This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp


0°3’42.7"S 36°54’9.7"E

Reviews of Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ol Pejeta Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

50% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

50% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P
London

"Lovely Camp"

4 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2020
"This is a lovely camp, and I particularly appreciated the hosting by Alex Hunter, the ex owner who lives on site. With few other guests and no communal dining (due to Covid), as a solo traveler he was great company. He quickly identified me as a birder and even joined me on a couple of afternoon drives.

My guide Duma had exceptional bird knowledge, one of the best I've come across in East Africa. This was my first visit to Ol Pejeta and it's not the wildest place and hard to escape views of fences or buildings, but in these Covid times there were hardly any other vehicles around so we had all our sightings to ourselves.

Highlights included many rhinos and a couple of visits to hyena dens, one where the youngsters seemed determined to dismantle our vehicle. For some of the time, we used the camp's electric vehicle which was a first for me. Asilia are taking Covid protocols quite seriously, with separate dining and staff wearing masks." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

10 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs K.
Dakabin

"Ol pejeta Bush camp"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2018
"My first camp, and I was so excited. Peter the "leader", was great fun, and was very informative, the bush safaris were magnificent, we had two drivers, and both were heaps of fun, teasing us at dusk that we were lost, while we listened to lions soaring!!!! And their knowledge is phenomenal, of both the wildlife and the bush. And the animals, well.........the only one I didn't see was a leopard, and they were so upset they couldn't find one. I still can't remember the guides names, but they called other guides on the phone to find different animals, we saw a cheetah with 1 cub, she had recently made a kill of a Thompson's gazelle and taken it back for the cub as well, but all the cub did was swat it's ears, it was cute to watch.

We saw a herd of elephants with several juvenile of various ages, there were two young bulls who had a play fight, don't know so much about the playing, there was lots of trumpeting and clashing of tusks. There was also a baby that the guide said was only a week old, he could still walk under his mum's belly he was so small. When the herd saw us they immediately formed a circle round the baby to protect it. Once they realised we were no threat they allowed him out, if you can imagine this little creature, with a trunk he really hadn't mastered, he put his ears out, trumpeted, and ran toward us in a little charge, then he suddenly realised what he was doing and turned and ran back to mum, we just sat and laughed.

We went to the rhinos sanctuary where we saw the last two southern (I think) white rhinos in the world. Those two, although are of breeding age cannot hold pregnancies, for different reasons, so apparently they have retrieved their eggs, and already had seen from an unrelated male, and they are going to do if using a northern white rhinos as a surrogate. This will happen apparently in January.

We went and stood on the equator for the necessary photo shoot!!!

We had a black rhinos charge at the car, fortunately the guide saw him coming ànd went really fast away from him!!!!

The tent was cosy, with WiFi and good internet connection, and the bed was so comfy, I had to laugh the first night, I put My foot into the bed and put it on something warm, I got out of bed rather quickly to discover a hot water bottle, they were also provided on the early morning drives. The mornings were very cold and indeed I needed a good coat or you would freeze.

Breakfast out in the bush was great........a little un-nerving in case the odd buffalo or lion may be about, despite being told it was ok, I ate with one eye peering out. The food was good, different because it was sometimes native, but that was an interesting experience, I even ate crocodile!!!!! Yes it does taste like chicken!! My first night there chef baked a huge birthday cake for me with candles as well !!! Which was very thoughtful, and they all came out singing in Swahili which was awesome.

The boundary of the camp on one side was a river, the banks were too steep to see the animals drink, but buffalo walked past, a hippo, well he more plunked and shuffled than walked, Giselle, earth on,
We saw giraffe and I was able to see the difference in the markings between the Rothschild at giraffe manor and these guys who were common giraffe. I saw zebra, there were two types, which on a couple of occasions has interbred and gave birth to hybred, who are apparently sterile. The guides were great, if I mentioned I would like to....see, or do anything, they just went off road and did it, I wanted to see the river where the animals drank from, so he took me, The whole camp was amazing, such an incredible experience, you can't put into words the feeling of the place, it's so friendly, run very efficiently, and extremely eco friendly. Well worth coming.

I could go on for hours about the animals, and what it felt like to actually see them do things you've read about or seen on documentaries. I said to the guys I wanted to see a chase, but not the kill, and to see the animals after the kill, and I did, they seemed to go out of their way to please, and nothing was too much trouble." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr JS
Switzerland

"Great Safari Camp with Personal Touch"

4 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2017
"We (a family of 5) had a fantastic time at Ol Pejeta Bush Camp. The safari with our guide Yusef (very kind and knowledgeable), the lovely tents (everything you needed), the very delicious food (they could cater to all kinds of requests) but above all the fantastic personal touch of the owner Alex and his stuff made our stay a very memorable one. We also very much loved the breakfasts and sun downers out in the bush. The whole team really does everything they can to give you the best time ever." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs D
Worcester Park

"Ol Pejeta Bush Camp: my favourite"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2017
"Ol Pejeta campsite was enshrouded with a peace and quiet that I indulged myself in. My Guide and Driver were excellent and were obviously just as interested in what I had to tell them as I was in what they had to tell me and they were always eager to answer my questions. I could not have wished for a better Guide and Driver, in their company I felt as if I was out with Friends. All the staff were respectful, friendly and eager to help to ensure that I enjoyed my stay at the campsite and that I was comfortable and looked after. So much so that on my first night I found my bed not only had five blankets on it but also had two hot water bottles tucked away inside.

The night was accompanied with the noises of two local lionesses who prowled Ol Pejeta Campsite which was on their territory. There was also a resident Goliath Heron who paraded the opposite river bank to mine and even though he got to know about my camera and move away when he saw it I did get a shot of him standing in the sunshine with his wings spread wide open.

There were books in the lounge area, both fiction and non fiction, which I enjoyed browsing (this is what I missed in the other campsites) and in the same area there was a huge log fire to sit beside in the evenings.
The meals were mostly from a quality buffet which as an almost non-meat eater I prefer and 'seconds' were always available.

I enjoyed a visit to the rhino sanctuary and actually touched a rhino but, big question, could he feel my touch through that thick skin? We also visited the chimpanzees' sanctuary but, ashamedly, I did not find it so interesting.

During the afternoons the wind increased in strength and became very cold and from my first evening I was offered, and took, the seat next to the driver to make sure I was warm enough. That same evening there was a terrific downpour of rain which filled a lot of elephant wallowing holes ready for the next day. The rain also brought the elephants into the area.

The biggest prize in our game viewing was to see a bat-eared fox but amongst others I also saw rhinos, zebras, monkeys, giraffes and at last a betrothed couple of 'pink' legged ostriches.
On my second morning and for the first time I was able to see Mount Kenya without its usual shroud of cloud. I was honored!

At the end of my last game drive we saw the most spectacular sunset I have ever seen and there was no need for a drink, eats or a table to sit at. We viewed it from the vehicle and were able to drive along to different viewpoints. Artistically and visually it was superb but scientifically it was mind-boggling and something I shall always remember.

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is the site I would want to visit again, It was everything that I could wish for. It was the place where I was most content and hope to visit again." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The W Family
London

"OPBC Review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2016
"This is not a 5* hotel or an 'out of this world' upscale experience, nor does it seek to be. It is a Bush Camp. Having set that expectation, it is excellent at what it aims to deliver. Individual tented bedrooms are very comfortable and well finished (half a dozen in total). Showers are available in the en suite bathrooms within minutes of being requested.The one central building (the Mess) comprises a reception area, west facing terrace/bar area, sitting area with books and log fire, and dining area.

The food is excellent (head chef James), most drinks are free (including very acceptable Italian wines), all staff very good or better and all very friendly indeed (a credit to the manageress and to the individual owner), and the evening dinner party atmosphere all on one table most convivial and interesting. This Mess building is new and is only now being finished off in its details but that did not detract from the enjoyment of my short stay at all. Wifi available but sometimes patchy.

Within 48 hours, I had seen so many animals on safari including all the so-called Big Five (with all 3 species of rhino) (and I did not particularly target the five at all). I could happily have stayed longer but this was planned at short notice just as a couple of days at the end of a Mount Kenya trek.

Great suggestion for me personally by Expert Africa and many thanks indeed for putting it together with some road transport and a flight so quickly." See all these reviews: 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Compton Martin

"Ol Pejeta Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2016
"This was one of the two really outstanding places where we stayed. Alex Hunter (owner/manager) was an excellent host and was both hospitable and helpful, leading a superb team. Abdi was a knowledgeable guide and good driver. The food was excellent.

All very highly recommended. We felt really well looked after and hope to return again one day." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr P
Netherlands

"Ol Pejeta Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2013
"A lovely bushcamp. Beautiful location by the river with good views across the bank with enough tree shade. Very comfortable tents, the only bit missing is some storage space for your clothes. Very friendly staff, tasty food, excellent service, yet not stuffy but relaxed so that you feel really at home. Of course Alex the owner/manager is key to this.

We enjoyed our guide's companion, knowledge and dedication to conservation - many thanks Duma ( hope the spelling is right, it's cheetah in Swahili) . Speaking of cheetahs, yes we saw it twice, the only cat that evaded us was leopard. However, the aim for visiting Laikipia was the rhino, which we enjoyed plenty of. Certainly the bonus was the wild dogs - a pack of 10. Our second encounter with them was during an afternoon walk. What a sight! The Ol Pejeta conservancy offers plenty of wildlife, beautiful terrain, other activities to fill in your afternoon if you're tired from game drives - visits to northern white rhino sanctuary ( you can learn more by watching 'The last chance to see' with Stephen Fry) and the chimps camp- and plenty of awareness for conservation and sense for reconciliation between livestock and wildlife. The grass was just high enough during our visit, but it was really cold in the morning and the night. We survived, thankfully, with the loan of two extra layers by Alex topping our own 3 during the morning and night drives. Of course we ventured to showering only during the midday break. Be prepared!

Certainly this camp found its place in my heart - my son enjoyed also very much. After 4 trips in Africa and a dozen or so camps is surely up there with a few others. Small, comfortable, relaxed, enthusiastic and experienced hosts, great wildlife are some of its assets. Pity for those that like it fancy or luxurious as it may stay off their tracks." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-7 of 7
100%
7 reviews of Ol Pejeta Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Laikipia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia is the most luxurious tented camp of the handful of places to stay in the Ol Pejeta Conservancy in central Laikipia.


99% (39 reviews)
Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness is a rustic owner-managed bush camp, in excellent wild dog territory, offering outstanding guiding.


95% (17 reviews)
El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama is a comfortably rustic, very personal, riverside eco-lodge on a game-rich private ranch in Laikipia, an hour’s drive north of Nanyuki airport.


99% (14 reviews)
Sosian

Sosian

Sosian Lode is a distinctive, estancia-style ranch house on a former cattle ranch, with great opportunities for riding, relaxing and seeing wild dogs and other savannah wildlife.


100% (12 reviews)
Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness is a comfortable, fenced safari lodge with nine cottages, great views and a huge range of activities.


96% (10 reviews)
Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp is a comfortable and homely tented lodge, located in the Lewa Conservancy and offering a relatively exclusive safari away from mass tourism.


100% (5 reviews)
Borana

Borana

Borana is a comfortable and striking lodge on the Borana Conservancy in eastern Laikipia, offering pleasant accommodation with good food and service and a very wide range of activities.


92% (5 reviews)
Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

The community-owned Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge sits atop a small hill in the remote Il Ngwesi Group Ranch, a two-hour drive north of Lewa Conservancy in north-eastern Laikipia.


100% (5 reviews)
Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp is a small, simple, well established tented camp, with a keen focus on sustainable and low-impact tourism.


100% (5 reviews)
Tassia Lodge

Tassia Lodge

Tassia offers a unique wilderness experience in a remote location: come here for cultural interaction, stunning views and something a bit different.


100% (4 reviews)
Lewa House

Lewa House

Lewa House is a boutique safari lodge on a farm on the Lewa Conservancy, north of Mount Kenya


100% (3 reviews)
Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge is an exclusive and luxurious bush lodge set in the private Solio Game Ranch in southern Laikipia.


100% (3 reviews)
Sirikoi

Sirikoi

Sirikoi is a small, very high-quality safari camp with excellent service and food and a wide selection of activities.


100% (2 reviews)
Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris operates camel assisted, multi-day walking safaris from its main camp, Tumaren, set in a remote part of Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Sweetwaters Serena

Sweetwaters Serena is a large, older tented camp – the largest camp in the Laikipia region – in the eastern part of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy.


100% (1 review)
Kifaru House

Kifaru House

Kifaru House is a small, stylish safari lodge in the Lewa Conservancy, with beautiful views across the landscape.


100% (1 review)
Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp is a luxury safari base of tented rooms, ranged along a ridge in the Loisaba Conservancy, facing Mount Kenya. The camp was completely rebuilt in 2016.


100% (1 review)
Sandai

Sandai

Sandai is a pretty, owner-run homestay, set between the Aberdare Range and Mount Kenya, offering a range of activities at extra cost.


100% (1 review)
Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Starbeds is a simple camp of 4 rooms with pull-out, open-air 'star beds', located near a dam in the Loisaba Conservancy, in northwestern Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge is a charismatic and remote lodge in western Laikipia on the high, rocky banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River.


No reviews yet
The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille is an unusual safari lodge in northern Laikipia, consisting of three exclusive villas, and offering a huge range of activities.


No reviews yet
Thomson's Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge is a simple hotel dating back to the colonial era above the falls of the same name, just outside the western Laikipia town of Nyahururu.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa