This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Governors' Camp
Governors' Camp
Governors' Camp

Reviews of Governors' Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Governors' Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Governors' Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Governors Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2019
"The Mara was simply magnificent and we saw many lions and leopards, and once 5 cheetahs altogether.

Our tented accommodation overlooked the river with an occasional hippo wandering about right below us." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Milton Keynes

"Good safari"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2018
"No comparison with Elephant Bedroom, we were spoilt there first." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mrs B
Edinburgh

"Enjoyable three nights at Governors' Camp"

3 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2016
"Great location and game viewing but after a very special time at Laikipia Wilderness it seemed very commercialised in comparison.

The camp was quiet and we benefited from very few vehicles in the area which made for enjoyable game viewing in the Masai Mara. Our driver / guide was not as enthusiastic as many others and we were always first back in camp which was disappointing as we have always previously had excellent guides here. We were fortunate and saw lots of animals including the Big 5.

Eating outside was good but when raining the dining tent was very dark and unispiring. Would be lovely to have a pool for the middle of the day!" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr LM
SE London

"Amazing Safari at Governors Camp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2016
"This was the second year in a row that we'd decided to stay at Governors Camp during a self drive safari. The place is truly magical. Every night elephants trundled through the camp and we were able to observe them very safely from very close range. The new manager who was the deputy manager for several years beforehand is excellent as is the staff who go out of their way to make the experience special.

We were a party of 6 including my two teenage daughters and we never felt unsafe. There is also a fabulous workshop at the camp in case of required emergency repairs.

The game viewing in that area is fabulous with the marsh pride of lions made famous by the BBC Big Cats diaries as well as cheetahs, leopards, elephants, buffaloes and numerous antelopes among others plus it's only a short drive to the famous wildebeest crossing points during the migration.

Our only regret was not seeing a rhino. Richard Trillo made the reservation process very smooth at a competitive rate." See all these reviews: 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Governors Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2015
"Governors is a large camp beautifully located within the Reserve. The proximity to the marsh is one of the best reasons for staying here and again, gave us some outstanding sightings. Little Governor's and Il Moran are other camps which are part of this group which offer alternative (and smaller) options. This was my 5th stay with the Governors group.

This large camp as well as many others in and around the Reserve means lots of people in a large number of vehicles which can result in overcrowding around the animals sometimes. Most of the drivers are sensitive to this and monitor their movements. Being within the Reserve means that night drives are not allowed and off-road driving is limited to certain sightings. Governors itself may not suit some people but we mixed our stay at Governors with a small camp outside the reserve and the combination worked well for us.

Governors camp is unfenced so animals can and do come through. Hearing a hippo or elephant munch on grass outside your tent is wonderful! There are guards throughout the camp who are always on the lookout. At night you are escorted to and from your tent. There is nothing like deciding to go to bed but being stopped by the guards because an elephant was on the path. Back to the bar we went until the path was clear - not really a hardship!

The tents are comfortable and clean. Most of the tents follow the winding river bed so, with the hippos, birds and other animals there was usually something to watch from your deck. Some tents look out onto the plains. If you have any walking difficulties it would be worth mentioning this when you book as some of the tents are a walk away from the centre.

The food was delicious with several choices for each meal. Our waiter, Philip was with us the whole time and was so lovely he deserves a special mention. A cold breakfast could be taken out with you on a long morning game drive (highly recommended) or you could have a full breakfast buffet between your shorter morning game drives. The two bartenders we dealt with were wonderful with one spending time exchanging recipes with my bartender nephew. A lot of laughter (and great cocktails) resulted. I think that Dawa will be on the menu in Canada very soon!

Our game drives were always interesting and Philip, our driver, excellent, informative and funny. The long morning drives enabled us time to search out fabulous sightings and also allowed us to wait until a crossing took place. Amazing!

With the two Philips we were well looked after. Both gentlemen had worked at Governors for a long time and their experience shone through. The bar staff provided us with a great deal of fun (and great cocktails!) The management staff were always pleasant, kind and efficient. We had a problem with our initial driver at Governors (something that we had never come across before). As soon as we discussed this with management they acted on it immediately and very professionally and thereafter our stay was wonderful." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Family
Surrey

"Wonderful Safari Experience"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2015
"We loved it here, but we know why you describe it as having a "circus" feel about it. Lots of people around, but never feeling overcrowded. We always had our own table at meal times with our tent number on it. We had the same waiter, Dominic, throughout. He wasn't the best waiter we've ever had, probably due to inexperience, but he tried to do his best, was always polite and was such a great character that we didn't mind. We were surprised at the quality of the food available at what is essentially a camp site, but it certainly exceeded our expectations, especially the fine dining in the evening under candlelight.

The tent was spacious and we like that it faced the plains. It did mean that we had a lot of noise from elephants and hippos during the night, but that added to our enjoyment of the experience. We did have a walk around to see the tents by the river which looked more secluded and might suit people without children better.

Other things we enjoyed at the camp: having hot water bottles brought to us in the evening, tea brought to us in the very early morning, flashing our torch to get the guards attention so he could escort us at night, the chefs singing Jambo Jambo at the end of the evening meal.

The game drives were more than we could have wished for. We shared a Land Cruiser with another couple who were great company. Six seats, three down each side so we all had a good view. Lots of space inside to stand up and move around. We saw lots of other guests squashed into Land Rovers so we felt lucky. More importantly we had a fantastic guide, the very humble Moses, who had 15 years experience and had the patience to wait a little longer than some of the other drivers. Because of this we managed to witness the wildebeest crossing when all the others had given up and left. On another occasion we were almost back to the camp at the end of our drive, when he heard that a cheetah was in the area. Moses turned back so that we could see it, extending the length of our game drive by another half an hour.

Colin, the manger personally introduced himself evtoery guest and was always about the camp. We did hear one woman complaining about the quality of a driver, but we didn't have any complaints. We have never stayed at a place like this before so it is difficult to make comparisons but it suited us well." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Newberg

"Governors Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2014
"We enjoyed a wonderful safari experience at Governor's Camp! From the camp managers - especially Peter, to the daytime gate guard, who was a joy to behold, the staff was excellent.

Our game guide/driver (Kurui) was excellent and very knowledgeable. He worked very hard trying to make sure we saw the Big Five even though we never were able to spot the Black Rhino in the few days we were there.

It's a good excuse to go back! Right?" See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
New Delhi

"Amazing safari experience"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2013
"Extremely enjoyable stay" See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
95%
8 reviews of Governors' Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rekero

Rekero

Rekero is an unpretentious, high-end safari camp, for travellers who take their wildlife watching seriously and are prepared to pay for an exceptional location.


98% (24 reviews)
Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors'

Little Governors’ Camp sits by a swamp (an old oxbow of the Mara River) in the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve. It has its own balloon-launching site.


97% (15 reviews)
Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara

Tangulia Mara is a rustic and traditional safari camp on the border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve owned by Jackson Looseyia of Big Cat Diary fame.


100% (8 reviews)
Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo is a luxury bush camp in the Musiara sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve on the east side of the Mara River.


100% (6 reviews)
Governors' Il Moran Camp

Governors' Il Moran

The smallest and most expensive of the three camps in the Governors’ group, Governors’ Il Moran Camp hugs a meander of the Mara River just 1km north of the main Governors’ Camp.


93% (3 reviews)
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp

Ngenche Safari Camp

Mara Ngenche is a non-hosted, luxury tented camp with an antique style, which is perfect if you're looking for private dining while staying somewhere small and personal.


90% (2 reviews)
Salas Camp

Sala's Camp

Sala’s Camp is a comfortable and intimate tented camp, with seven tented rooms, located on the banks of the Sand River, in the far south of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


100% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara

Basecamp Maasai Mara is a family-friendly, award-winning eco-camp on a U-bend on the north bank of the Talek River, on the boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


70% (2 reviews)
Sand River Camp

Sand River Camp

Luxury colonial-style tented camp on the banks of the Sand River close to the Tanzania border – a great spot to see the wildebeest migration.


100% (1 review)
Tipilikwani Mara Camp

Tipilikwani Camp

Tipilikwani Mara Camp is a larger, mid-range tented camp offering good value from its base on the Talek River just outside the Mara National Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge

Mara Serena Safari Lodge is a large safari hotel with views of the Mara River, in the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Governors’ Private Camp

Governors’ Private Camp

Located on a secluded bend of the Mara River, Governor’s Private Camp has just eight tents and is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Topi House

Topi House

Topi House is a very good, three-bedroom fully staffed private house on the fringes of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Naibor Camp

Naibor Camp

Naibor has a great location in the Mara reserve, and offers accommodation to suit different budgets, with stylish high-end tents and some simpler ones too.


No reviews yet
Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp

Mara Expedition Camp is a small luxury camp located on the banks of the Ntiakitiak River inside the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet
Angama Mara

Angama Mara

Angama Mara is a top-end luxury tented camp on the Siria-Oloololo escarpment of the Maasai Mara ecoystem, just above the Mara Triangle sector of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa