Hyrax, which came into the room to eat the roses that the management left for me, so I got good video there too. And, the management, especially Anthony Childs was delightful to talk with (although I was quite jet lagged at the time)." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Shay
USA

"Nairobi Safari Stay"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2017
"This is my second stay at the Emakoko. I love it and would highly recommend to anyone.

They took excellent care of me, from picking me up at the airport, to providing food and company, the guiding was excellent on the game drives, etc.

Those who worked there remembered me from two years ago.

I felt right at home. I will return again." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Hassocks

"A haven peace, a 20 min drive from Wilson"

3 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2017
"We'd met the Childs' back in 2006 when they were running Elsa's kopje in Meru NP, and it was good to see them well settled 6 years into their new venture.

We were looking for an unwind after a hectic time in Nairobi and a short safari and the setting is ideal. The rooms are well appointed and spacious though ours was starting to look a little tired (an observation, not a complaint). We went up to the upper level and the views from the cottages up there are excellent. However, as we were round about the lodge for a full day and a half and going to/from the mess area/room/pool regularly I'm very grateful that Richard at Expert travel suggested the lower level!

We were there for a relaxing couple of days rather than the tourist bit but we did take one game drive. Elizaban our guide was very good (ex Elsa's Kopje). We saw a male and female lion, rhino, and many plains game. Just a couple of vehicles seen in the distance so we had that part of the park (the SW) to ourselves. In camp we had the resident hippo strolling across the grass in front of the room one morning, a couple of bushbuck nipping about in the thickets and a wealth of birdlife. Elizaban drove us in to Karen to a very new and impressive mall for some shopping, and later to the evening sponsor's session at Daphne Sheldrick's Elephant orphanage.

We also took an hour or so's morning walk with a guide, from the lodge along the river bank and then round up onto the top.

The food is first class, as is the service all round, staff friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Anton and Emma are hands on owners, relaxed and knowledgeable hosts and very good company. We had a very pleasant stay and unwind away from the traffic and hubbub of Nairobi, and are happy to recommend Emakoko as an ideal starting and/or departing point for a safari holiday in Kenya." See all these reviews: 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms B
Grapevine

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 4 Feb 2017
"This was a beautiful lodge at the edge of the Nairobi National Park. We drove through the park for about 30 minutes to get to the lodge. We saw giraffes against the city skyline, very different from the safari backdrops, hippos in the water and baboons waiting at the main gate for food from visitors. The lodge consisted of spacious cottages along the hillside with balconies overlooking the bush. The food was excellent and the service top notch. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and a drive/guide was at our service. The Emakoko was a great place to end our safari before returning home." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Marlow

"A great place to stay in the Nairobi NP"

2 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2017
"A well run lodge inside the Nairobi National Park, so it is possible to see animals in the evening and early morning before it gets busy...  the rooms are spacious and well appointed and the food is verging on fine dining...  all the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the relief manager, Rachel.  Rashid our guide was knowledgeable and in addition to the game drives took us to Sheldrick Elephant Centre and the Giraffe House...
There are upper and lower accommodations, the upper have good views but many steps...
There is a pool, but we were too busy to use it.  Would visit again...

OTHER COMMENTS
1. Rachel, the relief manager guided us through our visit, constantly pointing things out and making suggestions....
2. There was good WiFi...
3. Power in the rooms was very useful for charging batteries etc..." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jan 2017
"What a gem - a safari lodge in Nairobi! This was a wonderful way for us to finish our holiday.

However it is equally a great place to start a holiday, as were a number of other guests staying there. The lodge was beautifully appointed and very comfortable and the owner managers were extremely welcoming and obliging. The quality of the food and the service were excellent.

Nairobi Park was a delightful surprise. It has a good variety and quantity of animals. We had some of our best sightings of black and white rhino ever." See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"Emakoko. A jewel lodge in Nairobi Park!"

1 night Arrived 3 Jan 2017
"Stunning lodge 45 minutes from airport via a game drive in Nairobi Park where we saw Rhino, lion and herbivores on our route out!
Excellent food and drink.
Excellent rooms.
If we had known it was so good we would have stayed longer, not just an overnight stop between flights form Zanzibar to UK!" See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Appledore

"Overnight at Emakoko"

1 night Arrived 23 Dec 2016
"Emakoko was very welcoming after a long day's travelling. It was looking elegantly festive for Christmas with a log fire and pretty tree. my room was comfortable and had visiting rock hyrax who came in apparently bent on stealing the roses from the vase on the table. lovely view across the little valley, and a serval which came to sundowners. No time for a serious game drive as we left early next day, but great to see giraffe grazing with high rise Nairobi in the background.

A good start to the holiday." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 74
96%
74 reviews of The Emakoko by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (56 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (49 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


92% (30 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


79% (27 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (25 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


95% (4 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa