This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia
Kicheche Laikipia

Reviews of Kicheche Laikipia

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Laikipia and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Laikipia.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

56% success

Wild dog

40% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

78% success

Hippo

20% success

Striped Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Ms B
Grapevine

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2017
"Kicheche Laikipia was our first tented safari. The location of our tent overlooked a small dammed area where elephants and buffalo came regularly to drink and play. Great way to spend the afternoon watching this from our front porch. The food at Laikipia was 5-star! Sonja and the chefs prepared meals that were very tasty and the presentation was impressive. Of course, the ambience of the dinning area with a fireplace created a warm and intimate dining experience.

The guides - Andrew and Albert - were very knowledgeable and Andrew provided a lot of insight into Kenyan culture as well; very interesting and informative conversations. We were told that the guides make a difference in one's safari experience and Andrew and Albert did not disappoint. Also, Andrew had a photographer's eye which was very helpful in for those of us who are not so expert at taking pictures." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M
Appledore

"Cosseted at Laikipia."

3 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2016
"Peter jnr. collected us from Nanuke and was an entertaining and interesting guide on the way to the camp. Andy and Sonja could not have been more accommodating hosts and made sure that everything ran smoothly and our every need was met. They and the rest of the staff took great pains to make Christmas special, with festive lunch under an acacia, staff singing and presents of fudge made by the chef. Candle-lit dinner in the evening. Game drives were always interesting, though not quite the same numbers and different species I'm used to in Zambia. Different habitat of course. It was a privilege to see rhino. Peter snr. was an informed and informative guide." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms F
HollandPark

"Kicheche Laikipia"

3 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2016
"Sonja and Andy were so very warm and welcoming.

We had an excellent Christmas there

The food was excellent" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr N
Corby

"Excellent safari"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2016
"Excellent food, comfort and service" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"Awesome tents!"

5 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"This was our first stay at a Kicheche camp and we were certainly not disappointed. The trip in from the Nanyuki airstrip is not long, and we were initially concerned that it would feel too close to town and not feel like we were in the wilderness. However, once we arrived at the camp, its setting feels remote and uncrowded. Managers Andy and Sonja are gracious and welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed dining with them at each meal. Sonja always joined us for lunch outdoors overlooking the waterhole, and Andy joined the guests each evening for dinner.

The tents are luxurious, with great lighting and ample hot water supplied even though the camp is very eco-friendly and runs on solar power. The charging station for our batteries is located in the lovely dining tent. The staff was attentive and helpful, and even the askari who escorted us to and from our tents after dark greeted us by name and asked after our welfare whenever we saw them. The camp does have an electric wire fence around it to keep the large game out, but we nevertheless needed guards to accompany us in the evening.

The food was wonderful, fresh, and plentiful and I'm sure that we gained weight during our stay. Sonja is responsible for the menus, and even has published a cookbook of some of the camp favorites. It was hard to pass up the delicious desserts that were served at both lunch and dinner! A variety of wines were offered each day, and we know that the kitchen is able to accommodate special dietary needs.

We stayed five nights and had Peter as our guide each day. He was quite new to this camp, but did a great job of finding wonderful things to see and we never felt crowded. In the Ol Pejeta area, the wildlife is not as plentiful as in some other areas we have visited, so the guides must work harder to find it. But our patience was amply rewarded with great sightings of cheetah, lions, giraffe, and of course, rhinos.

Rhino viewing is amazing in the Ol Pejeta area. We saw both Southern white and black rhinos, and visited the conservancy headquarters to see the few remaining Northern whites and heard the story of their attempts to save them from extinction. We did a morning walk there with a ranger, and then returned another day to see how they train the team of search and attack dogs that defend against poachers. We had the fun experience of hiding in the bush and being tracked by a bloodhound to demonstrate his searching skills to us.

We enjoyed this camp very much and highly recommend it." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Two Travellers
UK

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2016
"There was quite a cold wind blowing for the duration of our stay, which we felt may have contributed to the wildlife being rather hunkered down for a fair bit of the time, and certainly made for pretty dusty conditions. We were however very taken with the beautiful landscape and fantastic views of Mt Kenya, the Aberdares etc and managed to get some lovely sightings including a superb black rhino on our last morning.

The tents were very spacious and secluded, though certainly on the chilly side early in the morning and in the evening - the hot water bottles and blankets provided were much required and appreciated. Water flasks were supplied for drinking, tooth cleaning etc and the other non potable water for washing was very brackish (not so great for sensitive skin . . . ).

We found the manager Andy a charming and professional host (unfortunately Sonja was unwell during our visit and we did not get to meet her) and the food almost too plentiful; three courses at lunch as well as at dinner was a bit overwhelming even for us after a day or two! Special thanks however are due to the camp for all the efforts they made with a specific dietary request we had.

Finally we really enjoyed the short game walk we did and in particular our visit to the Northern White Rhino sanctuary which was a very nicely done and educational experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Ilminster

"It doesn't get any better than this!!!"

4 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2016
"After our slightly disappointing departure from Campi ya Kanzi, we approached Kicheche Laikipia with some trepidation. Any worries were immediately dispelled. We were met at the airstrip by Albert, who was our guide for the rest of the trip and proved to be wonderful.

Arriving at the camp an hour later, we were met by Andy who showed us to our beautiful lodge and sat us down with a drink to gently explain how the system worked and what was available to us. All the time sitting by their lovely lake watching an elephant walk by on the other side. Sonja joined us for a late lunch which was absolutely delicious and we received some good advice from other guests, suggesting half portions in future!

The game drives with Albert were wonderful, including breakfasts and sundowners, seeing lots of animals, birds and plants, all in beautiful surroundings. Albert was so considerate, always seeming to know where to stop the vehicle for the best light for photos. His knowledge and gentle humour totally charmed us for the three days we were with him. When he took us back to the airstrip at the end of our stay, he even insisted on staying until our plane took off.

Andy meahwhile, sorted out an itinerary for us, including a visit to the rhino sanctuary and a guided walk with Ranger Robert. At this point Russell developed toothache and we had to disrupt everything and be driven to Nanyuki for antibiotics, ;meaning that Andy had to re-organise our itinerary which he took in his stride. Nothing was too much trouble.

The food was fantastic, as was the attention to detail. William and Nixon, our two serving staff were so professional and charming as was our night security, Bernard. They all always had a smile and a chat and were interested to hear what we had been doing. Once the guests who were there when we arrived had departed, we were the only ones left and there was always Andy or Sonja waiting to welcome us back and entertain us with their charming stories at lunch and in the evenings.

Andy and Sonja are the most charming hosts anyone could wish for and their lovely, relaxed management style obviously engendered great respect and affection from their staff which was reflected in their wonderful treatment of us. We were sad to leave and will be back if possible." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R
Leicester

"Wonderful stay at Kicheche"

5 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2016
"The food at Kicheche is absolutely superb but I had to move to half portions and still ended up skipping one or two meals. Sonja's reputation as a cook is well-deserved but I couldn't do the food justice. The tents are huge and nicely decorated. All the staff were friendly and anxious to be of service and there were one or two lovely unexpected touches such as the hot water bottles when we went on a night game drive.

Also excellent is the resident guide Andrew (silver-qualified and thinking about gold). He added immeasurably to my safari experience; he was so knowledgeable about the birds and animals we saw. He was able to explain why an animal was behaving in a particular manner.

There were so many special moments; feeding the 3-month-old baby rhino, being surrounded by a pack of very curious Spotted Hyenas (including one who tried to eat the spare tyre cover), watching a pair of lions stalk and fail to kill a warthog." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms B
UK

"Kicheche Laikipia review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2016
"An excellent camp, very comfortable, excellent food. We really appreciated the flexibility to focus on game viewing. We had a very good bush breakfast every day.

Guiding was superb. Ol Pejeta is a lovely area to visit (especially the quieter western side where the camp is located). We saw few other vehicles and wildlife viewing was excellent and varied. It was also very interesting to see how the conservancy model operated. Bean bags in the vehicle for photographers were much appreciated.

The camp make a big effort to make your stay special with personal attention." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
SarahSW19
London

"Kicheche Laikipia - super camp !"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2015
"We really enjoyed our stay at Kicheche Laikipia.
The assistant manager - Andrew, made us feel very welcome and was very entertaining company at lunch and dinner.
The poor man even ate vegetarian meals along with ourselves . I felt very guilty and was sure he'd have preferred a nice steak or something.
Our guide was Onesmus .He gave us some amazing wildlife viewings including a lioness moving her cubs one by one !
Cheetah mom and two youngsters, hyena - babies with no fur , elephants - And of course rhino !
He really knows the area well and unlike many wildlife areas , he operated without the help of radio information from other guides.
We also met Sonia - one of the managers. Unfortunately we missed Andy (her husband) as he was not well when we visited.
( Hope he is OK now ?)
The camp is situated in the wilderness area of Ol Pejeta and benefits from having very few vehicles in the area which gives a wonderful "wilderness" feeling. The camp's vehicle can go offroad if need be - which can be helpful.
We had a night drive there , which I haven't done for years and was such a different way of seeing animals.
We also visited the East side of the conservancy , which is open to the public ( not that the West side is closed to the public but they don't maintain the roads or put up road signs - so drivers have to know the area really well to drive there)
We had excellent sightings in the East as well as the West however - so if you only visit the East you will see a lot.
Kicheche is a small camp of 6 tents - which felt a really nice size.
It overlooks a waterhole - which at the time of our visit was getting to be a puddle ! I hope the rains the following week sorted that out for the animals .
Nevertheless, puddle or not - many animals , including a herd of 11 elephants visited for a drink.
The camp has a low electric fence around it which keeps elephants and buffalo away from the tents.
Laikipia was a bit colder than I expected - we visited at the end of August and on our first game drive ( staring at 6am) I was wearing about 4 layers and was still cold.However , it was very windy - so that probably made it feel colder than it was.
Each day got a little warmer while we were there and if there is no wind it's probably OK.
As soon as there was no sun - it was cold . First time I've had a sundowner inside the vehicle :) Recommend bringing a pair of gloves.
As regards the accomodation - the tent was very spacious with wardrobe, desk,chairs and table inside . Chairs outside on the deck. The usual bathroom arrangement behind a screen and another wardrobe in there too.
Drinking water is provided in an urn in the tent and two metal water bottles for you to use either in the tent or on a game drive.
Good to see so many camps trying to discourage the use of plastic water bottles.
Lighting is solar-powered so rather dim ( bring a head-torch)
Hot showers are available in the evening automatically and at other times by request.
Hot water bottles in the bed and extra duvet and blankets available.
Food was amazing ! We are both vegetarian and were astonished each mealtime by the inventiveness of the chef.
I know Sonia is a foodie ( she revealed her addiction to recipe books to us) and many of the recipes are ones she has chosen.
We ate no processed food at all while we were there and left feeling very healthy indeed.
I did pack two chocolate bars in case I should feel the need for something sweet - but both bars remained untouched.
The presentation of both the food and the dining table would not have been out of place at a top London restaurant.
I would say that three courses at each meal was really too much for us and they could make life easier for themselves by doing a salad buffet for lunch and not bother with a hot course ( delicious though it was).
The dining tent had two long wooden dining tables in it and a fire at each end ( as well as one outside)
The morning game drives were marvellous and much longer than you normally get.
We tended to go out at 6am - have a picnic breakfast in the bush - return about noon - then lunch was at 1pm.
Tea and cake overlooking the waterhole and it's visitors at 4pm - then a game drive from 4:30 pm til 7pm-ish
Dinner was at 8pm or 7:30 if doing a night drive.
There is a small shop on site that I only discovered the day we were leaving. Bought a nice fleece, hat, tee-shirt etc..
The visit to the rhino sanctuary was really good and well worth doing.
I only realised as we left that nobody had asked for a donation.
I think we paid $35 each and obviously tipped the rangers too. They do a great job there and it was so lovely to see Sudan, Baraka, Najin and Fatu living in a lovely spacious enclosure under the African sun. ( Baraka is a local anyway - but you get the point). We didn't get around to seeing the chimpanzee sanctuary unfortunately ,due to lack of time - and we had seen chimpanzees both wild and in a sanctuary last year in Uganda. Sorry to Sweetwaters - maybe next time?
Poor Baraka had a microfilaria infection when we were there which they were trying to treat.
He is very happy for an old, blind rhino ! Loved feeding him alfalfa.
The whole experience was really enjoyable but over in a whoosh - so try and savour each moment while you are there.
I recommend downloading a map of the area too , as I had not realised how separate the camps and the sanctuaries are.

" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 37
99%
37 reviews of Kicheche Laikipia by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Laikipia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness is a rustic owner-managed bush camp, in excellent wild dog territory, offering outstanding guiding.


95% (16 reviews)
El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama Eco-Lodge

El Karama is a comfortably rustic, very personal, riverside eco-lodge on a game-rich private ranch in Laikipia, an hour’s drive north of Nanyuki airport.


99% (14 reviews)
Sosian

Sosian

Sosian Lode is a distinctive, estancia-style ranch house on a former cattle ranch, with great opportunities for riding, relaxing and seeing wild dogs and other savannah wildlife.


100% (12 reviews)
Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness

Lewa Wilderness is a comfortable, fenced safari lodge with nine cottages, great views and a huge range of activities.


96% (10 reviews)
Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp

Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is a simple camp, with comfortable tents, delivering an authentic wilderness experience backed up by good food and guiding.


100% (6 reviews)
Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp is a comfortable and homely tented lodge, located in the Lewa Conservancy and offering a relatively exclusive safari away from mass tourism.


100% (5 reviews)
Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge

The community-owned Il Ngwesi Eco-Lodge sits atop a small hill in the remote Il Ngwesi Group Ranch, a two-hour drive north of Lewa Conservancy in north-eastern Laikipia.


100% (5 reviews)
Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp

Porini Rhino Camp is a small, simple, well established tented camp, with a keen focus on sustainable and low-impact tourism.


100% (5 reviews)
Borana

Borana

Borana is a comfortable and striking lodge on the Borana Conservancy in eastern Laikipia, offering pleasant accommodation with good food and service and a very wide range of activities.


92% (5 reviews)
Tassia Lodge

Tassia Lodge

Tassia offers a unique wilderness experience in a remote location: come here for cultural interaction, stunning views and something a bit different.


100% (4 reviews)
Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge

Solio Lodge is an exclusive and luxurious bush lodge set in the private Solio Game Ranch in southern Laikipia.


100% (3 reviews)
Lewa House

Lewa House

Lewa House is a boutique safari lodge on a farm on the Lewa Conservancy, north of Mount Kenya


100% (3 reviews)
Sirikoi

Sirikoi

Sirikoi is a small, very high-quality safari camp with excellent service and food and a wide selection of activities.


100% (2 reviews)
Kifaru House

Kifaru House

Kifaru House is a small, stylish safari lodge in the Lewa Conservancy, with beautiful views across the landscape.


100% (1 review)
Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Sweetwaters Serena

Sweetwaters Serena is a large, older tented camp – the largest camp in the Laikipia region – in the eastern part of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy.


100% (1 review)
Sandai

Sandai

Sandai is a pretty, owner-run homestay, set between the Aberdare Range and Mount Kenya, offering a range of activities at extra cost.


100% (1 review)
Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris

Karisia Walking Safaris operates camel assisted, multi-day walking safaris from its main camp, Tumaren, set in a remote part of Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp

Loisaba Tented Camp is a luxury safari base of tented rooms, ranged along a ridge in the Loisaba Conservancy, facing Mount Kenya. The camp was completely rebuilt in 2016.


100% (1 review)
Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Star Beds

Loisaba Starbeds is a simple camp of 4 rooms with pull-out, open-air 'star beds', located near a dam in the Loisaba Conservancy, in northwestern Laikipia.


100% (1 review)
Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge

Sabuk Lodge is a charismatic and remote lodge in western Laikipia on the high, rocky banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River.


No reviews yet
The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

Sanctuary at Ol Lentille

The Sanctuary at Ol Lentille is an unusual safari lodge in northern Laikipia, consisting of three exclusive villas, and offering a huge range of activities.


No reviews yet
Thomson's Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge

Thomsons Falls Lodge is a simple hotel dating back to the colonial era above the falls of the same name, just outside the western Laikipia town of Nyahururu.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa