This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr M. from Loughborough

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

7

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

41

Excursions taken

2

My Feb 2019 trip

Kenya between 3 Feb 2019 and 13 Feb 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"I had not been in Kenya since 1983 so this trip allowed me to revisit old places and to experience new ones.

Standard of all our lodges was very high indeed."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness

"Laikipia Wilderness review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2019
"Great countryside on which we travelled by vehicle and on foot.

Lots of elephants. Sadly no wild dogs as a year or so earlier distemper had killed nearly all of the pack.

Associated advertising should reflect this as we arrived expecting to have an excellent chance of seeing the wild dogs."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Governors' Camp

Governors' Camp

"Governors Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2019
"The Mara was simply magnificent and we saw many lions and leopards, and once 5 cheetahs altogether.

Our tented accommodation overlooked the river with an occasional hippo wandering about right below us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2019
"The quality of service here was exceptional as was the food and indeed the attention of all of the staff.

Best photographs of the holiday were taken here on both vehicle and foot safaris.

Attention to detail by the staff was fantastic."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport review"

1 night Arrived 12 Feb 2019
"Security to get in was certainly rigorous.

Convenient for airport in morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Safari in Nairobi National Park

Safari in Nairobi National Park

"Safari in Nairobi National Park review"

12 Feb 2019 • Afternoon excursion

At last we saw rhinos, and very close up.

Driver was excellent.
Excellent

Excellent experience with one blemish

Namibia and 1 other country between 8 Sep 2017 and 25 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thoroughly enjoyed our journey through northern Namibia and the Caprivi and our two sorties into Botswana.

Our entry to Namibia at Windhoek was very disappointing and time consuming. Immigration there had recently introduced new systems to photograph and fingerprint all arrivals. Perhaps teething problems with the new technology and certainly the small number of officers on duty meant it took us two and a half hours from exiting the plane to enter the country, all while standing in a small hot room.

This delay meant we could not arrive at our next destination in time for it's afternoon game drive. Those that had prepaid would have lost our financially as well as in terms of enjoyment."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Leopard viewing"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"This camp is relatively new but the accommodation is similar in many resects to that at Bush camp.

The food was excellent as was the choice of wine.

Our morning game drive yielded sightings of two separate leopard, one of which was relaxing in a worn away termite mound."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Feast of rhino"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"Our first night visit to the justly famous waterhole at Okaukuejo allowed us to see 10 white rhino, some with calves, dotted around the hole."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Fort abandoned"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Sadly while you can still enter the German built fort, it is being slowly refurbished and thus all the shops, bars and cafes were closed save for one deserted curio shop.

Namutoni is well positioned to see a good number of permanent waterhole."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Kwando river cruise"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"Although the water level was unusually low, our guide managed to weave his way around the sandbags and rocks and, accordingly, wecsa2 a good number of animals and birds.

There are also interesting views of Angolans, a few yards away on the other bank, going about their daily activities."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Fishing in the panhandle "

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"The lodge is in Botswana on the Okavango panhandle and so the safaris are all river cruises, including being taken out in a long narrow canoe called a mokoro.

Excellent numbers of birds on view plus crocodile and hippo, and even the odd elephant. Fishing expeditions are also available and anyone can fish with a lure without any previous experience.

Unless you are a fanatical devotee of Bushman art do not go on the one available vehicle journey to nearby hills as the tour of the sight can be disappointing depending on how much of the terrain you are able to traverse. In any event, this trip is an extra and in our view is grossly overpriced."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lots to do"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"This lodge provides both river based cruises and Landcruiser safaris into the Bush.

Lots of animals and birds to see and exceptionally friendly staff with excellent food and service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Highlight of the trip"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"The lodge sits on a ridge overlooking the Chobi floodplain and it offers both extensive game drives in Chobe National Park and a cruise and lunch on the Chobi River.

Both are excellent and yield wonderful views of elephant swimming or wading the river, as well as sightings of lions and even more elephant in the park.

We saw 18 lions at one location and 4 more on out twilight journey back to the lodge. Food was terrific."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Zimbabwe trip

Zimbabwe between 4 Sep 2015 and 16 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"On returning to the UK many people when they asked me about my trip to Zimbabwe wanted to know if it was safe. Yes it is, and the local people are very keen to encourage more tourists to visit. Most of your money goes to ordinary Zimbabweans, and only a small amount to the government.

You will be welcomed wherever you go, especially should you visit any junior schools. More and more lodges are forming partnerships with local people to develop conservancies and concession areas that help to protect wild animals and to provide benefits for local communities."

Amalinda Lodge

Amalinda Lodge

"Matobo Hills"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2015
"Set in the Matobo Hills this is an excellent lodge where Billy, the manager, takes excellent care of all his guests.

Our guide Kevin was tireless in his efforts to find rhino for us - on one occasion haring up a kopje with his binoculars to try to view any movements from on high. Just before dusk he found a magnificent male white rhino and we were able to approach it on foot within 50 yards. Magical!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

"Lions and elephants"

4 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"Within hours of arriving at Camelthorn after traversing a very bumpy 50kms track towards Hwange National Park, we saw lions. Thereafter Aubrey, our guide, positively spoiled us by finding yet more lions and several large herds of elephant.

The 'heartbeat of Hwange' is the drum-drum-drum of diesel powered pumps, but without them in the dry season there would be few animals in the area. At the lodge itself there is no noise only the kind of food that would make the cook a rich man if he were serving it at a restaurant in London!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

"Elephants at the pool"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Khulu is charming and very relaxing but within a few minutes of our arrival a small number of elephants had approached the plunge pool that forms a part of the protective boma around the lodge and were happily drinking from it! Behind them, a hundred yards away at the main waterhole, were dozens and dozens of more elephants that had yet to learn this trick of obtaining the very freshest water.

We also saw cheetah, enjoyed excellent sundowners and - on the last day - another very close encounter with a part of the Presidential herd. I have never been so close in a vehicle to such a relaxed group of elephants. Excellent bird life too to view."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Luxury close to the falls"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"In my view this is one of the best, and certainly the closest place to stay when visiting Victoria Falls. At the time of out visit the water flow was at its lowest but there was still quite a lot of spray.

It's a trade-off in that you don't see the full majesty of the falls, but you can take clear photographs and you can walk along the length of the falls without getting soaked.

Watch out for the vervet monkeys around the small café near the falls; they'll pinch your crocodile wrap off your plate in an instant!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Namibian adventures

Namibia between 6 Sep 2013 and 19 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was great to visit new places and to see old favourites once again. We loved the driving on the dirt roads - the freedom of it all and the distances that took us to some fantastic geological points of interest.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Make sure whover replaces Gwynneth is at least as good as her!"

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"The sundowner jourmeys are very scenic, informative and good value. There is also an extensive wine list under the relatively new owners and very good food.

It's a bit of a slog up the hill through thick sand to the best accommodation if you don't have a 4 by 4."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"This is not the lodge's fault and indeed the driver taking us to the Fish River Canyon supplied us with as many blankets as we needed, but it was a bitterly cold journey that particular day in an open vehicle.

The canyon is stunning but with hindsight we could have driven ourselves there and saved over $N600 per person which was the price for Canon Lodge to take us there. Without doubt the worst value for money drive I have evr had in Namibia. Drive yourself!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"Louis, the owner, and his wife Geraldine are wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The tours on foot and the sundowner drive were excellent. Louise was very informative and helped to identify any number of lovely birds.

The approach road is so improved, it is unrecognisable from the ordeal it once constituted many years ago. It is a great place to stay a few days."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2013
"This was just a stop over for us, so we have little to say.

The breakfasts were very good and a decent place to eat in Swakopmund is 'The Jetty' - a restaurant at the end of a pier sticking out into a very cold Atlantic. Excellent Savignon Blanc for only $N75 abottle."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"Dennis, the manager, is still as committed to preserving a pristine environment as ever, and the walking and vehicle tours are excellent.

We were very lucky indeed to see black rhion of two occasions, and also rare desert-adapted elephant on a very steep slope.

Fantastic scenery and Dennis often brings out his telescope and shows you any interesting stars and planets that are out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"Nothing can beat the waterhole here. It is worth a stay in camp for that alone, especially at night.

Shame that they don't do more to keep the jackals out of the place."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"From here you can also access Namutoni and its nearby waterholes quite easily. The food is much the same as in Okaukuejo but the dining room at Halali is nowehere near as good in terms of comfort, layout, ambiance.

But, none of it matters when there are so many different kinds of anaimals to see comparatively easily."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

My Sep 2012 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 6 Sep 2012 and 24 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our best ever trip to Namibia and we were very impressed with what we saw and did in Botswana, especially the school trip from Muchenje.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The Red Zone is what the people at Muchenje Lodge call the very deep sandy part of their approach road where, almost certainly, a 2-wheel drive car will get stuck! JJ tells us that he is having this bit 'fixed' even as I write, but it might be worth checking. The local workmen who dragged us out in their Landrover said it was always happening with 2-wheel drive cars. Great fun all the same!!"

Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"Food has improved yet again from 2 years ago and the waterhole is simply marvellous. House-keeping at the bush chalet was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2012
"Good housekeeping. Excellent night drive from Halali."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"Wonderful sight of people going about their daily lives on the Angolan side of the river.

Very good river trip on offer at the camp. Very good service and food in the evening. We were given a family room, which was large and comfortable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mazambala Island Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Mazambala Island Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"What an entrance! We arrived by boat after a lovely twisting journey down various river channels.

Most imaginative layout and excellent atmosphere at the lodge.

We had prepaid for the Horseshoe Lagoon trip only to be told when we arrived that it had left 30 minutes earlier. We got a boat trip instead but we did see literally hundreds of elephants by the side of the river eating the cane leaves, etc. And we got very close too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Best place of the visit"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"This was without doubt the best of all the lodges in which we stayed.

it could not be faulted for service, excellence and the range of activities with very knowledgeable, enthusiastic guides. JJ, the manager, even drove us out of the lodge to the main road to avoid the Red Zone - see later."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

"Good trips on the Chobe and Zambezi"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"Excellent boat trips and bird spotting opportunities.

Some confusion over free house wine and paid for 'chosen' wine, which resulted in an unexpected bill. Probably would not have occurred if Peter and Anna (managers) had not gone away for the day on business and then got stranded away from the island. In the end not a problem"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Good place under canvas"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2012
"We had a chance to relax here and took only one game drive, but it was excellent value for money being a lengthy and very rewarding drive with a great guide.

Good atmosphere in the evenings around the communal dining table. Good gift shop too."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Quiet location"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Mark went caving; he enjoyed it but it was incredibly hot and there was a shortage of oxygen!

Other than that it was a good place in which to relax. Currently, there is no horse riding so walking is about the only other option. Fine for an overnight stay, but no longer."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Cheetahs on a kill"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2012
"Our first day in Etosha included two black-backed jackals on a freshly dead springbok, and our last day in Namibia at Okonjima included seeing three cheetah devouring a young oryx they had killed an hour or so previously...and we got to see them on foot within 20 yards!

There was no room for us at Main Camp so we got an upgrade to Bush Camp!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A great return

Namibia between 6 Sep 2010 and 19 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"I was here 12 months ago, and despite that the whole trip never once became boring even though I had visited some of the places recently. If anything, the standards of service and of cooking have improved.

Every time I visit Namibia something or someone unexpected turns up such as the sign by the side of the dirt road in the 'middle of nowhere' that said 'Take a break - Teas available round the corner'. Thus it was that we met Philip who had converted an old farmhouse into a B&B and whose place was the only building around for many a mile.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just one: please get some of the lodges to buy an astronomical telescope - they only cost about £200 for a decent one and it would allow guests to benefit from another of Namibia's assets - its night sky.

Gwynneth was absolutely wonderful in arranging this holiday. Many thanks."

Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2010
"The floodlit waterhole continues to be the greatest asset of the camp, but the rooms are also well appointed and regularly cleaned.

Dining outside at the restaurant and listening to the Okaukuejo Primary School choir who come to sing and dance there occasionally is also a delight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Improvement at waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2010
"Whether it was just luck or due to improvements at the waterhole, there were certainly many more animals in evidence both during the night and day.

Sekelbos VIP accommodation is simply wonderful, but be aware no one comes to clean it during your stay even though somone will conscientiously empty the ashes from your braii every day."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"New developments"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"There are now an extra two gates to get from the B1 road to main camp, all opened very efficiently by waiting staff. The place has also expanded in hectares, and on the day we arrived they had just released a small number of wild dogs into a new compound.

Seeing cheetahs is always a delight but viewing Mafana, a male leopard, in full view unobstructed by tall grass or bush was marvellous. Excellent food and company at this camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Hyenas and Bushman trail"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2010
"The hyena drive was different from the cheetah and leopard drives because part of it was conducted on foot, right up to the moment when we stood just a few feet away from one of the male hyenas - fantastic.

As ever, the Bushman trail was very informative and another chance to walk through the bush albeit close to the camp.

Excellent bird-feeding facilities too right outside the view rooms, but watch out for the warthogs that come and eat the lot!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"So much game in the Kalahari"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2010
"The afternoon drive in this official desert was remarkable for the amount of game on view - especially impressive if you haven't already been to Etosha in the north. Even if you have, the Kalahari landscape with its parallel red-coloured dunes is stunning.

The best accommodation is built on stilts overlooking the desert and there are also a few 'tame' animals around the place, including Skank, a female springbok with a short length of hosepipe covering her horns - just as well since she has a tendency to nut people (playfully) in the groin! Excellent gift shop here which is very good value for money.

Best oryx of the trip was served here!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Warm welcome"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2010
"The staff here could not do enough for us. The camp has its own entrance to Sossusvlei which saves a lot of time, and the guides are friendly and knowledgeable.

Climbing a dune and plunging down the steep side into Dead Vlei was great fun, as was the hot air balloon ride we took from here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Bballon ride"

17 Sep 2010 • Morning excursion

Dennis was the pilot who, it turned out, was the son of Eric who first took me up from this spot in 1997. We met Eric later, and the whole experience was one of first-class treatment. NIce touch to give everyone a certificate after the flight.
Excellent

Met all expectations!

Namibia between 7 Sep 2009 and 17 Sep 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"After 12 years since my last visit, there is a danger that perhaps I was seeing Namibia through rose-tinted lenses, but no. It came up to all my expectations and did not disappoint me at all.

One point, I gave a few hitchhikers a lift, but I was unsure if this invalidated my car insurance policy. Perhaps, you mention this in the materials you send but it might be made clearer, even if this may mean that some people will choose not to give lifts in the future, which would be a pity.

Suggestions for improvements:

Yes just one and it is not said in anger. At Okahandja at the largest of the two sets of stalls at either end of the town that sell carvings, trinkets, etc, the level from which one had to bargain was ridiculous. I wanted 4 items of moderate size and value, and the opening price from the young stall holder was $1,200. I eventually left with the goods having paid 450 Namibian dollars, and I'm sure the stall holder wasn't losing money even at that price.

I met two touring couples at a cafe right opposite the site shortly afterwards who asked me about the place. After I told them, they refused to go there! Setting such very high initial prices for items that are frankly not worth the equivalent of £100 not only is far too greedy but not even in the interests of the stall holders since I think their attitudes may deter some tourists. In any event, your customers should be warned about what they can expect if they 'go shopping' there."

Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Wonderful floodlit waterhole"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2009
"I thought Okaukuejo was much improved from 12 years ago, when I last visited. There is some improvment in the evening meals but the standard of food is still not high. It tended to be good one nigth and dcent the next, without ever really becoming unacceptable.

The accommodation was spotless, cleaned throughly everyday and a good place in which to stay so close to the waterhole. The 'star' of the place is without doubt the waterhiole at night where in total I saw over 16 rhinos! All the staff were unfailingly friendly.

It's also a good advantage to have the post office at this camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali - good location within Etosha"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2009
"My comments about the food at Okaukuejo also apply to Halali, and I would add that my room was never cleaned. Strangely, someone came to empty the ashes of the wood I burnt the nights before, but as far as I could tell no cleaner came inside the room. In the helter of getting up and going out on the road, I never did get around to asking at reception if this was normal for a 3 nigth stay or an oversight.

My accommodation at the camp was on the very edge and I faced scrub and forest, and at night it gave a real feel on being IN the bush! There was a an overnight power loss one evening and while I was out on a night game drive, somone had very kindly placed a candle and a box of matches between my screen and front doors, which was a lovely touch I thought.

I founf Halaii's location better suited to the type and variety of waterholes and other places I wanted to visit, and although I saw rhino and some other animals at its fllodlit waterhole, it is almost inevitable a bit of a disappointment after Okaukuejo. But Halali was good fun and agin all the staff were very friendly."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great dining experience"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"Perhaps because of the buffet system in Etosha, I really appreciated having waiter service at Okonjima and to be able to be seated with other guests.

The room view here was marvellous with a sense of quiet isolation even though the main camp was quite close. The game drives I had here were conducted by a very knowledgeable guide, Peereu, and the whole experience was by turns exciting and relaxing.

The oryx that night at dinner was superb, as were the choice of wines!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Attention to detail"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2009
"What I said about Main Camp also applies to here. I was even telephoned in my room to be asked what kind of drink I wanted for my sundowner later that day.

Outside my very comfortable and impressive room was a small water hole for birds, which had been filled, as had the tin box inside which was good quality bird seed. As a result I saw a great many birds of different varieties close up. The game drive here with Richard to see Leopard was also excellent, and on the morning of my departure I was lucky enough to be taken on the Bushman Trail by no less than four guides, each of which had certain knowledge or skills. I thoroughly enjoyed this educative walk in the bush.

After all the driving in Etosha, this was the perfect place to treat myself to a bit of luxury. First class."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team