This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J & Mrs C from Streatha

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2019 trip

Tanzania between 8 Sep 2019 and 20 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our experience in Tanzania in the camps was first rate.

All travel arrangements worked well. Unfortunately we have serious concerns about the quality of the staff we dealt with in Expert Africa in terms to their attention to detail and customer communication skills. I will be sending a separate email to the Managing Director on these aspects.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service

Check what you are sending to clients is accurate. Treat clients as special people, Make telephone contact with them and find out what their likes and dislikes are, like some of your competitors."

Feedback response

We were delighted these travellers enjoyed their trip so much and that all the arrangements we made worked well. However we were very disappointed that they had such strong remarks to make about Expert Africa staff. In the handover between a departing Expert Africa specialist and the team member who looked after the later parts of Mr J & Mrs C’s booking and travel, our team members did not communicate frequently enough with these travellers and we didn’t live up to our usual high standards of care and attention. Although these lapses had no impact on their trip, the effect was to undermine their confidence in Expert Africa and we are sincerely sorry about that. We have set up new processes to ensure that in similar handover situations, the new specialist always calls the travellers to introduce themselves and check fully on the status of their trips and anything that may need attention.


Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"Fantastic camp, immaculately managed by Michelle.

The location and rooms were stunning and the food was wonderful.

All the staff were very friendly and we had an excellent guide in Ernest."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"We absolutely loved this camp. We were fortunate to be there when there were very few other guests.

Very good tent, very nice main tented area and very good food. We loved eating out in the evenings surrounded by lights and a lovely fire. We had one of the best guides we have ever had in Charles who was most knowledgeable and a pleasure to spend five days with. We saw a huge amount of game including some wonderful sights of Roan and leopard. The other Charles, the camp manager was always very friendly. All in all it was one of our best stays ever in more than 15 safaris."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2014 trip

Kenya and 2 other countries between 22 Aug 2014 and 6 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"A wonderful holiday. Very well organised by Expert Africa"

Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2014
"On both occasions reception staff were very rude and totally disinterested and seemed more interested in talking amongst themselves rather than to guests. On the second occasion they claimed not to have a booking for us. It took half an hour before they allowed us to stay. This was despite showing Expert Africa voucher. The company that met us in Nairobi said they had numerous problems with Ole Sereni."
Terrible
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"Staff were incredibly friendly, particularly in the restaurant where Gilbert was outstanding. Nice rooms with fires. Welcomed the excellent boot cleaning service"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2014
"See previous [Ed: see below!]"
Terrible
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Shiwa Ng'andu

Shiwa Ng'andu

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"We had a wonderful stay at Shiwa.

Jo and Charlie were wonderful hosts and the rest of the staff were very friendly and attentive. The house and grounds are a gem and the game and lake were very attractive and appealing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu review"

5 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2014
"Once again a superb stay. Braston and the team did everything to make our stay memorable. Food and game drives were excellent.
However we felt that standards had dropped slightly in the last two years,Specifically:
Bathrooms and particularly basins were not as clean as they could be whilst bedrooms were immaculate.
On a number of occasions there were more than 4 guests per game viewing vehicle. This was put down to illness,shortage of staff etc. RPS has always prided themselves in keeping the numbers in vehicles to a minimum but we think this time they were stretching it a bit.
When suitcases come out of the transfer vehicles they are covered in dust. Surely they could be wrapped in covers to prevent this.
It is hoped that these are seen as positive criticism. Nsefu still is our favourite camp and has very high standards."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A wonderful trip to Zambia

Zambia between 5 Sep 2012 and 16 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a wonderful trip. We were fortunate to have excellent lodges, very good service and some fantastic game viewing and guiding.

The only slightly disappointing part was aspects of our stay in Livingstone but overal these did very little to affect our impression that this was one of our best holidays ever.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None"

Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"Beautiful new tents and a great location.

We received very good service in camp and some good guiding. We saw some memorable game including 5 lions crossing the river and wild dogs.

Food was excellent and the whole ambience in the camp was welcoming yet professional."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Best camp in the world"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2012
"I think Nsefu is the best safari camp I have ever visited in safaris in 9 countries over many years. The level of service was quite exceptional.

Nothing was too much trouble and we were treated impeccably. Th rooms are delightful and very tastefully decorated. The food and service were excellent. Polly is doing a brilliant job as caterer. Guiding by Braston was quite exceptional and we saw some outstanding game including wild dogs.

We found, two camps later that we had left credit cards in the room. Polly reacted immedialely and went to the considerable trouble of getting these to us at Mfuwe airport. Another example of exceptional service. It is the first time that am able to say that our stay was perfect on all counts."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2012
"The rooms were very good, airy, lots of space and attractively decorated. Food and service were very good in camp but not quite up to the levels of RPS camps.

Activities were unusual and excellent and we tried microlighting and biking, both of which we enjoyed enormously. We had some excellent guiding from Bryan and Amon and saw some wonderful game including lots of leopards."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Royal Livingstone"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"The location is stunning and the rooms are very well appointed.

Unfortunately the levels of service have dropped significantly in the past two years in the restaurant and bar. The bar deck by the river is a wonderful place but service was very poor with the staff standing around chatting and taking long times to deliver drinks. The quality of the food in the restaurant was very mixed, some good and some poor. However our experience was coloured by one dinner when I received overcooked food and the very poor reaction to resolving the problem."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team