This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Ms S from EmlynGarden

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2018 trip

Zambia between 8 Aug 2018 and 19 Aug 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic trip - everything we'd hoped for especially as it was our daughter's first safari."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Latitude 15 review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2018
"Huge rooms. Very comfortable. Pool very refreshing after a night flight. Dinner was very good. Generally a nice vibe."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2018
"Beautiful camp. Albida suite is fantastic - incredible views up the Chongwe and Zambezi and so much space. The plunge pool is lovely. Michael our 'butler' looked after us very well but was not at all intrusive. Breakfast omlettes cooked on the camp fire were the perfect start to the day. My wife was ill one day and the camp managers were very solicitous.
The 'elephant in the room' tales on a new meaning when there is actually an elephant in your room. That was very exciting but I think the camp could probably have been clearer about the likelihood of that happening and what we should do when it did. My daughter nearly got caught sitting on her own by the river when the elephant appeared - only a last second warning from Michael enabled to her scramble back to the relative safety of the dining area.
Clement our guide was very good - both in a jeep and on the water.
The boat trips are great and the canoeing was a definite 'life highlight'.
Game in the National Park did sometimes seem a bit thin on the ground - though overall we were more than satisfied with what we saw.
We had stomach upsets in both Norman Carr camps we went to having never previously had a problem in 4 previous safaris in other countries. So we do wonder if their food hygiene is fully up to standard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2018
"Great position right on the river bank. We had the family chalet which was great.
Food definitely a step up from Chongwe, especially lunch.
Walking also a step up with really good guide Friday and scout Peter.
Leopards everywhere including day and night and walking right through camp.
Great elephant but we only saw scattered zebra and buffalo, no herds.
Lot and lots of lions: 19 of the pride of 22 killed a buffalo just outside camp.
Camp manager Emanuel really good - looked after me when I had a fever, treated my daughter's mangled toe, dealt with a bees nest above our room in the dark in about 30 minutes flat!
Game densities seemed markedly higher than in Lower Zambezi.
Only issue is whether the stomach bugs we had were just bad luck or a food hygiene issue."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Feb 2017 trip

Zanzibar and 1 other country between 10 Feb 2017 and 25 Feb 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic!"

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

8 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2017
"We had 8 nights at Pongwe and loved it so much we didn't leave the hotel! It is very peaceful and quiet: the only activities you can do from the beach are snorkelling and sailing in the hotel dhow so there is nothing to disturb the peace and quiet. The beach is very quiet and totally private at high tide. There are no beach vendors; we didn't get hassled once during our stay.
The beach is lovely: swept clean of seaweed by the staff in the morning and full of ghost crabs by night. The colours of the sea are incredible: every shade of blue and green you can imagine. Snorkelling off the beach in the hotel's boat was fun; not the most amazing snorkelling but plenty of interest.
We had the family room with a lovely view down the beach and a large private deck. The room was relatively basic but was clean and with good A/C.
The food in the restaurant was good. The bar does great cocktails. It's fun when the bush babies come into the bar at nightfall to be fed bananas.
The staff are very friendly and efficient.
The hotel does not feel busy - perhaps especially if like us you'd rather swim in the sea than the pool. We were able to swim morning and evening as the tides fell perfectly. But even when the tide is out the view is beautiful and beach combing is also quite fun.
For somewhere to spend time reading, sea bathing, eating and drinking I would say Pongwe would be hard to beat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

"Kichaka Expeditions review"

7 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2017
"Our week at Kichaka was one of the highlights of our lives. We have done walking safaris before but not in such thick bush and not with the intent of getting as close as possible to elephants. It's incredible, sometimes scary and definitely addictive.
Moli did the longer morning walks and Jacques, his number 2, the afternoon walks or drives. Both are accompanied by a very good Tanapa ranger so you do feel safe behind their 2 guns and 2 pairs of eyes.
Moli is amazing: we've heard many explanations of particular animal behaviour but no one who has had the depth of knowledge of Moli or his infectious enthusiasm. It was informative, fascinating and also a lot of fun: we laughed a lot over the week.
So we walked to within 5 metres of an elephant, watched them for 10 minutes and then left without it ever knowing we were there. That was very exciting. And that's the target every day though of course they have to work with the animals and conditions which present themselves..
Jacques, a Zim pro guide, was also very good and a fascinating man who seems to have done a bit of everything over his life
The camp is lovely; I guess relatively simple but all very nicely done and with very attentive staff. Nothing is too much trouble. We said we wanted to swim in the Ruaha and so that was arranged and Jacques and the ranger ensured it was safe for us to do so: no crocs or hippo in sight.
The food was good. Showers/loo/washing are slightly separate from your tent which can make nocturnal loo trips exciting when you can hear lions are around.
The camp's position on a hill above the river is fantastic with sweeping views down and along the Ruaha River. It is very remote and feels like that: you could be the first (or the last) people on earth. We didn't see anyone else the whole week were there apart from some lion researchers. The absence of people and vehicles means the animals are quite skittish; Moli likes it that way and it makes the close encounters you get feel even more special.
It's a very small camp and feels very intimate. We cannot praise it enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Feb 2015 trip

Kenya between 26 Feb 2015 and 7 Mar 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very good."

Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 27 Feb 2015
"Check in much better this time though it took a long time for our cases to be brought to our room."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

"Naboisho Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2015
"A wonderful second visit.
Great guide - Lucas.
Great walking with Roelof.
The breakfasts and lunches are excellent but the standard of food at dinner is not quite so good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rekero

Rekero

"Rekero"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2015
"We also spent 2 nights at Rekero."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

"Naboisho Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Mar 2015
""
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Naboisho Camp 7 Night Safari February 2014

Kenya between 14 Feb 2014 and 22 Feb 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic!"

Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 14 Feb 2014
"We were given a road view room when we think we were due a deluxe park view room. However, it was too late at night when we arrived to bother to complain - especially as check in had taken so long anyway.

The new road being built right outside will make the hotel pretty noisy.

We did go back to the hotel for a meal before our flight home and that was very good - in the 4th floor restaurant."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

"Naboisho Camp review"

7 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2014
"We think this is a wonderful camp. We stayed 7 nights and did walking safaris every day and sometimes 2 in a day.
Roelof and Helen Schutte have really stamped their characters on the camp and have created a wonderful atmosphere there – so warm and friendly and they make yourselves so available to the guests. We were very impressed with both of them.

We absolutely loved Roelof's walking safaris – a definite ‘life highlight’ for us. He is a fabulous guide, really knows his stuff and you feel absolutely safe in his hands. We tracked elephants on most of the walks we did with him. I would also note:
- Being able to drive off road is a great bonus in the conservancy
- The fly camping: it is arranged so that it is just your group doing this. Great fun to walk in and out and Roelof barbecues a mean steak
- The night drives are a fantastic and very different experience
- The wonderful tent – very nicely decorated and spacious
- Good company at the table – we enjoyed most of the other guests
- Wonderful salads at lunchtime
- Porridge for breakfast!
- Dawa and hot towels on our return to camp
- The amazingly varied scenery at Naboisho and the sheer quantity of animals and birds
- Naboisho itself – how nice to see such a success story in action when generally the news from Arica about wildlife conservation is so negative and depressing.

Helen runs the camp and is an amazingly warm and open person."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team