This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from Herts

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

50th Wedding Anniversay trip

Kenya and 2 other countries between 22 Sep 2018 and 6 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"A wonderful trip which is going to be difficult to follow.

The logistics worked out exactly right, and thank you Claire for the little extras that appeared at several of the stops to recognise our anniversary."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Very short overnight at EKA"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"We were only at this hotel for about 10hrs (overnight). All seemed good (room, staff, food).

Location between airports also useful in cutting down travel in Nairobi traffic. Although the location was useful to us I am not sure I would have wanted to stay longer to 'recover' from flight and orientate to Africa as surroundings did not appear to be that brilliant."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Rekero

Rekero

"Two day stay at Rekero"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"I cannot praise this camp highly enough. The very friendly atmosphere was almost like joining a family.

Location wonderful as you overlook the Tarek river. Food - how did they produce such imaginative and tasty food in the middle of the bush and so far away from a food supplier? We only had 2 game drives from here as we took half a day to have a balloon flight, however these drives were as good as the game allowed and the guide/driver was first class. Tent accommodation very comfortable.

Good for birding around here, with the camp manager very keen to help with spotting of birds around the camp.

You also release how much you are in the bush as lions were seen inside the camp at night!!

Highly recommend."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Balloon flight over the Mara

Balloon flight over the Mara

"Balloon flight over the Maasi Mara"

24 Sep 2018 • Morning excursion

Our first balloon flight and what a wonderful experience.

Didn't like getting up so early (!!) and I though the b'fast was a bit ordinary, but would highly recommend this experience - the pilot was very skilled in the way she moved the balloon up and down (almost to ground level).
Excellent
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

"Naboisho Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"A different environment to Rekero, there being more acacia trees and no river running next to the camp.

Tent, staff, food, guiding - all first class. Elephants are the problem at this camp and one knocked down a tree right next our tent one night. We saw a lot more game from this camp than Rekero and less other tour jeeps.

We also had the interesting (to us) experience of medical help out in the bush....my wife was worried about a toe going sceptic, so she had a video link to a doctor in Jo'burg who was able to give good advice (and later we bought some anti biotics in Zanzibar). All a bit different from nipping down to your GP (and frankly, more efficient!)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

"Two 1 night stays"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"The Emerson Spice is a very good renovation of an old Stone Town merchants house. The rooms are brilliantly well decorated in the old style but have all the facilities. The staff are very helpful.

Located in the old town and arriving late at night we were a bit culture shocked (having just come off a safari camp) by the walk from the nearest parking area to the hotel through the unlit small alleyways ('roads') to get to the hotel But all looked good the next morning. On our 2nd 1 night visit, we were able to absorb the atmosphere of Stone Town and enjoy the experience of Zanzibar and this hotel.

By the way, there are quite a few stairs in this hotel and no lift. If you have a medical condition, order breakfast in your room as it is served on the roof.

We also had dinner here - relatively expensive tasting menu - although OK it is far from the best tasting menu we have had. However, with my wife's tum having a tendency to get upset very easily, we were pleased we did not have to go out and search the local restaurants."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

"Chumbe Island - 3 nights"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"We were unprepared for the wade onto and off the ferry on the outward journey. You might warn people to wear shoes and trousers that can get wet,.

We loved Chumbe island, a great place to relax in between safari's. A very small coral island with good beaches, swimming from beaches, good staff, food and interesting flora/fauna.

My wife chose Chumbe to have a regulatory tummy upset - just the place for such a problem. The manager (Vera) was so concerned about this and was really attentive and helped Fran through the day. Vera is really a lovely person.

I was not over happy with the bathroom of the cabin. Much too small and it all became a bit 'mucky' too easily. The earth toilet began to smell during the 2nd day. The bed/seating area was fine but the camp really needs to do something about that facility if it is too encourage people to stay longer than 1 night.

Whether or not the camp does want people to do more than a day/1 night stay, I am not sure. Reading back over the literature about the island, it all appears to be geared to this short stay. A pity, as the coconut crabs are nocturnal and the beaches are worth a few days at least."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

"See previous stay comments"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"No further comment [Ed: See below for their review of their stay earlier in this trip.]"
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp - 3 nights"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"A wonderful camp. Located by the very wide Rufiji river and in plentiful forest ,this was a totally different habitat from what we had seen in the Mara in Kenya. Our tent was very comfortable and overlooked the river. Hippos, bush babies and monkeys around the camp at night made life just that bit more interesting (read noisy for that!!). However, the morning chorus of the birds was delightful.

The staff were excellent, the game drives superb with plenty of animals to see, if a little more hidden than on the plains, bird life extremely good. Guides were very knowledgeable but need help with their English. Food was very good too. The river game cruise was different, especially when a too friendly hippo decided to 'play' with the boat. Too many crocs around for that.

On reflection, we might have not taken a morning game drive just to sit in the camp and enjoy the peace/tranquillity and game that can be enjoyed there. We had a hour or so of that as we waited to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team