This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms H & Mr F from Chicago

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

0

We will be back to Namibia!

Namibia between 1 Jul 2018 and 15 Jul 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was so different, but so special for us.

We had never self-driven anywhere while on vacation, so this was a first. It allowed us to see the country in a different way. There is so much to do in Namibia, and we wish we could have stayed longer & seen more, but that just gives us a reason to come back.

Expert Africa continued to provide amazing service, on this, our third trip with them."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2018
"Hotel was nice & room was comfortable - they left nice little touches in the room like port & chocolate.

Staff was also very nice & breakfast was delicious.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant & food was decent but we weren't overly excited about it."
Excellent
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2018
"I had a huge smile on my face hours after arriving here. It's such a gorgeous property with gorgeous views.

The rooms are amazing & we esp loved the skylight above the bed where we could see the stars overhead.

We stayed 3 nights & did the Bike Daddy hike, rode ATVs & hike to the caves to see 700 year old bushman drawings. Also loved the observatory where we saw planets & star clusters. Guide Obbie, butler Hilma, managers Clinton & Sarah & everyone else made our stay special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2018
"Great location next to the beach & boardwalk & super short walk from the city center.

Rooms were nice & comfortable & I liked working out in the gym. We ate at two of their restaurants & food was a little better than average.

One minor complaint that is probably specific to our room was that there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom (maybe from the pipes)? We were too lazy to change rooms & we couldn't smell in when we shut the door to the toilet, so wasn't a huge deal to us."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Amazing views"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2018
"The views from the lodge are breathtaking. This is a no-frills lodge but we knew that when we booked so weren't expecting a luxury experience.

The rooms were clean, staff pleasant & food was good. We stayed for two nights & did the cultural tour, which we highly enjoyed - the highlight was a group of talented students singing & dancing for us. If you go, I recommend bringing school supplies to donate."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Wonderful luxury tented camp"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2018
"We stayed 2 nights here. Upon check-in, when we had been at the lodge for 5 minutes, we saw 3 elephants & zebra at the waterhole in front of the lodge.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff & service was impeccable. Our room was pretty far from the waterhole, so they immediately switched us to the one closest to the waterhole.

There were only 1 or 2 other parties the day we checked in, so we inquired on whether we could have a jeep to ourselves for the first game drive & they asked if we wanted our own jeep, the next day as well, even though the camp was full the next day.

I fully expected to be charged extra, but they didn't, so we made sure to tip our guide Michael as if he had a full jeep both days. And Michael was amazing! We saw lions eating a giraffe within 10 minutes on our first drive & got to approach 3 rhinos on foot, maybe w/in 10 meters or so. Plus so many other sightings! The tent was very comfortable & we had a lovely time at Ongava."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Amazing accommodations"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2018
"The accommodations here were uber-luxe. And the food was so so delicious - probably the best of our entire Namibia trip!

The game viewing was good, perhaps not as good as at Ongava, but one can't predict where the animals will be on any given day & our guide & jeep-mates were so fun that it didn't even matter!

We did see a lot of lions, which was amazing!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

"Wish this was our permanent home!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2018
"My husband & I rented the villa, which can fit up to ten guests. It was just the two of us & at first, we felt a little ridiculous having our own chef & guide & the big place to ourselves, but we quickly got over it! :)

Our guide Richard, his lovely wife Zanelle was our hostess & chef Christopher made our stay so special! I am still craving Christopher's amazing & gigantic omelettes! We got to approach a cheetah on foot & saw several leopards, including one stalking a warthog (the warthog got away).

The accommodations are amazing - we loved sitting around the fire pit with drinks & snacks each night after the p.m. game drives, then siting around the fireplace in the room after dinner or outside overlooking the waterhole. The visit to the AfriCat Foundation was also very educational, to see the great work they do for the cats.

We only spent two nights here & my only wish is that we could've stayed longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Yet another amazing trip organized by EA

South Africa and 1 other country between 2 Jul 2017 and 14 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Lucy organized our trip for us. She is so easy to work with & very responsive to emails. The trip went flawlessly. We used Expert Africa to organize a trip to Zambia/Malawi for us 2 yrs ago & will be asking them to help us with a possible trip to Namibia next year!"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


The Last Word Franschhoek

The Last Word Franschhoek

"Short but lovely stay"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2017
"Loved the heated bathroom floors & welcome champagne in room & wine upon check-in! Also can't beat a hotel with an open bar & hot breakfast! Conveniently located right in the center of town & walkable to everything & service was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Ulusaba

"Second stay here - just as good as the first!"

4 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2017
"Everything was casually luxurious. Rooms were so comfortable - can control the temps & oh, the electric blanket was a nice surprise! Guides/trackers were amazing. Food was top-notch. Also made good use of the gym in between the a.m. & p.m. game drives!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental O.R. Tambo

"Very nice airport hotel!"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2017
"Hotel is right across the street from the airport international terminal. Very comfortable stopover between safari & the beaches of Malawi. Room service was excellent & hotel has a really large, modern gym."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kaya Mawa

Kaya Mawa

"Our African beach heaven"

4 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2017
"This is our second trip to Kaya Mawa in two years, we love it that much. Every meal was amazing & so were the massages. It was so nice to see Michelle, Martin, Harold & MacDonald again! We stayed in the Nkhwazi room for the second time - has its own pool, tons of outdoor space & views of Mozambique. And the lodge now has an adorable dog! We will be back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Flawless

Zambia and 1 other country between 4 Jul 2015 and 17 Jul 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Claire was amazing to work with. She was very responsive to my emails despite being on a different continent & was also available for calls to answer my questions. I felt like she really listened to what we wanted & provided her honest opinion on some of my suggestions & also gave us the pros & cons of various itineraries or lodges & as a result, she put together the perfect trip for us.

Our trip was everything we expected...and more. This trip was for my husband's 40th birthday & she must have let all the lodges know because they all did something special for him. It really made the whole experience extra special for him.

Our entire trip was flawless - from the pickup at Livingstone airport to drop off at Likoma's tiny airport for our journey back to the States. Thank you so much, Claire & Expert Africa, for putting together a trip we will remember forever.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We have zero criticism or constructive feedback - everything was flawless from beginning to end!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

"Great way to start our trip!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2015
"After about 32 hours of travel from the US, we were met by a Waterberry Zambezi Lodge rep at the airport. We loved that the lodge is away from Livingstone.

Our room was very comfortable & the staff was wonderful. They surprised my husband with a belated birthday cake since this was his 40th birthday trip!

We also loved the sunset river boat cruise & of course, the tour of Victoria Falls!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Lions roaring at night!"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2015
"We got to Luwi after sunset, so we only got to have one full day there. However, we loved that day!

We'd never done a walking safari before & we didn't see any of the Big 5 on our walks, but that was OK. We saw lots of plants, smaller animals & just enjoyed being out in the wild. We did hear lions roaring nearby on both nights - that was super exciting! Rooms were rustic, yet super comfortable & we loved the open-air bathrooms & showers (plenty of hot water).

Manager Frank & guide Brian obviously have a great relationship & they are so hilarious to swap stories with during meals & during happy hour. Staying at Luwi was an awesome way to start our adventures in South Luangwa!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Do the sleep out!!!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2015
"We spent 2 nights at Nsolo. Actually, one of them was the sleep out in a dry river bed, which I highly recommend. Falling asleep while looking at the stars & the galaxy & hearing lions, leopards & hyenas in the vicinity was an unparalleled experience. The braai we had during the sleep out was amazing.

On our walking safaris, on one day, we came over a hill & there was a giant herd of buffalo. When we returned to camp & came up another hill, there was a herd of elephants we had to slowly go around. Wow!!!

Nsolo's manager, Kolo, is such a fun person & I thoroughly enjoyed our conversations. Phil is a superb guide & Bottle was an excellent ranger."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Best animal viewing of our trip!"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2015
"We chose to do all drives at Mchenja & had an amazing animal viewing experience! In one day, we saw 9 leopards & 11 lions - we even tracked a pride of about 5 lions on foot at one point. Once, when we set out on our afternoon drive, there was a leopard literally right outside the camp!

Mchenja overlooks a watering hole, so there were always animals around - lots of loud hippos, elephants, baboons, crocs & even a leopard. There always seemed to be elephants around camp, including one who popped by our room on several occasions & was lurking around at dinner!

Manager Amy is a sweetheart & John was the perfect guide - I seriously don't know how he could spot animals like he did & he has an awesome personality as well. Mchenja surprised us with a private champagne dinner set up outside our room. They got all the small details & touches just right."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaya Mawa

Kaya Mawa

"Sheer perfection"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2015
"There are not enough superlatives to describe how relaxing, perfect, special & magical Kaya Mawa is. My husband & I stayed in the Nhkwazi premium room, which sits on a hill overlooking the lake. The room is massive & has a ton of outdoor seating spots (which is perfect, as we love to sit outside for hours reading, chatting, drinking & enjoying the views) & a private plunge pool. Also loved the outdoor shower w/ a view of the lake! It was so awesome being lulled to sleep by the cool breeze & sounds of water lapping at the rocks right below us.

Kaya Mawa offers a ton of activities (all non-motorized water activities like snorkeling, paddleboarding & kayaking are complimentary). We were mostly lazy & just laid out on the beach & swam, but did a quad bike tour (super fun!) around the island one afternoon, got massages & visited the Katundu workshop on another afternoon. The workshop is staffed primarily by single mothers & their products are great! http://www.katundu.net/workshop.html Kaya Mawa has many of their products in the rooms & common areas of the lodge & we purchased several of their gorgeous items. We also got fabulous massages on our last full day. Despite it being winter in Malawi, it could get pretty warm during the day (I would guess about 80+ F degrees) & the water is so clear & so refreshing to swim in. On the day we left, I went for a 7a.m. swim & was joined by a family of otters!!!

The food was out-of-this-world amazing. Not one meal was even just average – everything was crazy delicious!!! The food is also very fresh & healthy – lots of fruits & vegetables w/ every meal. Ahhhh-mazing!!!

The people who work there are of the highest caliber. They really went above & beyond to make our too-brief stay there extra memorable & special. They arranged a surprise private Swahili dinner on the beach one night as well as private sundowners on a jetty. They also get the little details just right."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team