This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Potato Bush Camp
Potato Bush Camp
Potato Bush Camp
Potato Bush Camp
Potato Bush Camp

Reviews of Potato Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Potato Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Potato Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

91% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

82% success

Zebra

67% success

Sable antelope

13% success

Eland

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
UK

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2023
"We loved the atmosphere at this camp and found the staff and guiding first rate. It was lovely to see Elephants passing between us and the river. It was tense watching small herds of Elephants attempt to cross the strong current with young calves but they made it safely to the islands for better grazing.

In our opinion the scenery in this part of the Lower Zambezi National Park is not quite as good as the parts further East which we had enjoyed in the past. That said, our wildlife sightings were very good. Our guide Henry worked hard to ensure that we had excellent sightings of Wild Dogs with puppies as well as a Leopard sighting.

We particularly enjoyed the moment when a mating pair of Lions roared straight at our cameras - spine-tingling." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr/Mrs F
Texas

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2023
"Potato Bush ended up being one of our favorite camps.

Again, great staff. Joseph, our guide, had each day organized to do something different which was nice after so many game rides. We did game rides as well but David fished, we went out for a sunset "cruise", we had a bbq dinner in the bush with another couple, we went canoeing (with guides in the canoes) AND went out on the Zambezi by boat to reach other game viewing areas.

All the staff (as in most camps) we just amazing." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 9n in Tanzania; 4n in South Africa; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Liz C
Sussex

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2023
"wow loved this place. Henry our guide was just great - worked so hard to help us find game. both my son and I commented that he made this place so special.
Faith and the rest of the staff were wonderful too.
We just loved this place and missed it when we carried on with our trip" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Mr and Mrs C
Kent

"Potato Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2022
"We loved this camp, the rooms are enormous and the staff are wonderful. We particularly enjoyed our chance to do some activities on the water after our stay in the South Luangwa.

We would highly recommend the canoeing trip, I was nervous but it was amazing! The scenery is beautiful and the sunsets over the hills were stunning.

The food was great, especially the chance to dine out of the camp.

We saw some wild dogs towards the end of our stay which was very special." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Vermont

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2022
"We are so happy that Maruska suggest this camp site alongside a channel of the Zambia River. In the evening and mornings, we were treated to a chorus of Hippos enjoying themselves in the river.
Our room was very comfortable - we had everything we needed.
Every morning, we were gently awoken by calls of “Good Morning!” followed by steaming coffee being delivered to our sitting area.

The staff here is quite attentive and personable. Charles, our guide, exemplified why the profession is as esteemed as it is here. His vast knowledge of the animals and vegetation, landscape and history never failed to wow us. His lovely, kind, and gracious personality, and sense of humor, were a perfect fit for our group of 6 which included 2 veterinarians. We so appreciate all he shared with us.

The non-mammal meal options I requested were varied and quite tasty. The staff were quite attentive to this as well. We enjoyed 2 special meals off site. So glad we did the canoe trip up a tributary of the Zambezi. It was a chance to see the hippos, crocs, and water birds up close." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Cristin
Oregon

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2022
"Luxurious lodge with wonderful staff. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay lovely. When the staff learned that our daughter and her friend had missed out on purchasing "biltong" in the Lusaka airport, they had some delivered to the camp as a gift!

There is a wide variety of activities available- game drives, game walks, canoe trip to a channel of the Lower Zambezi, and a river cruise. Our guide, Charles, was very accommodating to our wishes and flexible. He shared his lifetime of experience as a native of the region and as a trained guide." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs M & Mr D
Germany

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 30 May 2022
"Potato Bush Camp did exceed our expectation.

Getting to the camp with the camp’s own Beechcraft plane made us feel like Royals. The camp's excellent location on the Zambezi river allows great views over the river. The tented rooms are spacious and well equipped with a very welcoming private dip pool on the terrace. It should be noted that compared to picture gallery on the camp's website, the tents actually are much nicer and way more charming.

The staff were warm and friendly and exceptional in every way. It was great seeing a women in a manager position. The quality and selection of food & beverages was superb, and the lunch organized on a sandbank in the river a lovely surprise. Same for the candle-light dinner organized in the bush !

The activities offered by the camp are brilliant. Each party gets its private game vehicle, and the canoe trip on the Chifungulu channel is strongly recommended." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

E&D
New York

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2021
"We had a wonderful time at Potato Bush Camp. In terms of wildlife, we saw everything we were hoping to see - leopards (a lot!), lions, elephants, hippos, water buffalo, hyena - and our guide, Alex, was truly incredible - a wealth of knowledge, who has a true passion for the wildlife in the park. We also loved the range of activities offered at Potato Bush Camp (traditional safari drive, safari walk, boat trip, canoeing). We tried each activity, and really enjoyed the ability to "mix things up."

Due to COVID, we were the only group there for most of our stay, and everyone at the camp really went the extra mil to give us an incredible experience, and it was one of the friendliest places we've ever stayed. Every day was a new surprise, from a lunch trip on an island in the Zambezi to a stunning bush dinner under the stars.

It's a truly beautiful space, located right on the Zambezi, and we loved spending our afternoon breaks watching hippos and crocodiles in the river and monkeys scampering along shore." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Mr D
California

"Potato Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"I am very happy to include Lower Zambezi (and in particular Potato Bush Camp) in the itinerary. It provides a good contrast to South Luangwa. The landscape is beautiful, with even more elephants than South Luangwa. It is a highlight to witness bull elephant reaching up the tree with trunk.

The camp is centrally located. It is a step up in creature comfort compared to where we stayed in South Luangwa, with personalized services and food ordered from a menu. But more importantly, it offers a private vehicle and guided for every party. It adds another dimension to our experience.

James is an excellent guide. I was very impressed how he found a pair of male lions at a totally inaccessible spot, with no other vehicle. On a guided walk, some male buffaloes spotted us and took an interest. James was totally cool in handling the situation. I never felt unsafe for a moment, confident that I was in good hands. On the final drive, he was on a mission to search for a leopard. It took us a fascinating hour to finally find a kill stashed in a tree, and hear leopard growling in a nearby bush. We waited a little until we got “bumped out” when more vehicles arrived. Never saw the leopard, but the special bush remains a memorable sight 😊" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

The A team
London

"Potato Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"We had a wonderful time here. Being able to go walking in the morning, with game drives in the afternoon and the opportunity to go canoeing was amazing. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and we learnt loads about the bush, wildlife and birds. Our room overlooked the river and the elephants used to come around at siesta time to eat their favourite pods from the tree right next to our verandah so we had lovely close up views of mom and her little one which was very special. We had 2 surprises too - which made our stay even that more special and memorable. Would love to return." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 17
100%
17 reviews of Potato Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (123 reviews)
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (120 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (89 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp offering a luxurious stay and excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (43 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


99% (14 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


95% (8 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


95% (4 reviews)
Lolebezi

Lolebezi

A chic safari spot, luxurious Lolelbezi is the Lower Zambezi’s newest camp and offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by excellent guides.


100% (1 review)
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


100% (1 review)
Royal Zambezi Lodge

Royal Zambezi Lodge

This family-friendly lodge is located just on the outskirts of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in a great location overlooking the river.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa