This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp

Reviews of Naboisho Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

42 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Naboisho Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Naboisho Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

82% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

10% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

90% success

Striped Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 42
Duration
Arrival date
Mr W
Essex

"Fantastic Naboisho"

5 nights Arrived 29 Feb 2016
"This was our second camp in the Mara as we wanted to experience the Mara in a conservancy. And, yes, it does make a difference, incredible wildlife viewings but without the "crowds". This is part of the Asilia group and offers all the luxuries and impeccable food, hosting and service one would expect.

The location of this camp deserves special mention, our "tent" was located in front of wide open savannah - what more can one say about such a place? We loved it and although we don't usually revisit any location (unless it's to see wild dogs, of course) we may pay this gorgeous camp another visit in the future. Oh, and the big cat sightings were simply breathtaking. AND we saw two Honey Badgers being hotly pursued by a lioness on a game rich plain.

Perfection." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs W & Miss W
UK

"Naboisho Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2016
"Naboisho exceeded all expectations and the tents, staff, activities (game drives, school and village visit and game walk) were all fantastic. Food was exceptional. Guiding by Tim was very informative and his added interest in photography ensured that we always had the best spot when game viewing. The camp staff and Tim ensured that both I and my 10 year old got every ounce of enjoyment out of our 4 nights at Naboisho which was hugely appreciated. Thank you to you all." See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Pat R
North Carolina

"Great camp, great guiding, beautiful place"

4 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2016
"The camp is beautifully maintained, with luxurious tents in the bush, really good food, great guides and the camp managers are great at their jobs -- Helen and I were pleasantly competing for "she who tells the funniest stories" - I believe that Helen won; she and Roelof are both very knowledgeable; we enjoyed walking with Roelof in the bush and learning from him as we were immersed (up to our hips in grass!), his strong understanding about conservation and the issues faced was powerful

We loved our tent and its extraordinary nightlife, along with the askaris (guards)' close attention. Our guide, Daniel, and our spotter, Rakita, were terrific. We had Daniel the whole time, and he is an aware, awesome guide, very attentive. I will treasure our last sundowner, singing back and forth with the two of them -- just a wonderful, unplanned connection. Even with the tall grass, we had excellent game viewing.

I'm not sure if my favorite was the first drive with quick spotting of some of the lions and then Daniel saying 'oh, there's the leopard,' so that we saw both within the first few minutes of the first drive. Or maybe it was the day we spent an hour with the 4 cheetahs, watching the youngsters playing, just us and the cheetahs - this is why we travel so far.

Thank you, all the Naboisho people." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Dr N
London

"Many cheetahs at Naboisho!"

4 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2015
"We had a fantastic time at Naboisho. Our first two nights we were the only guests in camp and Ruelof and Helen and staff made us so welcome and at ease.

We spent three days in Naboisho on game drives, and saw a group of cheetahs and many lions amongst others! The conservancy is a treasure trove for wildlife and most of the time we saw no other vans - it is a special place.

One day we took a full day's drive to the Mara which was great to see, with the Migration coming to an end.

One of the most enjoyable parts of our stay was a morning walking safari with Ruelof. A completely different way of experience the wildlife - this is highly recommended!" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs JR
London

"Naboisho Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2015
"Amazing walks with the manager Ruelof. The conservancy is great, with very abundant wildlife, and feels very private. Tent was great but the service and guiding were inconsistent. Camp forgot dietary restrictions multiple times." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms S
EmlynGarden

"Naboisho Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Mar 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms S
EmlynGarden

"Naboisho Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2015
"A wonderful second visit.
Great guide - Lucas.
Great walking with Roelof.
The breakfasts and lunches are excellent but the standard of food at dinner is not quite so good." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Hockley

"Great safari camp and animal sightings."

3 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2015
"Naboisho is a lovely camp with large, spacious tents set a good distance apart. The bed was really comfortable and the bucket showers were excellent. Everything we needed was provided.

The managers were very welcoming and helpful as were all the staff.

Our guide, Wilson, was very knowledgeable and on our arrival, on the way from the airstrip to the camp, we encountered 4 jackals killing a baby impala. The impala mother fought for such a long time but could not protect her baby. Such a fantastic sighting but also quite sad. We then went on to see so many animals, too many to name, on our game drives, which was fantastic.

Altogether a great camp with a good guide and superb animal sightings." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
C & J
Park City, UT

"Naboisho Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2014
"Visiting a camp like Naboisho in a conservancy is (as many have discovered) an excellent companion to a camp in the Reserve. The different terrain and added activities such as night drives and game walks make for a new experience. Certainly our walks with Roelof were the best part of our stay at Naboisho. He expertly balanced finding and getting (and staying) close to wildlife with safely. He also had something interesting to say about almost anything you could see, large and small. As usual we, as non-birders, were stunned by the variety of bird life we saw.

Our drives with our guide Wilson were always interesting, he seemed to know just where the animals would be. He could look into a thicket and spot something that we would have to pull out our binoculars to see. The night drives allowed us to see active nocturnal animals such as bush babies. We were glad for the warmth of the blankets and hot water bottles. But combined with the early morning walks the night drives could make for a long day.

The village visit with Wilson (who is from the area) was great and allowed at least some insight into the lives of the rural Maasi.

Overall the camp staff was great (even those behind the scenes that we never met) and made for a wonderfully comfortable and relaxed stay. Sometimes they even anticipated special needs that we hadn't mentioned.

The camp's location was great with lions and elephants within walking distance.

Overall we had a perfect stay." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Falmouth

"Friendliest yet very professional camp"

6 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2014
"A fantastic atmosphere, Ruelof , Helen and Moses Great hosts, guides and all the staff really friendly, good game nearby everything you want to see and not too long a drive to Mara.

Tents extremely comfortable even if Lions wake you up at night. food good , lunch under tree by watering hole, great atmosphere at dinner" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 42
98%
42 reviews of Naboisho Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
39
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


100% (58 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


99% (56 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (38 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


98% (35 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


92% (12 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (11 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


94% (7 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (6 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


96% (5 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


92% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (4 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa