This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp
Naboisho Camp

Reviews of Naboisho Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

42 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Naboisho Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Naboisho Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

82% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

10% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

90% success

Striped Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 42
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Epsom

"Brilliant safari and great staff"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"An excellent camp. Great tents and other facilities. Excellent staff attitude. Excellent game viewing and a safe walking safari.

We were particularly pleased to be allocated a guide and vehicle for the whole period on an exclusive basis. Our guide (Benjamin) was excellent" See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"Wonderful Naboisho Camp"

5 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2014
"Naboisho was one of our favorites!. It had everything we could want in a safari camp -- great game viewing, luxury tents, wonderful managers Helen and Roelof and their guides and staff, excellent food, and more.

The tents are spacious with luxury linens and plenty of storage in the dressing area. We enjoyed the twin bucket showers outside as well as as one indoors. At night we appreciated the hot water bottles tucked into our bed, as well as those in the car on the early morning game drives. The food was excellent, with a fresh and varied buffet each day for lunch. Dinner was served at a large communal table with the managers joining the guests (at all three meals). Manager Helen stocks their excellent gift shop with locally made goods.

We had good game viewing, both on our drives and on two walks with manager Roelof. Roelof gave us a rare opportunity to view a baby eagle from a vantage point on the hillside above its nest, and we also were close to zebra and hyenas on one of our walks. We had great sightings of big cats, including some very playful lion cubs and a pair of cheetah resting in the grass. The landscape was beautiful and green, and the sunsets and full moonrise were spectacular. We would return to Naboisho any time!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms K
Florida

"Naboisho Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2014
"Despite the excellent camp staff and lovely manager, Helen, Naboisho Camp and the Naboisho Conservancy just didn't click for us. We seem to be in the minority--perhaps we were too old to take advantage of the best features.

We highly respect the camp's effort to aid the community and be environmentally friendly." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Naboisho Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2014
"This is the most luxurious camp of the three we stayed in during our trip to Kenya. Our tent was set high above the camp overlooking the Mara plains and had a fantastic view. The walk to and from the main lounge was over quite rocky paths so some care needed to be taken, especially at night, even with the aid of torches. The normal camp managers, Roelof and Helen were on leave during our stay so we were in the capable hands of Kim and Conway as relief managers. The tented accommodation is very spacious including an indoor bucket shower plus two outdoor showers as well. As with the other camps the electricity is derived from solar power so the lighting is low voltage and any charging needs to be carried out in the main lounge of the camp.

Meals were excellent especially some of the lunches and the staff made every effort to cater for any special requests.

The game viewing in this conservancy was on a par with the other reserves, with lions and their cubs, cheetah and leopard being seen. We came across a baby giraffe within a minute of it being born which was exciting to see it try to move about on four rather unconnected legs!!

We went on what we thought was a walking safari on our first afternoon but this turned out to be not much more than a 2 hour route march through the bush surrounding the camp. Having read some of the other reviews on the Expert Africa website regarding the walking safaris at this camp we do feel we were a bit short changed, but perhaps not having Roelof in camp may have something to do with that.

One other issue that I had was with the format of the Toyota Land Cruiser that this camp uses. Unfortunately they have no roof access so it is not possible to stand up in the vehicle and rest camera lenses on top as with the vehicles used in the Kicheche camps. Keen photographers might find this an issue, especially those interested in birds." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Shelburne Falls

"Naboisho Camp Review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2014
"Our trip was an amazing mini-miracle! Last week was the first time my colleague and I were in Kenya, working most of the week in Nairobi. We had intentionally booked a late flight home on Sunday, figuring we might like a chance to see some of the country and wildlife. On Thursday we did a simple google search, found the ExpertAfrica website, read about a couple of the camps, and sent an inquiry about possibilities for the weekend. I was delighted that an agent from ExpertAfrica replied that day, had some suggestions, and could help us book and go the very next day. We literally texted our credit card details from the taxi on the way to the play, purchased trip insurance and completed the booking forms while at the gate in Wilson airport only moments before the plain for The Mara took off. Somehow or other it all worked out and we found ourselves flying out of the city and into the bush.

Though our time was short--just 48 hours--it was well worth it! Both mornings we went on bush hikes (walking safaris) with Roelof starting at the crack of dawn and going for 4-5 hours. Here we saw elephants, lions, giraffe, baboons, zebras, gazelles, impala, dikdik, topi, eland, etc, all kinds of birds, etc. It was incredible to be out walking among them in their natural habitat. Roelof is a weath of knowledge, as were all the guides we met there.

The camp itself was beautiful, comfortable, and charming, as were the host and hostess. At night we could hear the lions from our tents. What a gift to stumble into this camp, these people, and this place." See all these reviews: 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms S
EmlynGarden

"Naboisho Camp review"

7 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2014
"We think this is a wonderful camp. We stayed 7 nights and did walking safaris every day and sometimes 2 in a day.
Roelof and Helen Schutte have really stamped their characters on the camp and have created a wonderful atmosphere there – so warm and friendly and they make yourselves so available to the guests. We were very impressed with both of them.

We absolutely loved Roelof's walking safaris – a definite ‘life highlight’ for us. He is a fabulous guide, really knows his stuff and you feel absolutely safe in his hands. We tracked elephants on most of the walks we did with him. I would also note:
- Being able to drive off road is a great bonus in the conservancy
- The fly camping: it is arranged so that it is just your group doing this. Great fun to walk in and out and Roelof barbecues a mean steak
- The night drives are a fantastic and very different experience
- The wonderful tent – very nicely decorated and spacious
- Good company at the table – we enjoyed most of the other guests
- Wonderful salads at lunchtime
- Porridge for breakfast!
- Dawa and hot towels on our return to camp
- The amazingly varied scenery at Naboisho and the sheer quantity of animals and birds
- Naboisho itself – how nice to see such a success story in action when generally the news from Arica about wildlife conservation is so negative and depressing.

Helen runs the camp and is an amazingly warm and open person." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Cambridge

"High class camp in beautiful location"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2014
"The camp is in a wonderful position, with varied views over bush and more distant hills, and the very comfortable tents are widely spread out. We again found lengthy game drives rather tiring, but our full day in the Maasai Mara Reserve was still a highlight, because of the great amount of game to be seen. The wide views in both the Reserve and the Naboisho Conservancy were also very impressive, our guides being able to spot huge elephant herds at great distances. Marion considers the two mornings of doing a walking safari with Roelof to be the best individual moments of the whole trip. In contrast to El Karama, it was possible to walk out directly from the camp.

Ken was sick one night and rested up the next day. Helen was most solicitous, and on the morning of the following day Ken was able to join the 3 hour morning walk without difficulty.

Our guide, Benjamin, was very knowledgeable and efficient but rather unsmiling.

Apart from a private visitor, we were the only guests the whole time at Naboisho Camp. Helen and Roelof kept us company at meals and took great care of us.

The meals at lunchtime were very good but again in the evening the meat tended to be tough." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M & Ms E
Somerset

"Cannot fault Naboisho Camp. Superb guide."

4 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2013
"A superbly run camp. Very professional but with a relaxed, warm homely atmosphere.

We loved lunch under the acacia tree. All our meals were excellent. Beautiful log fires each evening. Very friendly and respectful staff seemed to anticipate our every need.

Our room was gorgeous. We loved having our beds prewarmed each night with hot water bottles. Hot showers whenever we desired.

The animals could wander through the camp, but generally only come close at night. We always felt safe even hearing the roar of lions from our room at night.

The guides were highly knowledgable and passionate about their subject. They spoke excellent English and were keen to teach us all they know. We saw all the big five and lots more." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mr L
Amsterdam

"Good stay at Naboisho Camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2013
"very nice camp. Did an excellent walk which was probably the high spot of the stay.

Not as much game as I'd expected overall and hard to persuade the guides to stop focusing on cats and show us different animals. But a good camp with great staff" See all these reviews: 3n in Tanzania; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Wiltshire

"Great camp wonderful position bird walk great"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2013
"As above, very good

[Ed: In his general comments on the trip, this traveller wrote: "Naboisho Camp was good, small but everyone so friendly. Bush bird walk great. Rolloff and Roger great guides, if you could stop them arguing about the size of the spot underneath the left wing of the LBJ lark. Tent great position. Saw the Wilderbeste crossing."]" See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 42
98%
42 reviews of Naboisho Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
39
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


100% (58 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


99% (56 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (38 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


98% (35 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


92% (12 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (11 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


94% (7 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (6 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


96% (5 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


92% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (4 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa