This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr K from Florida

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

My May 2022 trip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 26 May 2022 and 16 Jun 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"This started out as a once in a lifetime trip but as we travelled further in to Africa we decided we will definitely go back!!!!

I would have packed a little differently than I did. Taking 2 pair of thermal underwear would have been useful, as our nights and morning game drives were quite cold. We also had banking issues along the way. Even though we had given our bank all of our travel information we still had issues at ATMs. We should have brought far more cash with us than we did.

The people, the environment, and the animals were incredible!! Africa is something everyone should experience if they can.

We will go back!!!!!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None that I can think of."

Arranged By Maruska AdyeRowe


Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2022
"Very nice hotel on the waterfront. The location was perfect for our stay in Cape Town.

The staff was very friendly and helpful!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Cape Town area Full Day private tour

"Cape Town area Full Day private tour review"

30 May 2022 • All-day excursion

Our driver Ash was a wonderful tour guide on our full day tour of the Cape Town area! He was very knowledgeable and gave great suggestions to make our day even better.

We had missed Table Mountain the day before due to weather so he suggested that we try it first thing in the morning when the weather was supposed to be clearer. So glad he suggested that as we were able to fit that in as well!
Excellent
Image alt

Arathusa Safari Lodge

"Arathusa Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2022
"Our stay at Arathusa Lodge was amazing!! Our guide and tracker were simply the best and we saw the Big 5 and many others during our stay.

Jordan and Norman were so successful in tracking the animals we wanted to see, even the birds I had mentioned. The general staff was extremely helpful throughout our stay. We had heat in our room, which was very nice!! The only thing that could have made it better were the use of lined ponchos and bush baby hot water bottles on our morning game drives.

It was 4C and 5C on our morning drives and was hard to focus on the animals and scenery being so cold."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2022
"Staying at the Tongebezi was a dream!!

Our butler Jato took amazing care of us and provided for our every need. The food was delicious and we were treated like newlyweds even though we weren't!!!

We ended up sponsoring a child at the Tongebezi school because their program was so inspiring! The only downfall was finding a massive spider in our shower on the second night. I hate spiders!!!!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2022
"The view at Muchenje is stunning!!!

Our bungalow was also right next to a baobab tree which was beautiful!!! Kiddy and Toff were incredible hosts!!!! Our guides were so helpful and gave us so much information.

We not only saw lions, elephants, Cape buffalo and giraffes and we saw them in huge numbers, such a treat!!!!

Thankfully they provided 2 dinner entree options each evening. I can't do curry so I always chose the other option. The first night we had to kill 2 spiders in our room, not fun! The also provided warm lined ponchos for the morning and night game drives, awesome!!!

There was heat available in our room as well which really helped as all 3 nights were very cold."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"Splash Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2022
"Splash Camp was such a treat!!!

We arrived late afternoon and joined a game drive in progress. Almost immediately we saw a pride of lions with a male lion as well. The action we saw at Splash was amazing!!! Our guide KLB and Tracker Seymore were wonderful!!!!

I asked to see painted dogs as I had missed them at Arathusa, sure enough we found a pack that had surrounded a baby Koodoo in the water. Hard to watch, but incredible at the same time. Our guide also tracked a Cheeta and we followed it for nearly an hour, beautiful!

These were the first rooms without heat but the staff put bush babies in our beds each night which really helped. We were also provided with them on morning game drives, game changer for us!!! Lion in camp the first night, exciting and scary! Our guide also set up a private dinner for us on our last night, it was so special getting to know everyone !!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2022
"This camp was so different from any of the other camps/lodges we had been to.

I was actually surprised at how much wildlife we did see! The general staff was so friendly and welcoming! Our guide, Laps was so funny and knowledgeable. Our first sundowner he brought out a map to show us where we were in relation to the rest of Botswana. It was great getting a visual lesson on the area!

Very Cold nights once again, but the bush babies saved the day, or night as it was!!! Our tent was very comfortable and during the day we actually needed the fan.

The activities at Camp Kalihari are amazing, Quad biking, the Meerkat Experience and walking with the Sand people was such an incredible experience!!!!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff

"Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2022
"We were exhausted by the time we arrived at the Four Seasons.

The room was very comfortable and had heat, yay!!! We ate both our dinner and breakfast at the hotel, both meals were fine.

Gorgeous view of Johannesburg from our balcony!!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team