This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs HC from W London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Excellent

Tanzania between 1 Jul 2016 and 15 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We decided in March this year to try and go to Tanzania in July to see the migration - Expert Africa was able to make this happen at relatively short notice. The service both on the ground and by Expert Africa was efficient, professional and of a high standard

Seeing the migration and several river crossing exceeded our expectations - we had a wonderful two weeks!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Olakira

Olakira

"Felt immersed in the migration"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2016
"Nothing specific to add"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

"Wonderful"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2016
"Beautiful location, first class accommodation and excellent service.

Undoubtedly the best camp of the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Highlands

The Highlands

"Incongruous"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2016
"Although the overall quality was undoubtedly high, the style of the camp seems completely out of keeping with its surroundings. We have described it to friends as a cross between the Eden Project and a Swedish sauna.

Despite the wood burning stove in each room, it was bitterly cold at night....but the hot water bottles (as in each camp) were a welcome addition and much appreciated. Conversely, in the afternoon when the sun shone, it was baking hot.

The camp staff were lovely - friendly and very helpful - however, it was hard to compensate for the access road which was impassable whilst we were there (early July 2016). As a result, guests had to be taken a longer route to the camp which, in itself, was becoming impassable. This added about 50 minutes of very difficult driving to any journey.

The big positive was that the surrounding scenery ie the highlands in & around the various volcanoes - was stunning and we would never have seen this.....or the local Maasai inhabitants & their villages.....if we had stayed on or near the Ngorongoro crater."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's Camp

"Felt very special"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2016
"Although the tented rooms felt a bit basic, our stay here was a true highlight. This was down to our enthusiastic guide, Noel, but mainly due to Julie, the camp manager, who made our stay feel very special with some thoughtful personal touches. She was also very good company!

In addition, on our last day, we needed to visit the medical centre in Arusha to have some insect bites looked at as they had blistered and needed antibiotics - Julie was very supportive and helped make the necessary arrangements"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

"Stayed as a necessity"

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2016
"Perfectly fine for a few hours before our early morning flight home"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team