This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley

Reviews of Kicheche Valley

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Valley and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Valley.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

70% success

Cheetah

91% success

Wild dog

0% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

91% success

Striped Hyena

18% success

Pangolin

11% success

Aardvark

9% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-18 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Hampshire

"Andrew was a charming host"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"Our Guide was not as good as Peter at Likipia. He spotted game well, we even saw the rare Aardwolf on a night drive.

But he spent too long on his phone and his own photos, without checking whether we were bored!

Terrific lions and three different sets of cubs, but no other cats unfortunately." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Steve H
Leeds

"Fantastic Kicheche valley"

3 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2018
"As before hospitality and service at Kicheche valley is excellent but so too is the wildlife. The wildlife in all three conservancies used by Kicheche camps is outstanding and Naboisho is no exception - maybe leopards still slightly more shy but Fig at Bush camp is an exceptionally obliging & confiding cat.

I was privileged to hear two lionesses bring down a zebra 30 yards from my tent at 5 a.m which is pretty special. The ambush started only 15 yards away and the feeding lionesses could be seen by torchlight from my decking.

I had many other exceptional wildlife sightings whilst I was at Valley and Naboisho is undoubtedly as good as the other conservancies.

Bernard is an excellent guide and extremely good company. He has a good understanding of a photographer's perspective. Marietta was in charge in Andy's absence and ran an excellent camp. All the Kicheche staff are brilliant" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Vishal
USA

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2017
"Had a wonderful time at Kicheche Valley Camp in Naboisho Conservancy. I was a solo traveler and the staff and managers at Kicheche Valley were very accommodating and informative. I enjoyed the common dinners and lunches with the other guests, and of course the time I spent with my guide, learning about all of the animals, the area, the community, and more.

I did several game drives over the course of 3 nights, as well as a walking safari and a visit to the nearby village. I got the sense that they are pretty responsible in their relationships with the local community, which was important to me. The Naboisho Conservancy seems to be very well regarded in terms of its emphasis on empowering the local Masai community while also conserving the wildlife.

There are only 5 camps in the conservancy, including Kicheche, so you're not constantly running into others in the conservancy. The food at the camp was somehow excellent, and everything is grown on site. Would highly recommend that others stay at Kicheche Valley Camp." See all these reviews: 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Wonderful place"

5 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2017
"This camp is set on the side of a valley with wonderful far reaching views and great sunsets. The individual tents are well apportioned and comfortable with electricity available 24 hours. The only minor criticism is the hot water to the shower often takes a long time (up to 5 minutes) to reach temperature and then difficult to balance and lighting over the twin wash basins is poor.

The food is very good with overly (for some) generous portions, so much so we asked the chef to reduce ours which he did. All the staff ensured that you should enjoy the experience and want for nothing. Hot water bottles in the bed in the evening and provided on morning game drives were a nice touch. There is a variety of landscape and terrain within the conservancy which offers a wide range of game and bird species. The guides are a mine of information and very enthusiastic.

It's a camp we would willingly return to and probably will." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda; 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs lion
UK

"Kicheche valley camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2017
"Our first time at this camp, but with the experience of many safaris. Andrew and Marietta were the new hosts. Both were really friendly and efficient. We enjoyed their company.

The set up was first class. We had tent 4 which was one of the closest to the dining area. The quality of the newish tents was brilliant. Loved the design, space, storage and the fact we had battery charging points. Tent was spotless and the shower worked well.

Meal times was conducted as a group. We were fortunate in having lovely guests which made meal times relaxing and informative.Our driver Johnson was superb and as an amateur photographer I appreciated his positioning and awareness of light. He was always open to suggestions and did his best to help us achieve our shots.

Game was great including leopard and lion cubs and a cheetah coalition. " See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Steve H
Leeds

"Kicheche Valley review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2017
"Lovely camp, great wildlife, Jamie and Charles are excellent hosts and Bernard is a brilliant guide and great companion. Extremely comfortable camp in beautiful setting. Great walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush camps with fly camp overnight to break the journey" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss L
USA

"Kicheche Valley Delights"

4 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2016
"When a printed brochure and photographs become reality, then one begins to see more clearly and breathe more deeply. The Kicheche Valley Camp surpasses all description; its location is superb, with a distant panorama and more immediate glimpses of abundant wildlife at peace in their own environment.

The Camp is run by Charles, assisted by Jamie and a first-rate team of caring people who combine excellent training with personal attention. Comfort is paramount, with such welcome touches as hot water bottles in guests' beds each night. During our entire stay, we encountered not a single biting or stinging insect; yet, we were outdoors throughout the day and until after dark.

The Askaris were very helpful during early morning and evening walks to and from our tent; we felt secure at all times.

The chef prepared a splendid array of lunches and dinners, as well as our picnics while on safari. We were pleased that much of the produce is grown locally. The variety of meals was enjoyable and we were very happy to chat with the chef. Sundowners were a perfect end to each day as we watched the sun set and the moon rise, accompanied by silhouettes of wildebeest as they began their nightly parade against the darkening sky.

We were pleased to have the same guide/driver throughout our stay; Bernard Soit was outstanding, always attentive, a careful driver, knowledgeable, friendly, a trained photographer, and a fine host during our Sundowner time.

The camp deserves the highest praise and recommendation.
" See all these reviews: 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Brentwood

"Peaceful camp location at Kicheche"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2015
"The location in a valley has its detractions as although very peaceful it is a bit of a drag to get to the river beds where most of the animal activity occurs. The waterhole was dry so there was little animal activity although a leopard and her 2 cubs were visible one day from the camp.

The camp is very comfortable and the food excellent. Unfortunately we were the only guests, whilst not affecting our safari meant that there was less ambiance about the camp.

Unusually for a safari camp we were not greeted with a moist towel when we returned to camp when getting out of our vehicle. The staff were very good at explaining the setting up and workings of the Conservancy and always available and responsive to anything we needed. Our guide, Francis, was very knowledgeable and imparted it very well.

Our sightings of cheetah and cubs, leopard and cubs and 3 prides of lions were superb. The pride of 13 lions including 3 dominant males feeding was amazing as was the behaviour of 12 jackals fighting over the territory at the lion's kill." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-18 of 18
96%
18 reviews of Kicheche Valley by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (39 reviews)
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


99% (38 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa