This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs J from Dyfed

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Norman Carr 2012

Zambia between 15 Jun 2012 and 24 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Any concerns about a return trip not living up to expectations were ill founded. Every bit as good as last year but also different.
As ever a very warm welcome from everyone there in all the camps and this was much appreciated.

One note, just a day before we arrived the currency switched from dollars to kwachas only, this wasn't a problem as there was an ATM at Lusaka airport. This does mean that taxes etc must now be paid in Kwachas.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No"

Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Amazing Luwi"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2012
"The extra day at Luwi was perfect for additional walking and exploring.

If anything our room was even nicer than last year, everything else was just as good"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Elephants at Nsolo"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2012
"Again room this year even better because of wonderful view of dry river bed - perfect for when the elephants came calling.

On our third night we slept out in the river bed and this was a truly amazing experience. We were very appreciative of the hard work that went into making this possible - a special thank you therefore to Pippa and the team at Nsolo."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Wild Kakuli"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2012
"No need to leave camp as there were lions, hyena and Dixon, the local elephant, pacing outside our room.

Again the room was even better than last year, appreciated the extra width and different layout of the room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Handy stop-over"

1 night Arrived 24 Jun 2012
"Very obliging owner, Paul, checked us in for our flight again.

Nicer room and less cold than last year."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

More than a holiday

Zambia between 19 Jun 2011 and 30 Jun 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Unforgettable! Even now we are finding it difficult to assimilate evrything we have seen and done. Everyone at the camps went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed every aspect of our stay, for example on our way back to Mfuwe we had lunch at Kapani and a room was made available for our use which was much appreciated. Andrew our guide turned our last morning into a special experience instead of just a sad farewell.

Also much appreciated the help given at Lusaka airport on our arrival. Would also recommend a visit to Tribal Textiles, the tour of the workshop was particularly interesting.

To summarise, we both have had the experience of a lifetime and will remember all the lovely people we have met for a very long time."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Into the wild"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2011
"A wonderful greeting and welcome, arrived just in time for lunch. We loved the rustic room and the marvelous view across the small grassy plain towards the dry Luwi river bed.

The location is remote and unrivalled, the walking excellent. Brian our guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour.

Memorable sightings of animals but so much more eg learned about the habitat. We were sorry to leave but had a very good walk to Nsolo"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"More amazing experiences"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2011
"Sad to leave Luwi until we arrived at Nsolo. Informed of great excitement the previous night due to lions in the camp. During our first night an elephant visited and browsed on the tree right outside our room. The second night buffalo visited and caused some damage.

Lawrence was our guide here and again morning walks and a clever combination of walking and driving in the afternoon/evening made for some exciting and unforgetable moments eg three lionesses with cubs waking at twilight. Hospitality and guiding of hte highest standard.

Again sad to leave but anothe wonderful long walk with Shaddy to Kakuli, many adventures on the way."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Hippos on the Luangwa"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2011
"Arrived at Kakuli to find that we were the only two guests. Sarah was our wonderful host and Aubrey our guide for what was effectively a private safari.

Experiences too numerous to mention, unforgetable moments continued to pile up, however very close encounter with hyena cubs outside their den with one curious cub coming within feet as we sat on a log and watched deserves a special mention."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"A fitting climax to the holiday"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2011
"After a relaxing walk from Nsolo a sensational arrival. Aubrey came tearing over and dragged us off in a vehicle for a unique viewing of a huge pride of lions killing a buffalo. This apparently is a very rare occurrence because the lionesses were teaching a young male( about to leave the pride) how to bring down a buffalo and finish a kill - not for the squeamish.

We met Andrew our guide at Mchenja and again some wonderful walks and night drives, Andrew had an amazing knack for finding anything we wished to see from leopard to chameleon, three very special days at the end of our holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Homeward bound"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2011
"Satisfactory as a stopover for an early morning flight from Lusaka."
Good
Rooms
Good
Service
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team