This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Glos

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

My May Trip 2014

Zambia between 30 May 2014 and 11 Jun 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Zambia"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Tafika

Tafika

"A warm welcome at Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2014
"Lovely location. Staff very welcoming.

We were lucky enough to be the only guests during our stay and were well looked after."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2014
"Lovely to have our own tree house although final step to the bedroom was a bit dodgy.

Isaac was an interesting guide although he had no conception of time!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Crocodile Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2014
"Quite enjoyable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Lovely time at Old Mondoro"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2014
"A lovely setting and very comfortable room. We really enjoyed being able to sleep almost in the open with the tent flaps open. Appreciated the hot water bottle at night!

We found using red light for spotting during night drives made it difficult to take photographs.

It was a bit annoying to have to radio for an escort to walk a few yards to dinner or if an elephant was in camp. Once back at our room the elephant was grazing right outside and was not bothered about us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Overall feedback

Zambia between 21 Sep 2009 and 6 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Norman Carr Safaris were excellent - facilities and food first rate. They are however overprotective of guests and , if you have done any independent self drive and camping, their safety precautions are OTT and risk spoiling the experience. So be beware.

For first timers they would be great. The walking was really good and our guides were generally excellent. The ZAWA scouts did a great job.

N Luangwa was really relaxed and more of a wilderness experience. Highly recommended."

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Good introduction to the area and wildlife."

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2009
"Kapani is a good place to start. The drives give the opportunity to get close to the animals for the views you tend not to get when walking.

Our guide, Innocent, was first class and asked us what our interests were before setting out. He was very enthusiastic about all our sightings.

Kapani set the scene for the quality of food we were to enjoy at all Norman Carr camps."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Cotton wool at Luwi"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2009
"Our experience at Luwi was mixed. We arrived at nine o'clock in the morning after the drive from Kapani. Apart from eating, our next activity was at 15.45 almost seven hours later. There was little to do at the camp as the safety arrangements were, in our opinion, restrictive and assumed we had absolutely no idea how to behave in the bush.

With the obvious exception of the guides and scouts we had more bush experience than the camp staff having travelled reasonably extensively, travelling and camping unscorted in big game areas and having many 'interesting' encounters.

There is a great hippo pool with a hide overlooking but we were not allowed to stay there alone without a 'minder'. This arrangement did not work well - I think I managed a 30 minute stay - and the first few hours at Luwi were very frustrating - essentially sitting and waiting for the opportunity to actually do something. Unlike kapani there was little to maintain interest in the dead hours.

Apparently the restrictions on staying at the hide had been introduced when a visitor was lucky enough to have elephants visit the vicinity. He enjoyed the experience and we would also have enjoyed the experience. Sadly my diary entries refer to the camp as 'Stalag Luwi'.

On the walks we went out as a group of six,ourselves and a group of four italians travelling together. After the luxury of having our own guide in Kapani we found that this became a bit wearing. Groups of four stick together as a group of four and we inevitably found ourselves at the back of the group very quickly. This prevented significant contact with the guide and we lost sighting and photo oportunities also. The group size of six was particularly frustrating when other pairs went out as a group of two. Why not two fours? We raised our concern and disappointment with the camp staff but this made no difference.

We finally got a change in approach when we raised the same concerns at Nsolo and our host (Pria) took action. Whilst at Kakuli the GM, David Wlson, spoke to us and apologised for our experience. He also agreed with our view of managing the risk from wildlife encounters in a more thoughtful and less defensive manner. If you want to have any sensible bush wildlife experience then there is inevitably an element of risk, but it needs to be managed, not avoided. If you want to avoid risk altogether then stay at home and watch 'The natural world' etc. The roads are more dangerous than the animals."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Looking up."

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2009
"We still had the same problems at Nsolo as the message had not got through for some reason. We therefore still remained in a group of six whilst others went off in pairs. A lot of frustration!

On the plus side it is a beautiful camp. Our host Pria was excellent and our (sometime) guide Shadi was very competent and knowledgeable. The walks out of here were very good (group of six not withstanding) with lots of interest and good duration (3-4 1/2 hours)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Great location, over-protective."

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2009
"Great camp - lots of activity seen from rest/bar area and from our room,which had a lot of character.

Again camp safety arrangements OTT with (eg) staff over-reacting to risk from elephant not behaving in threatening manner (chasing with brooms does tend to elicit a charge) and escort back to room at night (we were not allowed out on our own) 'panicking' when we saw an elephant minding its own business, not on our route, quietly browsing, and hurrying back to find the scout.

Finally got our own guide in a sensible group size."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Luxury in the bush"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2009
"Lovely camp - the tents are fantastic!

Good walks with lots of little details and track interpretation.

Enjoyed listening to Pel's Fishing Owl in the evening."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2009
"Ernst was refreshingly laid back making this the most relaxed experience. For us a much more mature approach to bush safety - very aware but not molly-coddling.

Walks were very good with wading in the river (where the crocs weren't) and some good encounters in close cover. Ernst was very good at recognising what you knew, and what you didn't.

No 'host' here so first hand knowledge on tap. Food was again very good - although not Norman Carr standard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"Not much to say, really. It was somewhere to stay at the end of our trip.

Much more backpacker/laptop/mobile phone/just out of town atmosphere.

Good location being handy for the airport but out of town."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team