This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J from Compton Martin

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

OUR AFRICAN EXPERIENCE

Kenya and 1 other country between 21 Feb 2016 and 13 Mar 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Inevitably it was a bit of a ‘whistle-stop’ tour as we covered a great deal of ground; however all the travel arrangements were quite excellent and our thanks must go to Richard Trillo of Expert-Africa for his advice and organisation; to Gaig Leshan Safaris for all their help; to Asilia Africa; and not least to Alex Hunter at Ol Pejeta for all his kindness and hospitality.

Without exception the management and staff wherever we stayed were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, whilst the standard of diver/guides was of the highest order.

All in all this was an outstanding trip in every respect. Thank you."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

"Ol Pejeta Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2016
"This was one of the two really outstanding places where we stayed. Alex Hunter (owner/manager) was an excellent host and was both hospitable and helpful, leading a superb team. Abdi was a knowledgeable guide and good driver. The food was excellent.

All very highly recommended. We felt really well looked after and hope to return again one day."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Elephant Bedroom review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2016
"This was the second really outstanding place where we stayed. Joseph (the manager) made us extremely welcome and runs an excellent outfit with friendly and efficient staff.

The location is superb - right on the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro river where the elephants come right up to the bedroom (however beware of the monkeys who steal the biscuits which come with your early morning tea if you don't get there first!)

The food was first class and Anthony, our driver/guide took us on three splendid game drives, using his expertise to find leopards each time.

Very highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Marsabit Lodge

Marsabit Lodge

"Marsabit Lodge in Paradise"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2016
"Despite my somewhat uneven gradings below, the lodge is really very adequate, albeit with limited facilities. I have stayed there on three previous occasions so knew what to expect.

Rono (the manager) & his staff worked really hard to look after us and made us most welcome. The location is beautiful - indeed Paradise Lake is well named - and one of the staff took on the role of ad hoc guide which he performed really well.

Don't go expecting 5 star comfort but to stay there in such magnificent surroundings is one of the great experiences of life and one not to be missed."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Oasis Lodge

Oasis Lodge

"Oasis Lodge, Loyangalani, Lake Turkana"

2 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2016
"We were the only guests and Patrick Rotich (the manager) and his staff made a huge effort to make us welcome. Oasis Lodge is well designed and truly an oasis after a long dusty journey.

The Lodge is well-located in Loyangalani and a welcome haven with a (warm!) swimming pool. We understand that Mr Leshan had sent the key staff all the way up from Nairobi especially to look after us. We greatly appreciated the friendly and hospitable way we were received and treated. Our only regret was that we were unable to stay longer; at least a week is required to be able to do justice to everything there is to be seen in this wonderful place.

To be well recommended; we hope to visit again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ngari Hill Ecolodge

Ngari Hill Ecolodge

"Ngari Hill Ecolodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Mar 2016
"Again we were the only visitors here and were really well looked after by Rudolf who owns and manages the Lodge. Indeed we were treated more like private guests than paying customers.

Sadly we were only staying one night, having arrived late afternoon and having to leave early the next morning; consequently we had no proper chance to appreciate all that the Ecolodge had to offer. Nevertheless we were given an excellent evening meal with very good wine; being most hospitably entertained by Rudolf afterwards - thank you.

This is a very comfortable place to stay and we can thoroughly recommend it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Lake Naivasha Country Club

"Lake Naivasha Country Club review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2016
"This is a well established Country Club with a sophisticated club atmosphere.

Comfortable with helpful staff. Very nice place in which to clean up and 'recharge' after a long journey around northern Kenya; but does not give much feeling of the real Africa.

Nevertheless it offered a bit of luxury in preparation for the second part of our travel.

A good place to explore the local area - Lake Naivasha, the Island Reserve, Hells Gate, Menengai Crater, Mt Longenot, and Lake Nakuru."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

"Encounter Mara review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2016
"A wonderful place to stay and from which to explore the fabulous Game Reserve, teeming with wildlife. The camp is most efficiently run by the delightful manager, Mariana Kathini, for whom nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we came away with the feeling that this was a happy and well-managed establishment.

The food was really good and the tents clean and comfortable. We were very well looked-after. Our driver/guide was Nabala who was both knowledgeable and fun to be with. Two nights is not enough; we needed more time here!

Very highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

"Kati Kati Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2016
"This was very much a basic ‘bush camp’, moving every six months or so, however there were no real problems. Difficult to compare after some of the outstanding camps we had already experienced. Nevertheless it was quite acceptable. A very good cook here who made the best soup I have ever had!

It was here that we picked up our driver/guide, Frank Mfuko, who was to remain with us for the whole of our stay in Serengeti and Ngorongoro. Once again he was a delightful traveling companion with a particular interest in bird life. He took great pains to position his vehicle to get the best photo's in terms of light and composition.

We were there for the great migration which was undoubtedly one of the highlights of the whole trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

"Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2016
"We chose this deliberately as the final place to stay at the finish of our trip, and we were not disappointed.

This a most luxurious lodge; the staff, food, accommodation and service generally were all of the highest order. The view down into the Crater from all the bedrooms was stunning and it was an unforgettable experience, with lions and buffalo right outside.

We had three nights here and the game drives were outstanding. Whilst it perhaps lacked the intimacy of some of the earlier camps (such as Ol Pejeta, Elephant Bedroom, Encounter Mara), it was a fitting climax to a wonderful three weeks in East Africa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team