This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from E Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

28

Excursions taken

0

Surpassed our expectations

Zambia between 16 Jul 2019 and 31 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We left the UK for Zambia with high expectations, having visited South Luangwa on three previous occasions. We were not disappointed - every camp has the highest standards even if it may be one of the 'humbler' bush camps. All camps are very comfortable and provide the most delicious fresh food - suffice to say we were never hungry!

The staff, guides and scouts are highly trained and knowledgeable. They are also entertaining and, as far as the guides and scouts are concerned, fill one with confidence when, for example, out on a walking safari or when confronted by elephants as we were on several occasions.

The camps are small (maximum of six chalets) and we were often the only two people in a jeep with a guide and a scout, which is very spoiling.

All being well, we will be returning to South and North Luangwa in the next year or two and in the meantime will have to rely on our memories of this magical country."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Tafika

Tafika

"Lovely Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2019
"This was our third visit to Tafika and was every bit as good as the previous visits.

Everyone involved in the running of Tafika from the Bosses to the night watchmen are very cheerful and helpful.

A visit to South Luangwa would not be the same with out a visit to Tafika."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2019
"We much enjoyed Mwaleshi.

We have marked all the "aspects" as excellent (here and for Takwela) - some might consider that this is too generous BUT given the location of these camps and the fact that one is in the bush, we feel that it is well justified.

If others arrive expecting swimming pools etc then they will be disappointed!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Takwela Camp

Takwela Camp

"Takwela is a splendid new camp - love it."

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2019
"A great new camp where feels that one is miles from anywhere - wonderful.

Alex and his team have done a splendid job and we cannot wait to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2019
"We first visited Kakuli over ten years ago and it has changed enormously but has maintained the character that we remembered and, as ever, all the staff, across the board, were excellent. It was great to come back - the only sadness was to learn that Aubrey had passed on - what a lovely man he was.

The romantic surprise dinner for two on our veranda suddenly included an elephant "in the room" eating the pods from the acacia next door and we had to continue with an armed guard to protect us! Huge fun.

More close encounters with elephants at the surprise lunch on the banks of the Luangwa - a really memorable stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"A long-awaited return to Mchenja"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"The camp has changed a bit since our last visit in 2013 due to the erosion of the river bank - but the chalets are improved and very comfortable with a great view over the river. The outdoor showers always delight.

Whilst there we had several close encounters with the local wildlife: lions in the camp by the swimming pool on our last day (they munched through the cleaning pipe and scattered it around the area); a small herd of elephants when we arrived for a surprise sundowner which had to be diverted by our capable guides and scouts; two elephants in the camp on the day we arrived, one of which was enjoying the taste of a chalet's doormat and knocked our bathroom's light fitting away. The elephants both kept us in the sitenje for 20 minutes or so after lunch. Life wasn't dull and it was huge fun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Jul 2014 trip

Namibia between 8 Jul 2014 and 29 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an excellently planned holiday, although we found it quite tiring towards the end of our three week stay.

The camps were mainly excellent and certainly as good as we had hoped. We had an unfortunate incident when my wife's bag was stolen from the car outside our guest house in Windhoek and the staff at Galton House couldn't have been more helpful, as were the head office staff at Wilderness Safaris in helping us resolve matters.

There is obviously quite a bit of crime in Windhoek (and possibly other towns) and travellers should be aware of this and keep their wits about them. We were identified as a target once we arrived in Windhoek while driving a hire car with South African number plates, followed, and then robbed outside our guest house in a quiet street with nobody else around. If my wife's handbag had been hidden in the back of the car or in the boot things may have been different.

However, this didn't detract from a very enjoyable three weeks in a scenically amazing country with Namibian people who made our stay memorable."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2014
"The electric gate has now been fixed, I understand, and, I hope that there is now a bell or other alert system to advise management that guests have arrived.

Having said that, Galton House was very comfortable, with good food, decent white wine but rather poor red.

The staff were absolutely excellent and could not have done more to help than they did.

The room was clean, comfortable and spacious.

No problem in recommending this Guest House."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm is very enjoyable"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"We had a very pleasant stay at Bullsport and were warmly received by Ernst and Johanna. The food is good and plentiful at all meals.

The morning activity was to be driven to the top of the gorge and then to walk down. The whole experience was excellent - great views and scenery, some splendid wildlife which we had not seen on other safari type holidays - and a very good walk to increase the appetite!

