This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from NL

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2016 trip

Zambia between 13 Nov 2016 and 30 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was beatiful with fine lodges and camps. Everywhere we had excellent guides and the transfers between the several lodges were excellent and punctual."

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

"relax in Lilayi Lodge"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2016
"Lilayi Lodge was our , so called " home" in between the different bushcamps we visited.

It's a very good place to start and end your trip, especially when you have hours to wait for your flight.

The food is excellent except when there are big parties and the cook is too busy"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"excellent stay in Nsefu"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2016
"Beautiful view over the river!

We had a wonderful time with Sebastiaan and William is an excellent spotter.

The (long) walks were partly difficult because off dryed- out lagoons. We had to walk carefully and could hardly look around."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

"interesting stories at Bilimungwe"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2016
"During our long walks, Manda and Suzyo learned us a lot about the ecosystem and life in Zambia. Rich wildlife.

Too bad we had to share the car with 6 people for the nightdrive."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

"relax in Lilayi Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2016
"relax in Lilayi Lodge [ Ed: see comments below also. ]"
Excellent
Matamanene Camp

Matamanene Camp

"walking among thousands of wilde beast"

5 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2016
"Nice cabins, pleasant lounge and wonderful walks with Robin Pope and Friday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

The first time to Tanzania

Tanzania between 29 Jan 2012 and 13 Feb 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was exactly what we were looking for.

We wanted to go to Tanzania where we had never been before because of the rainy seasons. It was difficult to find a good destination in january/february.
Claire was a good help and after some phonecalls, with the brochure on both sides of the telephone (Holland-England) we made a wonderful itinerary together.

Maybe next time we could combine the Southern part of the Serengeti with Selous at this time of the year.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Filling in the feedbackform is very time-consuming because we are invited to give "real" feedback, which goes back to the camps and on the internet. (and English is not my home-language)

On the other hand the reviews of other guests helped us to make up our mind. So, after all, don´t change it"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"Relaxing in Oyster Bay"

1 night Arrived 29 Jan 2012
"We started our trip in Oyster Bay and made the mistake not to come back at the end to relax. Dimitre pamperd us!
We met very interesting people at the dinnertable.
A very special place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Tented Camp"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2012
"The whole camp is very informal and pleasant. Reading the reviews I expected just filtered water. But we were offered bottled water instead.

Sarah took good care of all of our wishes for activities. She matched us carefully with other guests in case we had to share a vehicle or boat. The guides Giovanny and Ali as well as Elton in the boat, were knowledgeable and eager to tell. It was a miracle how Ali managed to drive on the bumpy and winding roads and could spot animals and birds in the meanwhile.

The walks were short and we went very, very slowly, carefully watching the buffalo on the left hand side and the elephants on the right hand side.

Our tent was large, comfortable and excellently situated on the border of the lake. In the late afternoon we had our private game-experience, when giraffes, impala´s, buffalo and baboons passed our veranda on a short distance.

Lake Manze was an excellent start of our safari."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala Camp: an experience"

4 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2012
"Kwihala is not "just another" Camp, but has a special substance. It was perfectly managed by Steve, who was also one of the two guides.

Our tent was large and very comfortable, but had no view though. In this time of the year the grass was high and the trees had leaves. We didn´t miss the view, because we scarcely had time to sit on the veranda. We didn´t "spoil" time for relaxing.

The service was excellent. All of the staff took very good care of us. After one day I didn´t recognise my own drawer anymore: I found my clothes folded in neat piles.
The food was being served outside and very good, considering the facilities "in the middle of nowhere".

We especially enjoyed the camaraderie at the dinnertables with lots of jokes and laughter. The different nationalities mixed very well.

Steve was the most knowledgeable guide we ever had. He is very enthusiast and exploring, and eager to share everything he knows and sees. In the vehicle we often landed in the middle of detailled discussions about specifications of birds everybody spotted exept us, which is a very special experience for "non-birders".

The morning drives in Kwihala usually turned out to be long though - up to 8 hours-, which ,we thought, was very heavy. Steve couldn´t stop looking for another lion: maybe around the next corner? As we are not keen birders, Steve suggested that we changed vehicles (and guides) to the more relaxed Festo.

I´m sorry not having written in the guestbook, when we left for our last drive on the way to the airport. 6 AM is not my favorite time of the day. We should have been reminded to write the book the evening before, I think.

Kwihala was a wonderfull and special experience. We wouldn´t have missed it."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Walking in Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2012
"What can I add to all the reviews. Everything was excellent and we felt very welcome. Tinkling wineglasses in candlelight, good food and laughter at the outside dinnertable were a fantastic end of dusty and sweaty days.

We came to Beho Beho to walk. So we did ! We joined the Zebra, Wildebeast , Giraffes on the plains and Old Battle Fields, where we found a coin dated 1892. We met Elephants, Buffalo and Hippo´s in the bush. Onismo was a good companion, but, walking in front of us, he was the only one who had seen the leopard very close.

The bushcamp was splendid and a great experience which we can recommend."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangements

"review"

1 night Arrived 12 Feb 2012
"no comment"
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team