This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms H & Ms P from BC

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Our trip to Africa was awesome!

Zambia and 1 other country between 2 Oct 2014 and 14 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was excellent. The itinerary that we Maruska and I put together after much thought and many discussions and emails turned out to be perfect. It would be nice if you could get around more directly from one place to the next, instead of having to continuously go back to the starting airport to go the next place (like Shiwa to Mfuwe - that was good), as the one downside was that there was a LOT of time and energy taken up with travel. And on vacation, time is precious! But regardless, we loved each location we had chosen. The representatives were there to meet us without fail, and were very friendly, competent, and helpful. This was a really big help and allowed me to relax and not have to worry about how to navigate each step in the process.

One guy, who met us in Lusaka, was mixed up about where we were going the next day and caused a bit of angst as I don't think he'd done his homework and didn't know our itinerary like he should have. But it was resolved the next morning with no harm done. Also I should have mentioned that at Luangwa River Camp I requested to not do a game drive with six people, and Yona was incredibly responsive and organized an additional vehicle to keep the numbers down to 2 or 4 per vehicle (and actually ours turned out to be 2 on each drive, which was wonderful). And the only other thing I'd consider mentioning is that when Maruska went on leave, I felt that the ball got dropped a bit. We didn't receive our final package in the mail, didn't receive our guide book to read before leaving, etc. Didn't really end up impacting anything other than the last few days before the trip not being quite as smooth and pleasant as they could have been.

But overall, very very happy with the trip. Thank you Maruska and team!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Loved Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp!"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"Loved many thing about Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp, starting with the staff. The wait staff were fantastic (Babu for example :-)), the camp manager was wonderful to talk to and very attentive, and our guide Paul was excellent.

The tent was awesome (although Mom was a bit worried about security from animals and I do wonder if there are ever issues), the food was great, and the wildlife was absolutely outstanding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kia Lodge

"Quick overnight at Kia Lodge"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"Was totally fine for a quick overnight, but not a destination. Location was excellent for late arrival into Kilimanjero."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

"Quick overnight at Radisson Blu in Lusaka"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2014
"Just a quick overnight and breakfast before back to airport."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Shiwa Ng'andu

Shiwa Ng'andu

"Shiwa Ng'andu"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"We both loved, loved, loved Shiwa Ng'andu.

Charlie and Jo were wonderful hosts, the house has a wonderful feel, the history is fascinating, the community is so interesting, the wildlife great, and the dogs and farm tour such a bonus!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Luangwa River Camp"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2014
"Great experience at Luangwa River Camp, although "river camp" led me to believe we'd be nearer the river and in actuality because the water is so low, there wasn't really a "river camp" feel about it.

But regardless, the facilities and most especially, the team of staff and our guide Yona, were fantastic. We did a community/village visit as well as morning and afternoon/evening game drives - all highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2014
"Was a good option because of the location - 5 minute walk to the falls.

The hotel itself is a bit too mainstream for us - lots of tourists and buffet meals to feed the masses. Fairly well done for buffets though. The zebras on the lawn outside the room were a bonus."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team