This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms V from Oslo

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2017 trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 9 Jun 2017 and 17 Jun 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful stay in Zambia, only wished it could have lasted longer... We had only one problem and that was due to the delayed KLM flight from Oslo to Amsterdam which made us miss our connecting flight to Johannesburg. Consequently we lost an entire day of our safari. Fortunately, we got very efficient and professional help from Megan at Expert Africa; she did the necessart re-bookings and informed Musekese Camp of our one day delay.

We were very pleased with both of the camps we were staying, indeed, at Tafika we had stayed before and knew its high standard. All the transfers went without problems, we were met by representatives of the camps at the airports and transported safely to the camps. Everything was well organized.

Of course, quite a few hours were spent travelling from one camp to the other, but that is only what has to be expected when you like to visit places that are really remote. The good thing about all our hours on the road, was that we felt we saw a lot of the country, which is interesting in itself."

Arranged By Claire Scott


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"A very good hotel"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2017
"We liked the hotel, and breakfast was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2017
"We loved Musekese Camp. We spent a fantastic day with Tyrone and his team.

In the morning we did a walking safari with Tyrone who is an excellent guide. We enjoyed the pristine nature surrounding us; everything was so unspoilt and beautiful, the big trees, the bush, the more open terrain, and of course the big, beautiful river. We saw a lot of birds and antelopes, baboons and warthogs.

The afternoon we spent on the river, again enjoying the birds in addition to the hippoes and crocodiles. Then the marvellous sunset + sundowner on the Kafue. Tyrone is very knowledgeable and taught us so much about everything we saw.

The atmosphere at Musekese is pleasant and relaxed. We were only sorry that we lost a day there because of our delayed flight from Oslo to Amsterdam. But one day at Musekese is better than no day!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika has everything."

4 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2017
"We visited Tafika 3 years ago as well, and needless to say, we returned this year because we liked it so much that we wanted to go there again.

Tafika has everything, lots of wildlife, very good guiding, beautiful surroundings and unspoilt nature. Life along the river is fascinating with the birds, the hippoes, the antelopes, the elephants, the lions and leopards, just to mention e few.

The camp itself is fantastic with the chalets built around beautiful, big trees. The food is excellent and so is the service. One feels so well looked after; every effort is made to make you have an interesting and pleasant stay. We loved its atmosphere and style. We enjoyed every minute of it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Our Zambia trip

Zambia between 6 Jul 2014 and 15 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"As you will understand from my comments, we were very satisfied with our trip. However there are a couple of minor issues that I would like to mention. First, in our voucher for the River Club, you write that a visit to Livingstone museum is included in the price. However, the lady responsible for our activities at the River Club simply said that It was not, that Expert Africa had made a mistake, and consequently charged the sum to our account. It was not a big sum, but it irritated me at the time.

Then there was an inaccuracy concerning our transfer from Shiwa to Tafika. We were supposed to go via Mfuwe, but we realized that there had to be a misunderstanding and we could go direct by air to Tafika. This was however, easily cleared up.

Finally, as you will know, I have to mention the delayed arrival of our travel documents. As you know they arrived only a week before departure. How that can be avoided, I don't know."

The River Club

The River Club

"Beautiful and luxurious"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"It was wonderful to be taken by boat on the river to the River Club on the day of our arrival. We had of course, expected a road transfer from the airport. As both of us had been to the River Club before, we knew the high standard of the accommodation, the food and the service of the place, and it did not fall short of our expectations.

As for activities, we enjoyed excellent guiding at Victoria Falls, the Livingstone museum, and two lovely sundowner trips on the Zambezi. Also, an interesting visit to the local village."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shiwa Ng'andu

Shiwa Ng'andu

"A fascinating and wonderful place"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"Having read The Africa House, it was like a dream coming to Shiwa. Jo and Charles Harvey were marvellous hosts and guides. I loved the relaxed atmosphere, to get an insight into life at the huge estate, and of course, to hear more about S. Gore-Browne and his achivements. It was wonderful to see how well Jo and Charles looked after all the animals on the farm. Being an animal lover myself, I found it heart-warming; I shall never forget "the Paradise Gang" and the 5 dogs!

It was also interesting to visit the local school and hospital."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Everything was done to make our stay great"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2014
"Tafika was impressive. Everything was so well organized. The safari very good, very friendly staff and guides, excellent food, beautiful rooms. We were very impressed. John and Carol were always there and made sure that everything worked smoothly.

I loved the design and style of the camp, the building materials, and how everything was in harmony with the surroundings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team