The afternoon "game drive" was a disappointment, we did see a couple of Secretary Birds and a couple of Oryx but, otherwise, nothing other than some farm stock and pregnant mares,

For those interested in riding, I imagine that this could be an amazing place for a longer stay."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge is a super place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2014
"A splendid Lodge, super staff and guides, good atmosphere, food, rooms etc. Really couldn't fault it - everyone seemed to go out of their way to be friendly and helpful in a very relaxed and genuine way. Good packed lunches too!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House is a great place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2014
"As the name suggests, the guest house is Central - very convenient for walking into town in a matter of minutes.

Nadine made us very welcome and did everything possible to make our stay very pleasant.

Best packed lunch of the trip.

We ate one dinner at The Tug which was first class - we had booked a table before leaving UK which was necessary as the place was heaving.

We also had a meal at the Western ???? - not recommended. They had Crayfish on the menu which I ordered - they had tried to cook it from frozen and it was still cold and, knowing that a very upset stomach would result, I returned it uneaten. The very pleasant waitress showed no surprise and said that it was frozen because it was out of season!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2014
"What a beautiful place in a great location. Excellent staff and guides with plenty for us to see and do."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp is splendid"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2014
"Another amazing place, this time in the middle of nowhere - it is hard to imagine anywhere much further away from "civilisation". The drive in is an experience in itself - good wild life, great scenery.

Dennis set up his telescope and let all visitors see Saturn, rings, moon and all - small but much more exciting than seeing it on TV."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp - Hmmm."

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2014
"I believe that the Camp is under the same ownership as Kulala - how different could two places be? Elizabeth and Heinrich (?) are very efficient hosts and responded extremely well when something went wrong but, compared to Kulala, there was no "warmth" in the greeting or interaction with guests. One felt that everything was scripted rather than natural.

The afternoon game drive was very poor, saved only by a fortuitous encounter with a white rhino very late on. We discussed this with Elizabeth and, when we came to pay the bill, there was no charge for the drive - we did offer to pay half but Elizabeth refused to accept it and, for that, we have to give full marks for good client relations.

The staff were very good and attentive, with good humour."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2014
"The room (chalet) was excellent and very comfortable. The food (lunch and dinner) was poor although breakfast was fine - one doesn't visit Okaukuejo Camp for fine dining!

The water hole is the main attraction and certainly lived up to all our expectations, particularly after dinner when there was great interaction between elephant and rhino and the sighting of a leopard creeping away.

The staff were very good and friendly."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp is splendid"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"What a lovely place to stay.

Great staff, particularly Cacious (sorry if misspelt) who had to deal with a rather unpleasant American and handled it with great dignity."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Nhoma Camp"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"We were slightly disappointed with Nhoma, possibly for not properly analyzing what might actually be on offer.

The visit to the village was fascinating but really only holds the attention for a couple of hours unless one is a photographer - and one visit was enough. My wife is a photographer and came away with lots of amazing pictures - the best of the holiday!

The hunting walk wasn't really hunting, it seemed to be a predetermined walk where the bushmen could show how they would prepare snares etc. which is amazing, but there really didn't seem to be any chance of anything being caught - particularly when there are ten people tramping along!

The camp is comfortable but there is no "Charisma"."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Ghaub Guest Farm is lovely"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"A lovely place to break a journey. Very peaceful, great host."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge is super"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2014
"Great place, great people, stunning scenery - loved it. Probably the most luxurious 'tent' of the holiday in an amazing location."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Our Aug/Sept 2013 trip

Zambia between 29 Aug 2013 and 12 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"It would be wrong not to mention Tour Africa (or is it Tours Africa) who did the whole "meet and greet" thing - they were brilliant whenever we met them.

The whole trip was seamless - I do not wear a watch so have no idea of date or time and I didn't need one. Whenever we were supposed to move on, we were told in good time and passed from one place to another. So relaxing - Expert Africa's planning had everyone where they should have been when they should have been. Thank you so much."

Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Excellent time at Mchenja"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2013
"Nikita is an excellent hostess, very thoughtful and aware of everyone's needs.

Bwalya is a first class guide - we know that he was in a bit of trouble because we arrived at camp about one hour late for lunch - but we had seen so much game, it would have been criminal to have driven past it and, indeed, he might have been lynched had he tried!!

All the staff were very friendly and efficient and, as expected, full of real smiles.

All in all, super return visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika is Tafika (We have arrived!)"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2013
"Second visit to Tafika and how marvellous to see so many familiar faces, old hands as well as those who, three years ago, were studying hard for their Guide exams and have now passed.

There are many great camps in South Luangwa but none has the "family warmth" of Tafika - John, Carol and Jenny with old hands Bryan, Heather and Rhona together with all their most excellent staff generate a fantastic feeling of welcome, warmth and well being. We should love to be able to mention all the staff by name but are happy to claim old age and to say - Thank you to all."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"We had a super time at Chikoko - it is in a splendid spot and the rooms are very comfortable and, whilst the stairs need a certain concentration, they are not a problem - heavens alive, we are in the bush not at the Savoy!

We had a very happy stay and have nothing but praise for this little camp - indeed, to have a maximum of six guests is brilliant, so long as you have the right guests which we did!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"The lovely Crocodile Bushcamp"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"Some prefer Chikoko, but we thought that Crocodile was absolutely the best - small, personal, friendly. OK, so there was not very much game at the water hole - but that isn't the fault of "Croc". We had a really good walk in, a great walk in the morning and a most excellent drive in the afternoon which enabled us to see four creatures which we had not previously seen.

Excellent staff with a sense of humour - needed when we gave a very short, impromptu concert!

We wish that we had spent at least one more night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"see earlier comments [Ed: see below!]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

"Eight Reedbuck Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"A pleasant hotel which, at first glance, seems really smart but could, possibly, do with a bit of smartening up. It is comfortable and the one course dinner we ordered was freshly cooked, delicious and far too large!

We were only there for about 11 hours so could not do justice, but it is very acceptable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Overall

Zambia between 2 Jun 2010 and 17 Jun 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a super time - the second week was memorable in so many ways. As a result, we hope to return in 2011.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not at at the moment."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2010
"Very enjoyable but, as it is purely a walking bush camp, two days is probably enough. Super staff.

What a shame that Mouse suffered a bout of malaria whilst we were there - but she was great. Paul collected us from Mfuwe International (!) and also guided us during our stay - very good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2010
"Shadi and Batwell made a great team, steering us past marauding buffalo - all of which added to our excitement of the stay there.

Pria was an excellent hostess and all the troops were super."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2010
"We loved our stay here (it was our second visit). Aubrey and team, with Paul who had guided us in Luwi, were great. Glen, the manager, is a very nice chap but a bit inexperienced - he needs to learn about communication: Various members of staff had malaria but this only became apparent on questioning; some american visitors were moved from their room without their knowing so that the room could be prepared for other visitors - who did not arrive until after the americans had left. Overall, though, we had a great time.

The MD of N Carr (Dave) paid a brief visit and we mentioned to him that we felt that the camps were super and that the food had improved enormously in quality in the last five years.

Our cabin was excellent but the Thatch (roof) came down so low that very shortly after arrival I walked into it and had to have various bits of elephant grass removed from my (bald) head by Ann."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika - Wow!"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2010
"What a wonderful place - no other place has filled us with such happiness and such a desire to return! John and Carol are wonderful hosts and ALL the guides are "top notch" (Stephen, Alex and Brian) - good english (even Brian!), knowledgeable and, importantly, very helpful. Being met by Mkupa and Lloyd to canoe us across the Luangwa was a super experience.

Tafika rewarded us with the best game sightings of the holiday and also the longest drives.

The "house" staff also are great and we enjoyed our tour of the kitchen garden with Isaac!

A number of nice touches: purpose built steps to aid access to the jeeps - taken on trips when those less agile were aboard; light on in the bedroom on return from evening drives; Good electricity; super showers that really made one wet and warm.
The open grassy area gives such a wonderful feeling of space - one is instantly relaxed.

We loved the visit to the village and school - very moving."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2010
"We had a super time here and Leona and Etienne were very helpful, enthusiastic, professional and went out of their way to ensure that we had and did everything that we wanted. Their help with watching and photographing the swimming elephants and the nesting bee eaters was over and above what might have been expected.

Levi, our guide, was excellent and also went out of his way to ensure that we saw loads of animals.

Ann is not very comfortable with "bugs" and does feel that the chalets could be upgraded to something similar to Kakuli where there is a mosquito net surrounding the inside of the tent. Otherwise we had a grand time."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team