This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr P from Maidstone

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2015 trip

Tanzania between 6 Aug 2015 and 19 Aug 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was to be a special and rare trip for us as all members of the family were to be together.

In fact the trip met and even exceeded our expectations. We have separately commented between us that this has been the trip of a lifetime.

Many thanks to Expert Africa and special thanks to Ellie who patiently guided us towards the right destinations and the right places to stay. We are very grateful.

We look forward to talking to you again - sometime - about our next trip!"

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2015
"The choice of three different activities at Lake Manzie - game drives, boat trips and walks - make the visit here well worthwhile. There was a lot of elephant activity around the camp and the tents which created some excitement!

We had an excellent guide and driver for all of the 5 days we were there. He was knowledgeable on just about everything including birds that we were particularly interested in. We took half day game drives (excellent) which included bush breakfast, a full day's drive (perhaps only marginally rewarding although the lunch stop at the lake was superb), two boat trips on the lake (excellent), and a walk (really a nature walk taken from the camp which was informative but not a true walking safari).

Game sightings generally were very good - lions, elephants, hippos, buffalo etc - and bird life, particularly on the lake, was also good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2015
"Our 3 night stay at Kwihala was excellent. We were very well looked after by the camp manager and the staff and I can't speak too highly of all the guides. Our allocated guide was faultless and the other two guides, who accompanied us on our walk on the last day, were also extremely knowledgeable and competent. The whole experience was a step up from Lake Manze, but for us, still struck the right balance - not too plush, but comfortable whilst retaining the "bush" experience.

It was the attention to detail that was impressive - comfortable vehicles, excellent meals in the bush, and flexibility of activities and meals to suit our preferences. We had numerous sightings of lion and elephant, as well as good sightings of leopard on two occasions. Bird life was quite prolific considering migrants had not yet arrived and we achieved an impressive list of sightings with the help of our guide. We took half day game drives with bush breakfasts, evening game drives, a night drive and a walk.

We squeezed the walk in our last morning and this proved to be the best way to round off our stay - a proper safari walk. For this, we drove for 30 minutes away from the camp and then walked for over 2 hours with 2 very knowledgeable guides and an armed ranger. Altogether a great experience, and rates as one of the best in some 40 years of our African safaris."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Butiama Beach

Butiama Beach

"Butiama Beach review"

5 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2015
"Butiama proved to be the ideal location to wind down for 5 nights after over a week in the Tanzanian bush.

The hotel fronts onto a superb sandy beach, and includes comfortable rooms, a good swimming pool, and spacious bar and dining areas. The proprietor, Maura, was very hospitable, excellent fish dishes were served for dinner and Maurice provided arrangements for daily activities.

Our two sons took a 2-dive trip from the Big Blu Diving Centre. This was not successful - although both are experienced divers they had difficulty with communications from the divemaster and found that some of the diving equipment was faulty. As a result, they both only (partly) completed one dive. In recognition of these problems, Butiama didn't charge us for the dives. This was a disappointment because a reason for choosing this hotel was the availability of diving in the Marine Park.

We took two snorkelling trips from the hotel, both of which were excellent - particularly the second one inside the Marine Park. The snorkelling guide from the hotel was proficient and very helpful. We also took an enjoyable excursion to Chole Island, which was combined with a snorkelling trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2014 trip

Namibia between 26 Sep 2014 and 6 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have travelled with Expert Africa before and we were again very pleased with the service.

The information and documentation made available to us prior to departure was excellent.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I can't think of any necessary improvements."

Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2014
"We had visited Okaukuejo before and so we knew what to expect.

The chalet was excellent - clean, well equipped and well serviced. Although breakfast was adequate, service and quality of food at dinner were disappointing.

Also, we and others were somewhat frustrated that we had to pay separately each night for dinner - instead of signing each bill so that we could settle for the 3 nights as a single payment when we checked out from the camp. Arrangements for payment each night were slow and rather disorganised."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2014
"Great choice!

Very helpful and friendly staff, very comfortable room and excellent food."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"Great location and very helpful staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"The room was quite small with adequate but basic furnishings.

Tea and coffee were not provided in the room - only in the hotel kitchen.

We had to leave for an early flight before breakfast was served and although we had been promised a packed breakfast, this was not available on our departure."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Facilities
Average

My Oct 2011 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 29 Oct 2011 and 11 Nov 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Despite some of the slightly negative criticisms on the earlier pages we had an excellent holiday. All connections etc worked well, we saw loads of game and birds - which was why we went.

I believe we picked the right game parks - plenty of game but fewer people, which, again, was what we wanted.

Thanks to Expert Africa for helping to make it happen!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Can't think of anything. We were pleased with the service and information provided.

I've mentioned it before, and I wouldn't want to give the impression that these detracted signicantly from our enjoyment but tetses in Mdonya and the non-availability of walking safaris in Mdonya were slight "hiccups".

Thanks to Liz for all your help."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2011
"Overall we enjoyed the camp - the staff were exceptionally helpful. the land rovers were excellent, the tents were very good and clean, and the food was excellent. Game viewing was also excellent. However, we became conscious that the camp was located in or close to a tetse infected area. We accept that this can be part of a safari but we had no warning of this and a number of our party were badly bitten. This did detract from our enjotment somewhat even though we saw plenty of game including lots of elephant, giraffe, and lion and also saw leopard and cheetah.

I had expected walking safaris to be available but on arrival was told that this wasn't an option at Mdonya because they didn't have a permit. This was a disappointment. I believe other camps in Ruaha do have walking safaris available.

A particularly good feature at the camp was the option of short, half day or full day game drives where breakfast and lunch was well served in the bush."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2011
"Difficult to fault this camp - it was all brilliant. Particularly the options of game drives - in excellent land rovers and with very good guides - boat trips and walking safaris gave us plenty of variety. We had options of half day game drives with breakfast provided in the bush which was great. The rains had started early by the time we arrived but game viewing was excellent - particularly lion and wild dogs.

The walking safari guide was particularly good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2011
"Lovely beach and nice location.

We were surprised that the standard of the rooms varied - whereas some were adequately furnished, two other rooms were somewhat spartan, and relatively poorly decorated.

Management were very helpful but some of the waiting staff could sometimes be a little "off the pace". Overall we had a most enjoyable stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team