This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Shiwa Ng'andu
Shiwa Ng'andu
Shiwa Ng'andu

Reviews of Shiwa Ng'andu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

26 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Shiwa Ng'andu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jan-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Shiwa Ng'andu.
Sitatunga

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Sable antelope

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 26
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Remarkable experience - well worth it"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2014
"We didn't read that carefully about what we were letting ourselves in for going to Shiwa. It isn't a plush manor house but is a totally absorbing and busy experience across so many dimensions. A unique piece of Zambian and British history, a wonderful location, quite extraordinary owners in Charlie and Jo, a massive farm operation and extraordinary archive of documents.

Charlie and Jo are fabulous hosts - how they run the farm, manage a game reserve, sort the archives, restore the house, care for 1,000 people living on the estate, work with NGOs to improve the facilities in the area and still be available throughout the day to be the perfect hosts is unbelievable.

We spent three days with them and it wasn't enough. Over breakfast, lunch and dinner with Charlie and Jo we managed to get a small insight to the remarkable place and Charlie's family. It is an incredible operation. We also met some of their friends - some passing through and some resident on the estate.

The meals were great, totally from locally produced ingredients.

Well worth the visit to see a totally different part of Zambia from the Luangwa Valley and to get to know in a small way a remarkable couple. We didn't have enough time in the archives and we look forward to reading Jo's account of life in Shiwa from Sir Stewart Gore- Browne's arrival to the current day. Keep writing Jo!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 3n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs C
Streatha

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"We had a wonderful stay at Shiwa.

Jo and Charlie were wonderful hosts and the rest of the staff were very friendly and attentive. The house and grounds are a gem and the game and lake were very attractive and appealing." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms V
Oslo

"A fascinating and wonderful place"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"Having read The Africa House, it was like a dream coming to Shiwa. Jo and Charles Harvey were marvellous hosts and guides. I loved the relaxed atmosphere, to get an insight into life at the huge estate, and of course, to hear more about S. Gore-Browne and his achivements. It was wonderful to see how well Jo and Charles looked after all the animals on the farm. Being an animal lover myself, I found it heart-warming; I shall never forget "the Paradise Gang" and the 5 dogs!

It was also interesting to visit the local school and hospital." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Anglesey

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2013
"Just an amazing place and an amazing family with amazing pets and attitude to life!

Lovely historic building and although Jo & Charlie will probably be collating the family archives for ever more their own history is equally impressive. Combining a colonial past with cattle farming and a private wildlife reserve might sound ambitious but it works and it just feels pure and crazy Africa. Walks are available and we were shown over different parts of the estate. Hearing Charlie's past hunting exploits are worth a visit alone!

Slightly surprised that some of our fellow travellers had never even heard of Shiwa. It's unique in so many ways and should have a great future. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"an old house with history and a huge farm"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2013
"Shiwa surprised us as the activities on the huge farm are so interesting, and the village children such fun. People are busy all day and everywhere, and so quite unlike the quiet bushcamps in Luangwa Valley. No predators means easy walking around the farm areas and up the hill. There are wild mammals all around which include rare Sable, Sitatunga, Letchwe and Eland readily viewable. They organise swops with other private reserves so as to get a good balance of species. Jo is an excellent bird guide and took us all round the varied parts of their estate.
It has a fascinating history as a House with an English Tradition and the important role played by Gore-Brown towards Zambian Independence in 1964 with Kaunda. The archives are in good shape and photos and original documents abound. It has the original garden layout, trees planted to his design and many cool rooms. It is a lovely spot with hills, lake, lots of space, and a local village with school and hospital. Plenty to see and do and a 3 day visit works well as a minimum.
It was cold in early Oct because of the 1500 metres height, but fires are lit every evening in bedrooms and main areas. A fleece or jacket is essential even then, whereas in Luangwa valley it was 33C at least.
Jo & Charlie could not be more friendly and hospitable, and they really put themselves out to show us how they run a successful farm and wildlife reserve such as Shiwa. Their enthusiasm and energy amazed us. Long may they continue!" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof & Mrs J
Oz

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2013
"Charlie and Jo were excellent hosts spending so much time with us treating us almost as one of the family. Jo knew of our interest in the history of Shiwa and gave us a lot of her time telling us about it.

It was a different and illuminating experience of a unique history and farming in Africa." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The L family
Jersey

"Top Dogs of Shiwa Ng'andu"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2013
"A treasure. Unique. Extraordinary.

There are so many facets to Shiwa. The landscape and variety of terrain is beautiful and walks were enhanced by the knowledge and enthusiasm of our companion/guide, whether that was Boyd, a local guide, or our hosts themselves, Jo and Charlie Harvey. The variety and richness of bird life is captivating, as is the opportunity to see a diversity of antelope species, zebra and wildebeest in the expanding game reserve.

The farm itself and the challenges faced by such an enterprise is fascinating, with the necessity of hard edged commercialism being counterbalanced by the Harvey's inability to say no to every waif and stray of all sizes, many nursed backed to health from injuries and illness.

The fundamental reason for ourselves and I suspect many to visit, is the extraordinary history of the place. The reality does not disappoint. It is palpable, surrounding you at every step, and even those devoid of any interest in times gone by, cannot help but be caught up in the events and dramas of the lives of Stewart Gore-Brown and his family. The original documents, letters, diaries and prolific and exceptional photographs, spanning much of the 20th Century bring the history to life. The relevance is enhanced by the immediate family connections and the ongoing endeavours of S.G-B's grandson and family to maintain Shiwa as a viable enterprise. Even out teenage sons were captivated!!

Do not expect modern, luxurious amenities. Readily flowing hot water and the cosseting frills of a 5 star hotel will not be found here. A warming Mopani wood fire greeting you when you return to your room in the cool of the evening, fabulous generous food and heart warming, enthralling hospitality is what Shiwa is all about. Jo, Charlie, their family and friends were the absolute stars of our experience at Shiwa. Their stories, their willingness to share their home and the events of their lives which are every bit as fascinating and compelling as the history of the place, made this an incredible three nights and without doubt one of the absolute highlights of our trip.

Seize the opportunity to visit and bathe in the nearby Kapisha hot springs. There is a lodge and campsite there surrounded by beautiful gardens, run by Mark Harvey (wonderful raconteur!) and it is definitely worth a stop-over.

And of course, the dogs; Mali, Bella, Ray, Fox and Phoebe. Stars of the show, stuff of legends and enough material for a Walt Disney trilogy!" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
London

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2011
"What can I say? Shiwa is a once in a lifetime experience and one that none of us will ever forget. It's everything we hoped it would be and very much more. We absolutely loved it.

Jo and Charlie Harvey are so generous with their time and as well as the wonderful bird walk, visit to the graves of the people killed by the crocs and mountain climb, the tour of the archives was one of the most fascinating things I have ever experienced and my companions were equally entranced. We loved the extraordinary house, the spectacular location, Jo and Charlie, their staff and the lovely Fran, who is helping with the archives, as well as the delightful menagerie of animals. We felt like very special guests and that is a great skill. Thank you.

It's difficult to grade Shiwa - it doesn't really fit into the boxes." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Leics

"Another enjoyable stay with Jo and Charley"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2011
"This was our second trip to Shiwa and we enjoyed it just as much as last time. Jo and Charley are excellent hosts and make you feel really welcome and involved in their day to day activities.

It was interesting to see how the farm had progressed from last time, catch up on some of the gossip and see the progress in organising the archives which are fascinating- you could easily spend several days in the tower room reading the letters and looking at all the photographs.

The riding with Steve and Lucy was very good with fit well trained horses and plenty of opportunity for long canters through the woods and along the lakeside. All this plus walks, drives and bird watching means there is plenty to go back and do for another visit in the future." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LS
Dorset

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2010
"A unique experience. We weren't sure exactly what to expect, but were included into the Harvey family's activities and learnt a lot about farming in that part of Zambia as well as the history of Shiwa which we had read about. Charlie and Jo make great hosts and are full of enthusiasm for all their various projects.

The accomodation is not 5 star luxury, having been spoilt at the camps we felt the bathroom could definitely do with upgrading, but the food was good and the company convivial as Jo and Charlie had friends staying on two of our three nights.

Anyone who stays here must be willing to get involved and be swept along by daily events, although the option to sit under the tree or read in the library also exists. Either way it will be a memorable experience which we would recommend." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 26
98%
26 reviews of Shiwa Ng'andu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Northern Zambia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wasa Lodge

Wasa Lodge

Wasa Lodge offers easy access to Kasanka National Park, best visited in November and December to see the millions of fruit bats that arrive in the area.


89% (11 reviews)
Shoebill Island Camp

Shoebill Island Camp

Shoebill Island Camp stands on the southern edge of the Bangweulu Wetlands. It's a remote spot, and a very simple camp - but if you want to see Shoebills then it is one of the best places in Africa.


91% (9 reviews)
Luwombwa Lodge

Luwombwa Lodge

Luwombwa Lodge in Kasanka National Park, northern Zambia


90% (2 reviews)
Mutinondo Wilderness

Mutinondo Wilderness

Visiting Mutinondo Wilderness near Mpika in northern Zambia - the accommodation, wildlife, birds and animals


100% (2 reviews)
Impandala House

Impandala House

Situated in the grounds of the historic Shiwa Ng'andu manor house, Impandala House works well as a base for families or small groups to explore northern Zambia.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa