This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr R & Mrs M from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

33

Excursions taken

0

AFRICA 18 February and March

South Africa between 21 Feb 2018 and 24 Mar 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Another very successful trip to Africa. It was all a very interesting experience but it was so different from the Africa of further north with which we are very familiar.

We enjoyed everything, but the one thing that stands out is the charm, the efficiency and the helpfulness of all the staff everywhere. Well done South Africa! Come here and teach us a lesson.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

well done Tracy keep up the good work !"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel

"131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2018
"This hotel was only chosen as a stopover.

However it was a pleasant place to pass two nights in between flight and train. The helpful staff organised a trip to the Voortrekker Monument and to the Union Buildings.

This lifted our stay to a different level because of a very informative and charming guide."
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Image alt

Rovos Rail

"Rovos Rail review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2018
"Both of us were suffering from nasty colds during the journey so that may well have coloured our opinion as we were were not appreciative of either the food or the wine.

Everything was very well organised and the staff were friendly and could not have been more helpful, bringing us cold remedies and ginger and lemon tea. Although the train was very elegantly furnished and comfortable, we think the Eastern Orient Express was better.

The actual journey is not the most picturesque so we think we will give Rovos Rail another try and take the Pretoria to Victoria Falls journey next time."
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Food
Good
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

"Victoria & Alfred Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2018
"We enjoyed everything about our stay on the Waterfront, including the hotel, the restaurants within walking distance, and having the red buses to take us into the city and surrounds.

A highlight of the stay was a privately organised trip to Groote Schuur Estate which has been the home of many South African leaders since Cecil Rhodes. This trip was guided by a very knowledgeable guide called Najwaa Francke. I am this sure this visit would interest other Expert Africa clients interested in the history of Southern Africa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Abalone Guest Lodge

"Abalone Guest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2018
"Great location right on the cliff path.

It would have been even more spectacular if it had been the whale season.

Hermanus itself was rather anonymous, but we enjoyed walks on the cliff path and also three excellent second hand book shops."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"De Hoop Opstal review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2018
"Beautifully restored buildings, interesting coast line and birdlife all combined to give us a very enjoyable stay.

The staff were very helpful and charming and our guide on the birding walk very knowledgeable and likable.

The restaurant was very congested but we understand another one is under construction."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
St James of Knysna

St James of Knysna

"St James of Knysna review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2018
"Excellent hotel, although it seemed to lack the personal touch in comparison with other places, even the V and A where a personal touch would not have been expected.

We preferred the old part of Knysna town, particularly the three museums. Our visit coincided with a book festival where we attended an interesting talk about Smuts and Churchill given by Richard Steyn.

An unexpected mini “Hay Festival” !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Hog Hollow Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2018
"We had an excellent stay here which we wished could have been longer 2 days could have been 3 or 4 .

The staff were very friendly which seemed to be contagious as all the guests mixed and led to a party atmosphere. Maybe it helped that we were all Brits! It is a very good idea to provide an opportunity for everyone to sit round the table together.

Interesting walk to an amazing bird sanctuary and monkey sanctuary provided exercise and entertainment."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mooiplaas Guesthouse

Mooiplaas Guesthouse

"Mooiplaas Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2018
"Another excellent stay which could have been longer.

The farm tour by Koos was very interesting, as was the tour by Ben at the Show Farm.

Our own tour of the town was interesting and we really needed another day to explore the town and it’s fascinating history."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Montague Vines Guesthouse

"MONTAGU VINES "

3 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2018
"We stayed at MONTAGU VINES instead of GALENIA which had suffered a recent fire.

Lovely accommodation with very friendly, attentive owners. It was interesting to explore the town and then tour the Robertson winelands. In the evenings, there were good restaurants within walking distance.

Note that most of them have to be booked in advance which was done efficiently by our hosts."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Babylonstoren

Babylonstoren

"Babylonstoren review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2018
"Everything about Babylonstoren lived up to expectation except the food. Starters were light and delicious, but a lamb main course was tough and sinewy. After choosing pannacotta for dessert, a plate was placed in front of me with three scoops of ice cream decorated clumsily with shards of meringue. No explanation was offered and when I pointed out it was not pannacotta, the waitress agreed and removed it. A more senior waitress returned and again placed it in front of me saying that pannacotta was not available. I refused it. The attitude was that I should be appreciative of whatever was put in front of me.

I know that this sounds petty after the event and we did not complain to the management at the time, but it gave the impression that the demand for a table was so high that they didn’t have to bother. The restaurant was not full. The suggestion that one has to book 6 weeks in advance for a table in the restaurant may be wishful thinking. We successfully self-catered the second night with food bought in their farm shop !

Having said all that, our cottage was amazing with a huge bedroom, bathroom, sitting room and kitchen. We must also mention the amazing bookcase in our accommodation which was stocked with excellent books many by South African writers and this added to our enjoyment of Babylonstoren. The gardens were delightful, the buildings picturesque, and apart from dinner, we had a wonderful stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

"Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2018
"Excellent, very well run hotel with lovely rooms on a fantastic beach.

A place to relax, watch the bird life and walk on the beach, have a very good meal in the restaurant, then retire to bed, lulled to sleep in the glow of the wood burning stove! Not that it was really essential as the minimum night time temperature was briefly 14 degrees !

Very good restaurants within walking distance too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

"Cellars-Hohenort review"

1 night Arrived 23 Mar 2018
"This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

Immaculate, elegant surroundings which are given a very personal touch by very charming, helpful staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

South Africa, Namibia & Botswana

Namibia and 2 other countries between 31 Jan 2017 and 11 Mar 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great trip with a great variety of lodges. Twenty one stops in total .

