This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp
Oliver's Camp

Reviews of Oliver's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

48 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Oliver's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Oliver's Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

50% success

Hippo

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 48
Duration
Arrival date
Ms Heidi
Chicago

"AMAZING Camp, Staff and Safari"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Little Oliver's Camp was an unforgettable experience!! Upon our arrival at the Kuro strip, we were met with our guide, Habibu and Larazo (our spotter), we went directly onto our very first game drive. They had a delicious packed lunch for us to enjoy at a picnic area as we stared out into Tarangire National park and viewed the peaceful animals.

Upon arrival at the camp, we were instantly greeted by Julie, the camp manager. Julie is amazing! She briefed us on the camp and gave us all the importantant information as this was our first time ever camping or on safari. Our tent was incredible! We had the "honeymoon" tent which was incredibly comfortable and safe. The outdoor shower was unreal. To be outside, taking a hot shower and watching elephants in the distance is just unbelievable, somebody pinch me! We enjoyed drinks by the campfire and a delicious dinner with the group on the deck. We LOVED sharing our experiences with everyone and kind of eating dinner as a "family".

The following day, we enjoyed a walking safari, day game drive and a night game drive. All of them were beyond our expectations. The night game drive was incredible, we saw so many new animals that you would never see during the day. We loved it! Upon our return from the drive, we were whisked away to a private candle-lit dinner on our tent deck. We couldn't believe it! Our friends had also arranged for us to have a nice bottle of bubbles to enjoy the dinner. It was the perfect ending to the perfect day. Julie and the staff did a fantastic job surprising us and arranging this beautiful, romantic evening for my husband and I. We never imagined something so special in the bush ;)

Our last day, we enjoyed another amazing breakfast on the deck and a game drive on our way to the Kuro strip. Our guide and spotter were so wonderful at their jobs. They were extremely intelligent about the park and animals and really offered a wealth of knowledge for us. They even packed the safari jeep with our favorite beer! It was a great experience and really set the bar high as our first safari ever.

We were sad to leave Little Oliver's Camp, it was such a beautiful place right in the national park." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Seychelles; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Lauren
California

"Amazing Way to Start Our Safari!!"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"Oliver's Camp was the first stop on our safari circuit, and it did not disappoint. The location deep inside Tarangire was perfect, as it meant privacy and nobody else around.

The room was fabulous- the definition of safari chic. Olivers has gone to great lengths to give guests an authentic camp feel without sacrificing creature comforts- details like hidden outlets in the rooms, indoor and outdoor showers, bathrobes, really comfortable beds and pillows, etc. The room was amazing, but we didn't spend much time in it, since we were always out exploring.

We can't recommend highly enough the walking safari- Chris was our leader, and he's personable, witty, and he knows his stuff. Asilia would be wise to keep him around! Shout out to Victor as well, the ranger who kept us safe. Game drives here were fantastic, with great wildlife spotted on each drive. The night drive (also led by Chris) was fantastic, and we saw some great animals on that drive (hyena, cheetah, serval, genet, elephants, dik-dik) as well as wonderful star gazing. The walking safari and night drive aren't to be missed at Olivers.

Regarding the food, Oliver's did not disappoint. There was plenty of it, it was tasty, and nicely presented. We also enjoyed the evening cocktails and campfire. Every single person working at the camp was friendly, welcoming, and extremely helpful. All in all, we were very sad to leave here and hope to one day return." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Wales

"Best camp ever"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2015
"This was an amazing experience. The camp managers, Justin and Jackie were extremely welcoming and helpful. The camp was wonderfully laid out and we had a tent (although it deserves a much better description than this!) with a fantastic view and a great outside shower.

We did the walking safari and slept out in a fly camp which was probably one of the best experiences of our holiday - our guide was Blessed and he was fantastic. Also a lovely surprise on our last night to come back to camp (after a great night drive with Good Luck) to find our own private honeymoon meal ready for us.

I would highly recommend this camp to everyone" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Hants

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"We had a fantastic time at Oliver's Camp. The camp is superbly sited in Tarangire National Park and we had so many wildlife sightings whilst we were there, we were amazed at the number of elephants.

the camp is very well organized and efficiently run, staff are very friendly. The relief manager Michelle when we were there was excellent and ran a very tight operation. The food and facilities were equally good. The outside shower was fantastic, far better than the indoor one. We were in tent 7.

We went on a morning's walking safari when we were there and it proved most worthwhile and informative, Milton the walking guide was very knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Sand Martins
Oxon

"Amongst the elephants at Oliver's Camp"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2014
"This is a lovely camp in a remote area of Tarangire National Park, far enough away from the main entrance. We spent 4 very enjoyable days and nights at Oliver's.

Tent 2 had superb views over the river valley, and was excellent for sunset viewing. The camp managers, Justin and Jacky, are excellent, creating a welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Enthusiastic about the wildlife, they had rigged up two motion-sensitive night cameras in the camp, and it was fun to watch at breakfast the parade of animals passing through the camp at night. Our guide Emanuel was enthusiastic and knowledgable. Whilst the camp itself was free of tsetse flies, the last couple of kilometres back to camp were heavily infested.

All meals taken in the camp were excellent. However, the breakfast and lunch boxes for meals taken on drives were not up to the same standard." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Madison

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"We had a very good experience that the Camp. Accommodations were simple but conformable.

The setting was high on a bluff over looking the valley below fulled by many elephants. We enjoyed the camp fire in the evening and the "family" style dinners. The hosts were personable and professional. The bush walk was quite good, one of our high lights." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr A, B & B
San Diego

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2014
"Jackie and Justin were genuine, accommodating, instructive. Our guide Kevin was excellent and accommodated the biological background of two of three of us in attempting to show us everything possible. Marvelous experience. He sensed our sense of humor, which made our time together great. The one comment is a flat tire experience. In and of itself it was no problem. One of us is a very experienced field scientist so chipped in to help. It became evident that the rim of the tire would not fit the (new) hub of the wheel (by about 2mm). Kevin realized that the two front tires could be swapped out so all was well in the end with a two hour delay. This showed Kevin's keen ability to improvise but it also showed the need to check all equipment before departing." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Excellent base for Tarangire"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"Well managed camp, as were all the Asilia camps we stayed in. Good location, with views of game from the rooms." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Oliver's camp review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2014
"Oliver's was one of the best camps we have been in. The tents were easily the best designed we have ever stayed in and the situation was great. The communal areas and campfire were also great- even the local elephants thought so and joined us for lunch one day. The food was great and the staff friendly and efficient

Although the camp is Asilia owned and run we decided to use the camps own guides rather than the driver Harry that Asilia originally sent to take us around Manyara and Ngorongoro. The reasoning was that the camp's vehicles would be open and the guides would have up to date local knowledge of the area. The guide Oliver's provided was young but as good as our original driver had been. He wanted to extend his bird knowledge and so was an ideal guide for us- a hint- if you are interested in birdlife tell your camp and they will usually provide a guide with some interest in birds and who will drive a bit slower- you see just the same animals as everyone else but get to see the smaller animals such as mongooses etc that faster drivers miss- and moreover will try to keep you away from those other guests who tap their fingers irritably whilst you muse over little brown jobs." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Bantry

"Magic camp in all ways"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"We loved this camp and really enjoyed our time there. The food and service were excellent, everyone so friendly and helpful. In particular the walking safari should be on everyone's list to do once in a lifetime." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 48
95%
48 reviews of Oliver's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
38
9
0
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tarangire National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Little Oliver's Camp

Little Oliver's

For a more private version of its sister property, Oliver’s Camp, Little Oliver’s offers high-quality guiding and tented rooms.


98% (17 reviews)
Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire is a stylish tented camp, located in a quiet and remote area deep in Tarangire National Park.


97% (14 reviews)
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari

Functional Tarangire Safari Lodge is one of Tarangire National Park's larger lodges, on a prime central site overlooking the river.


94% (10 reviews)
Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge is a large, comfortable, family-friendly hotel in Tarangire National Park, suitable for travellers on a budget.


88% (5 reviews)
Oliver's Fly-Camp

Oliver's Fly-Camp

Get back to basics at Oliver's Fly-Camp, exploring Tarangire National Park on foot and sleeping out in the wilderness.


95% (4 reviews)
Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge

Lemala Mpingo Ridge is a stylish camp in Tarangire National Park, with a beautiful location and elevated views over the park.


100% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Kirurumu Tarangire

Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is a simple, small, tented camp positioned just outside the northern boundary of Tarangire National Park.


90% (2 reviews)
Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops is a lovely, high-quality lodge on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park, offering game drives, night drives and safari walks.


90% (2 reviews)
Swala Camp

Swala Camp

Swala Camp is a stylish camp for exploring the southern Tarangire, either with a private driver-guide, or using the camp's vehicles and guides.


100% (2 reviews)
Nimali Tarangire

Nimali Tarangire

Nimali is a small camp built in contemporary style on the outskirts of Tarangire National Park in northern Tanzania.


100% (1 review)
Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp is a family-friendly tented lodge located between Lake Manyara and Tarangire National Park.


100% (1 review)
Chem Chem

Chem Chem

Chem Chem is a luxury tented lodge on a private concession between Lake Manyara and Tarangire national parks.


100% (1 review)
Maweninga Tented Camp

Maweninga Camp

On an isolated kopje on the western side of Tarangire National Park, Mawe Ninga is an inexpensive, basic safari camp.


No reviews yet
Forest Chem Chem

Forest Chem Chem

Located in the Chem Chem Concession and close to Tarangire National Park, Forest Chem Chem is a high-quality tented camp which is booked on an exclusive basis.


No reviews yet
Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem

Little Chem Chem is a stylish option near Tarangire National Park, offering real relaxation combined with a variety of safari activities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa