This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Anglesey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2013 trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 20 Oct 2013 and 6 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very interesting and everything worked like clockwork with times and diet requirements all perfect. Tours Africa in Lusaka were excellent as well when we arrived early from Shiwa Ngandu.

Temperatures were a challenge at times but the itinerary worked better than I ever expected and ticked every box!

Thank you."

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

Stretch Ferreira Safaris Camp

"Goliath Safaris review"

6 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2013
"Brilliant camp and Mana Pools area very varied and attractive. Dates we visited tied in with other holiday requirements, like bats at Kasanka, but with daytime temperatures of 40C and above it was a struggle to get asleep some nights. Game viewing very good and Stretch is an amazing personality and guide.

We opted for a charter flight from Lusaka but another group had chosen to drive to Mana pools and regretted it due to delays crossing the border and an unscheduled additional stopover somewhere grim! Stretch recommended flying in despite the extra cost and we would have to agree. He further recommended visiting in May/June as a cooler alternative and we might just do that to see it at its most beautiful. A very intimate experience and a chance to get up very close to some of Stretch's old animal friends. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Wasa Lodge

Wasa Lodge

"Wasa Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2013
"Beautiful location beside Wasa Lake. Staff very friendly and helpful. Fruit Bat numbers beginning to pick up but only perhaps 1-2 million! Very impressive morning and evening viewing at the roost from interesting (!) tree hides. A head for heights helps! Tsetse flies by the hundreds on one early evening game drive gave serious problems and demanded face nets: but we hadn't brought them with us this year! Area/time was avoided after that night and no further problems.

Good game viewing for Sitatunga etc although numbers quite low. Morning walk and visit to Luwombwa Lodge for canoe trip along the river gave us a good appreciation of a lovely small park. We had been advised that drinks were not included at Wasa or Shoebill island camp under the Kasanka Trust but were told we were on a fully inclusive rate! Recommended but Wasa is really only busy at bat time!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Shoebill Island Camp

Shoebill Island Camp

"Shoebill Island Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2013
"Not the normal time to visit this location but we were in the area. Interesting to see the vast dry plains and a chance to get around the area. Huge herds of Black Llechwe and several Hyenas close to the camp. Grass burning everywhere threatened the camp briefly. Very much the end of the season and the camp needs better tents and a bit of TLC and investment!

Almost 2 hour drive to a swamp and much fun wading through was rewarded with 3 Shoebills! Brilliant experience despite the effort and a fairy tale ending when we expected to see nothing! We had been advised that drinks were not included at Wasa or Shoebill island camp under the Kasanka Trust but were told we were on a fully inclusive rate.

The camp staff were excellent and the visit was quite an experience overall"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Shiwa Ng'andu

Shiwa Ng'andu

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2013
"Just an amazing place and an amazing family with amazing pets and attitude to life!

Lovely historic building and although Jo & Charlie will probably be collating the family archives for ever more their own history is equally impressive. Combining a colonial past with cattle farming and a private wildlife reserve might sound ambitious but it works and it just feels pure and crazy Africa. Walks are available and we were shown over different parts of the estate. Hearing Charlie's past hunting exploits are worth a visit alone!

Slightly surprised that some of our fellow travellers had never even heard of Shiwa. It's unique in so many ways and should have a great future. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

"Eight Reedbuck Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2013
"Quite a change after the bush heat and very welcome! Quiet when we were there and staff very helpful.

Perfect chance to relax at the end of a brilliant holiday. Never got beyond the hotel gates before our flight pick-up but didn't need to!
Recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team