Very enjoyable and effortless driving between lodges. We covered 5,000 km in the rainy season with no problems. The twin cab Ford Ranger was perfect.

The following will be especially remembered
Dabis for the interest and the enthusiasm of the owner
Wolverdans for the situation and for the charm of Thelma
Vreugde for the friendliness of the family
Mundulea for everything about it
Nhoma for the humour of the bushmen
Ngoma for the lodge its situation and management"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2017
"A very good hotel despite the rather cramped, suburban entrance. Lovely rooms, beautiful garden and good food."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

"Ndedema Lodge "

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2017
"An adequate place to spend one night. Rather a dark, dreary room with an attractive patio.

The stay was enlivened by quite a good dinner at a restaurant a few doors down the street."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

"Annie's Cottage"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2017
"A good place to stay for one night. Well-appointed room with place to park the car outside.

Friendly owner.

Excellent steak in town."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

other arrangements

"Norotshama"

1 night Arrived 4 Feb 2017
"Very attractive place to stop off. Good room, lovely setting on the river, friendly staff, good food."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon lodge."

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2017
"Very attractive rooms in a beautiful setting with well-kept gardens.

The Gondwana organisation knows its business with attention to detail and well trained staff.

Food perhaps did not match the otherwise high standard."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

"Dabis Guest farm"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2017
"We were disappointed that we could only stay one night here since we would have liked to see more of the farm.

However the owner was very enthusiastic and did his best in the short time available to describe the various projects operating.
As farmers we were fascinated by the farming venture.

Good food, delightful family."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

"Hotel Helmeringhausen"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2017
"We had thought beforehand that it would have been possible to spend more time at Dabis, and therefore less here. However that was not possible.

The hotel was adequate, but not the best place to spend a day !"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2017
"Fantastic place and "Terrible Thelma" an outstanding hostess.

Rather too much food in such hot conditions.

Limited activities so perfect just for two nights"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport."

2 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2017
"The entrance is rather unattractive, but once inside the gates things improve.

Excellent, very well designed room with a place for everything including suitcases.

Friendly, interesting hosts, good food and great walking.

Hosts deserve support because they try hard and farming is very difficult in the drought conditions they are experiencing"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

"Immanuel wilderness lodge."

1 night Arrived 13 Feb 2017
"Perhaps it was situated in wilderness at one time !

Now it is on the edge of an industrial area with the sounds of a forklift truck and angle grinder constantly in the background.

Adequate room with a ridiculously small bathroom.

Food was excellent but bar area was spoiled by a rather large dog running wild."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2017
"Fantastic tented rooms in a lovely setting. Excellent guides.

Food good except for one over-cooked fish dish."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2017
"Superb room and camp. Good food in lovely setting.

One day there seemed to be too many staff standing around doing nothing. The next day there were not enough.

We did not want to see the desert elephants, so there was not much to see or do. However we did go on the excursion to see the rock carvings."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

"Vreugde"

2 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2017
"Very friendly family.

Unfortunately It was raining while we were there so it was not possible to explore the farm.
Food very good in a very welcoming atmosphere.

We would like to return in the dry season."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Onguma"

2 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2017
"Beautifully designed place but rather incongruous in the surroundings. Rather too "flash" for Etosha!

Outstanding guide, David, took us for a game drive where we saw cheetah.
The next morning, we had a short but enjoyable walk.

Some kind of railing is needed around the outside deck of the main building.
Someone fell 10 feet off the deck."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2017
"We loved everything about this place. The accommodation is basic but comfortable and everything works.

Food was delicious, wonderful walks and excellent host.

We had an unforgettable experience watching a vet dart and tranquillise a giraffe, then remove a snare."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

"Roys Restcamp."

1 night Arrived 25 Feb 2017
"Good place for a stopover."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"Nhoma camp."

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2017
"Great entertainment provided by the bushmen who were eager to show us everything while laughing and joking all the time. The local guide, Freddie, was excellent.

The camp was in need of renovation. For example, our toilet leaked continuously despite three complaints to the manager. He had only arrived back in camp the night before we arrived, so there seemed little preparation for guests. The owner arrived later.

A memorable stay in a substandard camp. However the food was good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Image alt

other arrangements

"Wildacker"

3 nights Arrived 1 Mar 2017
"This was not booked through Expert Africa but we have included our thoughts.

Excellent accommodation in a lovely setting. Able to walk unaccompanied with no dangerous animals. Good hides for game and bird watching. Good food, good staff, friendly manager. He was inexperienced in the hospitality business and could do with acquiring more social skills. But tried hard.

This is also a hunting farm but the very high standard of accommodation and the ability to to walk in the bush without fear of dangerous game make it ideally suited to non hunting guests"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe."

1 night Arrived 4 Mar 2017
"Another Gondwana lodge. Excellent accommodation and staff. Better cook than at Canyon lodge."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu"

2 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2017
"We are not sure if the couple in charge were managers or owners. The lady was very friendly and helpful, the man was very off- hand. We had to ask both days for the "donkie" to be lit so that we could have hot water.

We arrived at midday, but were not offered lunch. Perhaps we should have asked, but we waited a couple of hours and then asked if we could have something to eat. We were given a packet of crisps. However when dinner was served in the evening, it was very good.

We were seriously outnumbered by the other German guests. We do not speak German, but the host made no attempt to make us feel more comfortable at the communal dining table."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

"Ngoma."

3 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2017
"Excellent accommodation, service, food and setting.
Although many activities were offered we were happy much of the time just to sit on the terrace and watch the animals below.

Judy, "stand-in" manageress was wonderful

A great place for our last few days."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team