This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley
Kicheche Valley

Reviews of Kicheche Valley

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Valley and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 53 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Valley.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

96% success

Wild dog

9% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

98% success

Spotted Hyena

96% success

Hippo

96% success

Elephant

94% success

Eland

94% success

Striped Hyena

9% success

Black Rhino

6% success

Aardvark

5% success

Pangolin

2% success

Showing 21-30 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs J.
USA

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2023
"I feel like a broken record, but again our stay was phenomenal. The staff and guides were extremely helpful. The food was 5 stars. Our guides Johnson and Meeka were exceptional." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms Janice
Virginia

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2023
"probably my favorite camp/tent. beautiful surroundings, view, the staff/guides were above and beyond. Food was simply outstanding. manager gave me a tour of the kitchen as i was so blown away with the selection, quality, presentation. i have 20 years in the hospitality industry so it amazed me. clean, bright tents,breakfasts in bush were fabulous, sundowner right off the patio was a delight too, firepit. SUPERB!" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs and Mrs G
Dorset

"Kicheche Valley review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2023
"Kicheche Valley is a wonderful Camp. From the moment we stepped off the plane there was game to be seen and a welcoming and informed driver to point it out.

The tents were very luxurious, comfortable beds, good bathroom facilities and wonderful views across the valley with plenty of activity to be seen.

The food was excellent and the camp staff were all helpful and friendly. We were treated to a Masai dance one evening which was wonderful.

The game drives were excellent and our guide, Johnson, was good company, extremely well informed and keen to share his knowledge, both of birds as well as the game. There were limited numbers of other vehicles in the conservancy so the game viewing experience was sensitive and often solitary." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms A.
Manchester

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2023
"My new home away from home in the Mara! I'd visited Naboisho Conservancy several years ago at another camp and was eager to see how it had changed in the interim. To say Naboisho is wall to wall lions is an understatement! When I was there for 3 days, I saw over 65 individual lions! There are a few very large prides here, lots of young lions and several gorgeous males. I saw lions mating, lions fighting, lions playing, lions eating, lions sleeping. I spent nearly 90 minutes just watching a pride of almost adult lions playing and roughhousing, play fighting, and it was the highlight of my trip.

Twala was my guide here and while I thought I knew all I needed to know about safari, he taught me so much more. His patience and resourcefulness is top notch. He knows the resident wildlife here extremely well so can find cats based on what he knows about them from seeing them every day. He worked hard to find leopard for the couple I shared a vehicle with, but there are so many lions in Naboisho right now, that both leopard and cheetah are somewhat harder to find than in conservancies with fewer lions. I would definitely love to game drive with Twala again. We were on so many sightings just on our own, quietly enjoying the scene as it unfolded in front of us. It was heavenly! And my photos speak for his skill at lining up wildlife, light and action. Definitely a winner!

Minnie the camp manager is a gem. I don't think I've ever met a sweeter person and I truly believe she cares for each and every guest. She anticipates every need before I even know I need it! She must inspire her team well because every one of them was smiling, greeting me by name and eager to look after me from the minute I arrived.

The tent is very similar to the other Kicheche tent I was in. Well appointed, in room wifi and power for charging batteries, comfortable bed, a very welcome floor fan (it is hot here in February!), toiletries (shampoo/conditioner, lotion, laundry powder), in room water cooler, boots and umbrellas for rainy days. I loved the view over the valley here and enjoyed time in the common area as much as my own tent. It's really an amazing location.

I can't thank the team at Kicheche Valley enough for a perfect ending to my safari. I look forward to returning to Kicheche Valley!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Teddington

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2023
"Very comfortable tented camp, with well-appointed communal lounge and restaurant area.

Valley camp is within the Conservancy and is unfenced so chance to see wildlife at close quarters!

Food exceeded expectations. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

By chance, we also met the manager of the Naboisho Conservancy and a co-owner of Kicheche and it was interesting to talk to them.

A special mention to Bernard, our expert guide." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Ms H.
London

"Kicheche Valley review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2022
"We loved this lodge.

Mini and all her staff were fab nothing was too much trouble and our guide Bernard was amazing very patient knowledgeable and happy to answer all questions. We always seemed to arrive first at amazing viewings.

I would highly recommend this lodge" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr R.
Cambridge

"Kicheche Valley review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2022
"Very skilled and experience guide made this a special few days

Staff at the camp were knowledgeable and protective, which was helpful given the abundance of wildlife every night

Birthday celebration Maasai dance one evening before dinner was unexpected, but great fun." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs A.
S. Carolina

"Kicheche Valley review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2022
"We loved Kicheche Valley.

Everything was terrific - staff, accomodations and our driver, Mika and animal sightings.

Would stay there again!" See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Kenya; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr P.
Cambridge

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2022
"Minni and all her staff were brilliant, Made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, we were thoroughly spoiled!

The camp itself was very comfortable with a great ambience, spotlessly clean and just a wonderful place to stay. Wildlife continually walked the the camp grounds.

Our guide Mika was a treasure, and worked tirelessly to find us a leopard in a tree and we consequently observed leopard for some time on our own, fantastic!" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Miss R.
United Kingdom

"Kicheche Valley review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2022
"Exceptional. Kicheche Valley was everything you hope for from a safari experience. The view from the tents were stunning, and the rooms themselves were fab. The staff were all friendly, welcoming and so so helpful. Also, the food was excellent.

Being an unfenced camp we got multiple sightings during the day, including giraffes literally wandering through camp at lunch.

During our safaris we were paired with Bernard, an absolutely exceptional and very knowledgeable guide. We witnessed some incredible sightings including a pregnant giraffe, lions and cheetahs hunting, three male lions crossing the plains at dawn, and elephant family protecting their babies. We also got multiple sighting of leopards with their babies, and an aardvark, both of which are apparently highly elusive.

We would 100% return if we are lucky enough to go on another safari." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 21-30 of 61
99%
61 reviews of Kicheche Valley by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
57
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


100% (98 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (86 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (48 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (41 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


99% (17 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


93% (16 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


97% (14 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


96% (10 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


96% (9 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


95% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


97% (7 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (2 reviews)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa