This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs LS from Dorset

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Zambia trip

Zambia between 10 Sep 2010 and 25 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Good
"Management, guides, general staff superb.

Transfers worked like clockwork and there was always someone to guide us to the next destination.

Apart from Busanga game was excellent as were the three camps.
Shiwa was an wonderful experience as already mentioned.

Only downside was the tsetses in Kafue, would actually prevent us returning there.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

As previous users of Wilderness camps in other African countries it would be helpful to see in your brochure which ones belong to them."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Lufupa Tented Camp, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Lufupa Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2010
"The guides were excellent, special mentions to Brian and John D. The assistant manageresses, Jacqui and Musaki, were also excellent, extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Accomodation was comfortable and food good to very good on the whole. Very relaxing camp, lovely being right next to the river.

Unfortunately, as reported to Claire Scott, we had an issue over being asked to pay for drinks and park fees which we understood were included. Jacqui finally managed to sort things out to our satisfaction.

Also tsetse flies!! Several swarms on game drives which made photography all but impossible, and left some very nasty bites. All precautions were taken but to no avail.

It would have been useful to know in advance Wilderness' 3 tier rating of camps, which caused part of our problems, there is no mention in your brochure of these differences or indeed of which camps belong to Wilderness."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

"Busanga Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2010
"With the best will in the world Solomon tried to find us game but there really was very little about. The drives were arduous (long and bumpy) with little result. Again tsetses were an issue.

Solomon was great, as was Mwanga (spelling?), and the chefs. All were welcoming to a fault and exceedingly good company.
The setting was great, looking out over the plain, just rather empty!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"Spot on! So glad we had booked for 5 days, a visiting agent queried if that was too long but not at all, if we'd had longer we would have transferred to the bush camp for a couple of nights.

Derek and Jules are splendid hosts, Patrick is a guide par excellence, and all the staff did their best to make our stay memorable. The recent arrival of Izzy only added to the professionalism. Game was more than plentiful and the hides added another dimension to the day's activities. Derek was in his element when acting as a guide, much to our benefit.

Only one quibble, lunch was really superfluous!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Shiwa Ng'andu

Shiwa Ng'andu

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2010
"A unique experience. We weren't sure exactly what to expect, but were included into the Harvey family's activities and learnt a lot about farming in that part of Zambia as well as the history of Shiwa which we had read about. Charlie and Jo make great hosts and are full of enthusiasm for all their various projects.

The accomodation is not 5 star luxury, having been spoilt at the camps we felt the bathroom could definitely do with upgrading, but the food was good and the company convivial as Jo and Charlie had friends staying on two of our three nights.

Anyone who stays here must be willing to get involved and be swept along by daily events, although the option to sit under the tree or read in the library also exists. Either way it will be a memorable experience which we would recommend."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"Fine as an overnight stop but would not want to spend longer there.

Room dark, shower broken, dividing wall with next door paper thin."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average

A family reunion to remember

South Africa between 12 Oct 2008 and 23 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"An ideal venue for a family reunion with something to cater for everyone's tastes. The party included two first-timers to Africa, and two relatively old hands, all of whom were more than satisfied.

Suggestions for improvement:

Keep us informed of any special rates or deals so we can go back!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

"Stunning view from Victoria & Alfred Hotel"

5 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2008
"Rooms were excellent, would always recommend clients to opt for a Table Mountain view, otherwise you look at the car park.
Reception staff friendly and helpful.

Room for improvement in the service at breakfast time, certainly got the 'B' team on our last day, had to wait a long time for basics like knives and forks.

Very sensible idea of being able to hire laptop for short periods."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Hog Hollow - what a treasure!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"Certainly has the wow factor! The setting, the rooms, the staff, everything was excellent.

Although it was full, it never felt crowded and nothing was too much trouble. We wished we could have stayed there longer as there was so much to do in the area. Might just be forced to go back in the near future! Being selfish we don't want it to become so well-known that you have to book years in advance!

Some very nice touches like the hammocks on the balconies, the drinks bars by the pool and the staff's efforts to remember everyone's name. Quite a feat!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

"Kwandwe - a walk on the wild side"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2008
"Not the tailor-made safari we've experienced at other lodges where you fall over game as soon as you set foot outside, but this added to the adventure. Each trip felt like a real journey of discovery and on the whole we were richly rewarded.

All the staff were welcoming and again nothing was too much trouble. The atmosphere of the reserve grabbed hold of all of us and had us wanting more. The views from the northern hills were captivating.

Like at Hog Hollow we could easily have stayed longer and may just have to make a return visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team