This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko

Reviews of The Emakoko

Wildlife sightings and reviews

74 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Emakoko and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Emakoko.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

7% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

89% success

Giraffe

89% success

Buffalo

76% success

Eland

71% success

White Rhino

71% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Wildebeest

47% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 74
Duration
Arrival date
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Why go further?"

3 nights Arrived 9 Dec 2016
"Nairobi National Park deserves our attention for two reasons. First, it is under increasing pressure in the name of development; more overseas visitors may encourage the government to stop questionable encroachments such as a proposed new railway viaduct right across the park. Second, it is a little gem just right next to JKIA.

Furthermore, in The Emakoko it has an absolutely first rate lodge on its southern border which would grace just about any NP. During our stay the owners were actually on furlough; but the relief manager Rachel is very much part of the Emakoko family and does an excellent job both running the lodge generally and making guests feel very much at home. We could not have been made more welcome or been looked after better by her and the resident team The accommodation was very comfortable; the public areas are welcoming; and the food was so good that we dashed back from Karen on a couple of days for lunch rather than go to one or other of the fine restaurants in town.

As for the park itself, as usual we were mainly in pursuit of the birds. I have still to tot up the final number but we were not far short of 200 species during our five days (quite a bit of which was not spent in the NP per se as we had business and personal reasons to be out and about, this being a hybrid trip rather than 'just' vacation). This despite the fact that we did not do as well for migrants as one would expect at this time of year. My top picks were: the Greater Spotted Eagle; the Gull-billed Tern (probably only the second sighting ever in the park); three different species of Bustard/Korhaan; a Nightingale (always hard to see); the Eurasian Marsh Harrier; the White-headed Barbet; and the Yellow-throated Longclaw.

As for the mammals, it is a downside for many (us included) that there are no elephants (other than at the orphanage). But a plentitude of rhinos - black and white - goes a long way towards making up for this; and we did have some excellent close-up rhino sightings. Furthermore, we regularly stumbled across lions. Most of the major herbivores one would expect to see are plentiful, perhaps particularly notable being Masai Giraffe, Eland and Grant's Gazelle.

In all of the above we were greatly aided by our excellent guide Elizaban, to whom we are indebted not only for his services in the park but also for taking us out and about in Karen (part of The Emakoko's service) and for driving us to the airport for our return flight at 5am (which is another facility which The Emakoko offers, ie being able to ferry guests flying in and out across the NP from and to the airport after dark). And we were also fortunate enough to be able to spend a day in the park with an old friend who is one of Kenya's top birders, Brian Finch.

In short, we highly recommend a stopover at The Emakoko with enough time to do a decent exploration of Nairobi NP and to enjoy some of the additional pleasures to be found in nearby Karen." See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F
HollandPark

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2016
"i only had a brief night there but it was lovely - as before" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Oxted

"Emakoko"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2016
"The Emakoko is a unique experience - fantastic location on the southern edge of the National Park giving easy access for game drives. Superb ambiance in the main building with the bar and restaurant area and great food. very friendly and personal welcome and service from the owner and all staff.

The room was also very good with decent (and huge) bathroom and great service including putting mosquito nets etc around the very big and comfortable bed. We were in rooms 2 and 3 which are a short walk from the central building. Number 1 is closer and 4 and 5 are a bit further away but no problem.

However rooms 6 to 10 are on the upper level with great views but it is a serious climb up to these rooms and you have to be fit enough to climb a set of 80 to 100 stairs." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ladies that travel
UK

"HAVEN"

2 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2016
"Well what can I say about this place - after driving through the National Park our driver made a turn to enter a very steep hill this was like the steepest "driveway" I have ever seen, a hair raising experience but driven with care for us in the back but worth every scary moment as Emakoko into view.

The welcome we got here was truly amazing, first impression here was what a fabulous place in a great location. The room we had was spectacular, beautiful everything. The food was the best we had had this trip - so pleased to see fresh salad. The service from all the staff was friendly.

After travelling we were more than pleased to see a swimming pool which we made very good use of, a very pleasant way to finish our trip.

We would like to say that Anthony & Emma deserve a 5 star rating for their hospitality." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Essex

"The Emakoko, Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 5 Mar 2016
"We wanted to spend one night in Nairobi before flying home in order to squeeze a visit to the David Sheldrick Sanctuary to visit our foster elephant.

If you need an "overnighter" in Nairobi, then the Emakoko is the place to stay. It is comfortable, friendly, well organised and the food is delicious. Don't research anywhere else!" See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Ilminster

"Great stay on edge of Nairobi National Park"

1 night Arrived 1 Mar 2016
"Great experience right from the start.

We were met by our guide, Elisaban, on arrival and had our first game drive on the way to the Emakoko where we were warmly received by Anthony and the staff. We were very happy with everything, the lodge was beautiful, food excellent (had dinner outside by candlelight).

Can't recommend it highly enough." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Stroud

"The Emakoko - luxurious and comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2016
"The lodge is in a beautiful setting on the edge of Nairobi National Park, rhinos were our target species here and we were not disappointed! James, our guide made sure we didn't miss anything.

The food and service were outstanding, and Anthony a very genial host. All the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, even making sure we were checked in for our flight with our chosen seats.

The rooms were huge, and very comfortably furnished, with a verandah as well." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Hanwell

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2015
"Nairobi National Park is a truly remarkable place. As the city grew rapidly from nothing at the end of the 19th century, this originally wild place is now one of Africa's major cities. But a piece of far-sighted city planning meant that a tract of wilderness has been preserved right next to the skyscrapers, airports and congested traffic, a place where genuinely wild rhinos can be photographed with a city back drop.

It's not the bush, of course. But at the wonderful Emakoko, Anthony and Emma have managed to create a genuine safari experience that feels miles away from the mobile phone ads, shopping malls and mini-buses. It's in a secluded corner of the park where a wide open-sided dining room and bar overlooks the pool and river. Arriving from London late at night, we were driven (after a slightly worrying approach through a shabby industrial estate) into the National Park in the darkness (one of the very few times KWS will allow driving in a National Park at night) past grazing hartebeest, and warmly welcomed with a late supper at the lodge. Next morning, a rhino had come down to the river to say hello, and we were out in the park early before the local tours arrived. (Every car would stop and say "Have you seen anything?". We soon realised "anything" just meant "lion". There is a lot more to Nairobi NP than lions. Though they are there).

The owners used to run Elsa's Kopje, a lodge with a strong reputation, in the much more remote Meru NP and have brought a number of staff including guides and chef. The food is certainly excellent and many Nairobi residents come to stay just for that. Our guide, Elizaban, had come from Meru and was knowledgeable on all aspects of the wildlife in the park, including birds as well as mammals.

The rooms and public areas are all well-designed and have the feel of a lodge rather than a hotel. There are lots of nice touches like the old photographs of East Africa and Kenyan roses from a local farm. Each room has a large bathroom with bath as well as shower, and a deck overlooking the river, where birds and mammals can be seen wandering. Emma & Anthony are great hosts and more than happy to share their vast experience of safari life over a Tusker beer or generous gin and tonic (made by the enterprising Patrick, who is also the lodge carpenter) in the bar.

Nairobi NP is not a bush wilderness, but at the Emakoko, as darkness falls and the tour buses leave the park, you'll feel for a while like the city doesn't exist." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs F
Costa Mesa

"Relaxing Stay at The Emakoko"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2015
"Please see prior comments. [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs F
Costa Mesa

"Relaxing Stay at The Emakoko"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2015
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stays at The Emakoko, both before and after our Maasai Mara safari. The lodge is beautiful and the service and food impeccable. Peter was an excellent guide on our game drive and helped us spot rhinos, which we were unable to see in the Mara.

We wish we could have enjoyed a longer stay at The Emakoko as it was so relaxing. I would encourage future guests to consider an extended stay as the experience makes for a lovely retreat. We look forward to an opportunity to return." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 74
96%
74 reviews of The Emakoko by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (56 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (48 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


79% (27 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


92% (25 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


97% (23 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


100% (3 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa