This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr P from Altrincham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Twelve amazing days. We'll be back

Tanzania between 2 Oct 2017 and 13 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This had been intended to be a once in a lifetime trip, and we were happy to spend the money we felt would ensure a great time with a reputable company. Expert Africas advice and planning, coupled with the sheer professionalism and expertise of Asilia exceeded our expectations by a country mile. To be also paired with a guide for the whole trip who was experienced, vastly knowlegable and also an all round great guy was icing on the cake.

Apart from not seeing an Aardvark !, we saw everything we could have hoped to plus a whole lot more. All accommodation and staff was excellent and food and drink throughout was superb. Even afternoon downpours on our last two days could not dampen our spirits. Result..it wont be a once in a lifetime trip. Kevin informs us we need to return in March at some time and promises a completely different experience. We think we need to book him in advance !

Shirley has also decided she needs to stay at every camp Asilia manage. Simply amazing.

We've been about and done some great things but this was the best thing we've ever done.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

If theres anything I certainly cant think of it. Faultless. The whole trip fely blessed

Even the planes (QATAR by the way.. another Olivia brainwave) ran bang on time, and three of the four weren't full (I know even you guys couldn't influence that)"

Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Rivertrees Country Inn review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"Lovely spot, and a great place to catch up on a few hours sleep and relax before the 'hard work' started.

Accommodation was comfy and well appointed. Pretty grounds and great to add several new bird species and watch blue monkeys before we'd even set foot in a Landcruiser. Staff were excellent. Bar and restaurant area were certainly up to standard.

We only stayed one night, but this would certainly be a great location to spend a few days looking at Arusha and environs"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2017
"Wow. My wife was keen to see Tarangire and particularly its Elephants and Boababs. I was looking forward to the bird life. We were not disappointed and a walking safari the morning we left was a great experience.

The situation of this camp is fantastic. Decking for sundowners was lovely and the way the staff greet you and then involve you is lovely. The tents are really comfy and the beds great. Someone should find out where they source the mattresses. Our sleep was accompanied by a mother elephant and her minute baby munching an acacia tree about ten feet from our tent. Wish we could have stayed another night. A recurrent theme of our trip would be the outstanding quality of the Asilia staff in all the camps we stayed at.

We drove in from Arusha through the reserve and left through the reserve on our way North to the crater, stopping in at Manyara lake. Birds enough for any birder and a Leopard sighting (Lying on a branch alseep 10 feet from the roof) to boot. So glad we added this leg to our trip"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Plantation Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"This was proposed by Expert Africa as a great base for visiting the crater. We spent two nights here. To be honest we didnt look too closely at the details trusting Olivia to have made a good choice. Crikey. An amazing choice.

I'm sure we could have stayed somewhere less well set up, but having been here I'm not sure I'd want to. Simply amazing. Beautiful grounds, a lovely 'room' (Full suite would be closer). Staff were great and the restaurant is excellent. Met up again with a Swiss family who had been at Olivers on night 2. Far removed from the camp experience, but a very very pleasant interlude.

Trip to the Crater was relatively short allowing an early entrance and allowed us all day in there. An incredible place to visit. Hippos, lions, elephants and the usual plethora of antelope/beests. Watched lions tracking a group of buffalo, but in fact the only 'kill' we saw was a wart hog killed by hyenas (grisly but part of the experience) and the bird life was also amazing. Rhinos too far way to see from our vehicle (this is pretty much the norm apparently), but were able to spot a couple (specs admittedly) from the viewing area.

Geologically incredible place to visit, and fascinating to see a burnt out caldera, having been in an active one (Yellowstone) some years ago."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Big Cat paradise"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"We were promised cats and this camp did not disappoint. A great setting, and as we were already familiar with camp protocols it came as no surprise to find Dickson and his team were every bit as welcoming and efficient as Jennifers had been at Olivers.

Food and drink was universally great and they were keen to ensure I was 'tomato' free throughout.

Early starts with breakfast and sunrise were becoming part of our DNA and kevin proved to be phenomenal at finding the photo shoots. Cheetahs, Leopard and Lions galore.

Two days flew past, and we left with a slightly heavy heart, but we had more to see 'up North'"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olakira

Olakira

"Wildebeest and more cats."

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2017
"This was our last port of call and our third Asilia camp. This one, a mobile camp had tents that were slightly less equipped than Olivers and Namiri Plains. 'Bucket showers' sounded a bit basic but proved to be nothing of the sort. We'd been told by people that this was their favourite camp and looking out at the River in the evenings you could see why.

Goodluck and his team continued to impress, and Asilia's training is clearly top notch. Even a powercut did not stop them sorting out an al fresco breakfast with zero fuss. John the chef is a little genius.

Trips out over our two day stay revealed all the big cats, a 500+ wildebeest crossing and at last a Black rhino. Simply magical. Kevin simply continued to deliver

This camp threw up the only small criticism we could think of. For obvious reasons the bulbs are all light saving, and in main part of tent thats fine, but it would be better to have slightly brighter bulbs in the 'bathroom' area as the mirror lighting was poor especially for make up / hair manipulation in the evening when flaps and sides were down."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

"Ideal pit stop pre flight"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2017
"We spent three hours here prior to flying. The airport terminal was undergoing building work and proved to be humid and pretty torrid when we got there so having booked this proved to be a good choice.

Nice little pool, shop with a few nick nacks and bar with a reasonable snack menu. We got on what was going to be quite along trip pretty fresh, and certainly in better shape than we might otherwise.

Certainly a good idea if your wait at Kili airport is going to be protracted. Good spot Olivia. Thanks"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team