This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Potato Bush Camp
Potato Bush Camp
Potato Bush Camp
Potato Bush Camp
Potato Bush Camp

Reviews of Potato Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Potato Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Potato Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

67% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Zebra

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D
California

"Potato Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"I am very happy to include Lower Zambezi (and in particular Potato Bush Camp) in the itinerary. It provides a good contrast to South Luangwa. The landscape is beautiful, with even more elephants than South Luangwa. It is a highlight to witness bull elephant reaching up the tree with trunk.

The camp is centrally located. It is a step up in creature comfort compared to where we stayed in South Luangwa, with personalized services and food ordered from a menu. But more importantly, it offers a private vehicle and guided for every party. It adds another dimension to our experience.

James is an excellent guide. I was very impressed how he found a pair of male lions at a totally inaccessible spot, with no other vehicle. On a guided walk, some male buffaloes spotted us and took an interest. James was totally cool in handling the situation. I never felt unsafe for a moment, confident that I was in good hands. On the final drive, he was on a mission to search for a leopard. It took us a fascinating hour to finally find a kill stashed in a tree, and hear leopard growling in a nearby bush. We waited a little until we got “bumped out” when more vehicles arrived. Never saw the leopard, but the special bush remains a memorable sight 😊" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

The A team
London

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"We had a wonderful time here. Being able to go walking in the morning, with game drives in the afternoon and the opportunity to go canoeing was amazing. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and we learnt loads about the bush, wildlife and birds. Our room overlooked the river and the elephants used to come around at siesta time to eat their favourite pods from the tree right next to our verandah so we had lovely close up views of mom and her little one which was very special. We had 2 surprises too - which made our stay even that more special and memorable. Would love to return." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Croydon

"Luxurious camp with great safari experiences"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2018
"We stayed for three nights. Potato Bush is a small high quality camp with excellent accommodation; and, excellent food and service, in a splendid location that has varied and interesting local landscape. The management and staff are very friendly and thanks to Monex for looking after us as our personal muchinda/butler. Excellent guiding from Ali. Highlights: canoe safari and hippos; boat trips: and, sightings of lions, elephants, crocodiles.and (briefly) leopard chased by baboons.

We enjoyed our stay very much except for the quality of the game drive vehicle which was disappointingly uncomfortable compared with vehicles we were used to elsewhere in Zambia and on previous safaris - and not up to the standard of the camp. Staff told us that the vehicles were due to have the suspension improved at the end of the season. Therefore, "facilities" not rated excellent." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Mrs & Mr Y
Paris

"Potato Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2017
"Potato Bush Camp may be one of the best lodges I have ever been in Africa. Incredible location, welcoming people, great surprises." See all these reviews: 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
S & D
London

"Potato Bush"

4 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2016
"Given the quality of service we enjoyed at our first stop we might have expected less at Potato Bush but it was equally outstanding. Again the staff and facilities were unbelievably good and we enjoyed a whole new set of experiences including sitting down to lunch in the middle of the Zambezi with the water flowing round our feet. Fortunately the crocodiles did not make an appearance.

Our guide here was Ali and yet again we were more than impressed by his level of knowledge and ability to locate birds we had never managed to see on previous trips. Wildlife viewing here was also excellent here because of the availability of backwaters off the main river which acted as a magnet for both animals and birds.

Overall Potato Bush provided yet another brilliant stay which we would recommend to all." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Surrey

"Wildlife and the Zambezi river"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"Potato Bush camp is at the luxury end. We had a wonderful room and were pampered. During our four nights' stay we had the place to ourselves!

Charles, an excellent guide, was called away after 1 1/2 days to Lusaka for family reasons and Henry from the neighbouring (same ownership) Sausage Tree camp became our principal guide, ably assisted by Ryan.

The huge river is an amazing feature. Masses of elephants, including wading across to the islands. With ample water to wallow in better tempered hippos than in the fast drying out Luangwa river, where they were competing for territory. We enjoyed the canoe ride and all the walks and drives. Surprise lunch one day with toes in the water and bush dinner one evening. Nathan an outstanding cook. Carol as hostess, Stephen as barman and Richard as personal butler all attended to our every need." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Clapham

"Potato Bush Camp"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2016
"Excellent
Great range of activities: drives, fishing, canoeing, cruising and walking. This is a real plus.
Excellent guides
More upmarket than Tafika - as billed. Tent like structures on concrete bases, wooden doors and windows. A modern rather than traditional set up.
5 tents only.
Visited by many resident southern african residents - who can book it direct rather than via an agent. In the season, Sept and Oct, tiger fishing is a big thing here which draws in lively groups of guys intent on fishing and drinking. They might impact negatively on a family or honeymoon trip. Not an issue for our family in June.
The camp's electricity can't run hair dryers - again not a problem for us." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sue
USA

"Potato Bush Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2015
"Beautiful setting, great wildlife viewing - elephants, hippos, monkeys within easy view from rooms, excellent accommodations.

We stayed in the family tent with central living/dining area open and fronting the river bank (it did have a roof). 2 bedrooms were on either side of the living area which also fronted river bank. The camp manager was extremely accommodating and actually brought a bed to the living area so I could sleep with unobstructed view to river.

Add in a truly magical surprise dinner in the bush at night by candlelight, scrumptious food at every meal, warm and attentive staff...fabulous...I miss it!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Jersey

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"the location of this camp is stunning -right on the river- the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, our game driver Ryan was amazing his knowledge was immense, they offered bush walking and canoeing and both of these were brilliant to experience.

The food was of a very high standard and they added a couple of really nice touches in terms of varying dining locations! i wont give it away though. 12 lions came into camp as we finished breakfast and this was really exciting. we saw loads of game including a leopard kill. Highly recommend this camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
100%
9 reviews of Potato Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (116 reviews)
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (103 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (73 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (33 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp is a remote bushcamp in the middle of the Zambezi, with links to the local village of Mgugrumenu.


97% (7 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa