This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms F from HollandPark

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Christmas 2016

Kenya between 22 Nov 2016 and 1 Jan 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was great and the camps a good mix.

Another time if going at Christmas ( we had requested Rekero) I might avoid Rekero simply for the Mara being so busy over Christmas but I would certainly highly recommend it for other times - it is a fabulous location.

On the last day we had a very long wait ( 12 noon to the planned 11pm flight out - delayed to 1.30am the next day) and it would have been nice to have had a place booked with a day room. We organised this ourselves in the end, or rather Darren of Kicheche Bush Camp organised it. However overall the trip worked perfectly and met our expectations.

All camp managers were simply splendid and the guides all knowledgeable - Andrew at Kicheche Laikipia and Charles at Kicheche Bush Camp were particularly good."

The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2016
"i only had a brief night there but it was lovely - as before"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

"Kicheche Laikipia"

3 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2016
"Sonja and Andy were so very warm and welcoming.

We had an excellent Christmas there

The food was excellent"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rekero

Rekero

"Rekero review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2016
"Stacey and Pete and Clea were very welcoming and again the food was spectacular. They were so kind and welcoming and helpful.

The lodge will be even better when the main building is moved forward and gives a view up the river when eating in the evening.

I loved sitting on the verandah of the look out area and whiling away an afternoon. My only comment on the location is that over Christmas the Masai Mara is busy and you can find too many 4.4 out on the plains. This is not a criticism of the Rekero itself - merely a comment on the area. A week either side of Christmas and New Year and the area would be much quieter."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Kicheche Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2016
"We liked this lodge the best of all because of the area it sits in.

Emma and Darren were so helpful and welcoming. What made this lodge the best of the 3 we stayed in was the excellent location - there are wonderful hills around, which makes for great viewing and marvellous game drives.

Our guide, Charles, was truly excellent and we much enjoyed the Bush Walk with him. This is a quiet area. Even over New Year there were very few other cars and being in a conservancy they have a very strict rule on numbers able to enter the conservancy. So very often you could be alone looking at game."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Nov 2010 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 20 Nov 2010 and 30 Nov 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"My only problem was the heat. But that is no one's fault but ours for going when it was so hot."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2010
"Mike and Carol were marvellous hosts. Welcoming and amenable. Really good.

All the staff were very helpful and charming."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camping

"Sand Rivers fly-camping review"

1 night Arrived 23 Nov 2010
"Great fun. I would encourage others to try this."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2010
"As previously stated [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

"Matemwe Bungalows review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2010
"Glorious place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangements

"review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2010
"Lovely"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team