This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Rusty Hudak from Stow

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

6

Our trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 21 Jul 2019 and 2 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"I was absolutely delighted with the trip. The Expert Africa folks were all great to work with. if one person happened to be out of the office, someone else would respond. We never had to wait long for a reply through the planning process and all 'connections" and hand-offs in were seamless. You guys are true professionals.

The contractors you provided us with in Rwanda and Tanzania were equally well beyond satisfactory. I hope to go back someday. I hope you offer a discount for repeat customers as i would like to bring family members :)

Thanks much!
Rusty Hudak"

Feedback response

We are really pleased to hear that these travellers had such a good time! We really value repeat travellers and would always look at offering a repeat traveller discount.

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Mountain Gorilla Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"The staff was great and food was very good. The rooms were nice and plenty big. The only downside was the shower did not work well in our unit.

The nightly entertainment was very enjoyable"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Canoeing in Rwanda

Canoeing in Rwanda

"Canoe trip in Rwanda"

22 Jul 2019 • Afternoon excursion

We had a very good guide and it was a lot of fun. We had a total of 4 canoes on the trip. One of the canoes did overturn in an area where the water moves pretty fast. But there were plenty of guys who jumped in to help the people who had fallen out. It was definitely a nice trip and I would do it again
Excellent
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla Trekking with Jolie"

23 Jul 2019 • Morning excursion

We had to hike extra long because the gorillas were moving uphill and away from us. But in a way that made the experience that much better. But people should be aware the hike may not be all that easy. There was no real path in some areas and it took close to 2 1/2 hours.

But Jolie, the Porters, Rangers -> all good!
Excellent
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2019
"A really great hotel. We got there pretty late and had to leave early the next day so we did not had a very good chance to thoroughly enjoy it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mount Bisoke Trek

Mount Bisoke Trek

"Mount Bisoke"

24 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

All I can tell you is the hike is much more strenuous than moderate. It also had rained some and the trail became very slippery. Porters were a must.
Good
Olakira

Olakira

"Olakira"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"If you offered a better score than "excellent" I would have chosen it. EVERYTHING about it was first class: accommodation, people, food, food to go, guides, staff - everything!

If I ever go back, that's exactly what I would hope for."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

"Ngorongoro farmhouse"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"Very nice. As always, the food was very good and there was plenty of it. It's a very nice lodge, but compared to the others, it's just not as good"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Crater review"

30 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

Almost every animal we saw was at a long distance except for one lion that was very close to the road. And in that case, there were so many vehicles, it was not worth it.

I visited the same park about 30 years ago. I'll say it was better than, just because of the crowd this time
Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

"Lake Manyara Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2019
"Probably the nicest place we stayed, but without the character of a tent in the Serengeti. As always the staff was friendly and food was great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

31 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

I'm happy to say we were pleasantly surprised to see more animals than expected (both in variety and numbers). It's not Serengeti-like numbers of course, but good.
Excellent
Lake Manyara Treetop Walkway

Lake Manyara Treetop Walkway

"Treetop walk"

1 Aug 2019 • All-day excursion

Our itinerary had this as an morning event and back to Lake Manyara The treetop walk takes 20 minutes.

Fortunately we did the walk prior day and went to Tarangire Park instead. Lake Manyara is nice, but it's not a place you need to spend two full days. Luckily we heard good things from other travelers about Taragire and were able to book it. if you guys don't normally include Tarangire, you absolutely should.
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team