This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Safari Lodge


17°55’2.1"S 25°49’9.4"E

Reviews of Victoria Falls Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

19 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria Falls Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 19
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs R.
Mount Vernon

"Beautiful Victoria Falls Safari Lodge"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2018
"Beautiful place, people very friendly and very organized. Everything was ready for us and they gave us an itinerary.

The staff left us a fruit plate and sparkling wine with a card to help us celibate our 25th anniversary.

Will come back some day." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Ms O
IOW

"Memorable time at Victoria Falls Safari LOdge"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2018
"After 9 days on safari we didn't expect to have one of our most memorable wildlife experiences of the holiday at this lodge. The location set high over the national park and overlooking the watering hole is stunning, with the watering hole being visited by a variety of wildlife. One of the activities they offer is a 2 hour session with guide Charles Brightman at the hide right by the watering hole, which we did one evening.It was an amazing experience with 2 crocodiles chasing each other right in front of the hide followed by a herd of elephants who came right up to the hide to use the mineral lick, at times just a foot away from the viewing gap. There was even a curious trunk that came through the gap checking us out.We spent about an hour watching the babies suckling and listening to the various snorts and trumpeting as they drew up the minerals - a breathtaking experience.

There is also a great opportunity to see rhino here by vising the private Stanley Livingstone reserve

The food at the lodge is excellent in the a la carte restaurant and if you are there at lunchtime do go to the Vulture Feed - you learn about why they are becoming endangered and are being fed plus it is an amazing spectacle to watch.

The rooms are comfortable if a little tired, but the experience is more than just a hotel to view the falls, so worth it." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"Great hotel given it's size."

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"This Hotel was much larger than the others we stayed in on our tour, the room we had was more akin to a house - a two storey lodge with lounge area, two loos and an upstairs bathroom and bedroom - all very clean and comfortable. We had a lovely balcony from which to sit and watch the amazing vista before us- bushland and a lovely waterhole.

The staff here were superb- exceptionally helpful and friendly; nothing was too much trouble. They helped with booking taxis and checking flights home etc.

The breakfast was incredible with a huge range of both hot and cold food on offer and the waiting staff were wonderful. We ate one evening in the restaurant and the food was superb; beautifully presented and of high quality. We loved the Vulture Conservation programme and watched the vulture feeding experience which was amazing. We did see some animals at the waterhole, impala, elephant, crocodiles and beautiful kudu which was unexpected.

We would be happy to recommend this hotel as a great place to stay with proximity to the falls and all that the area has to offer." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Florida, USA

"OUTSTANDING!"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
B & G
California

"Would stay again"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2016
"We had a great time here. Enjoyed the water hole from our room and friends m the restaurant.

The shuttle made going into town or to the falls a snap. We thought the vulture experience was fantastic--did it twice.

Had dinner at the Boma, which was touristy but fun. Who knew we could do drumming? The activities desk person was friendly, helpful, and efficient." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family G
Toronto

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2014
"We enjoyed VFSL and chose it on purpose as we had our three children with us. Great accommodation for families, view from the lodge, Boma dinner and so on. Hourly shuttle into/out of town worked well and the drivers were great.

We went to the Vic Falls Hotel for dinner one night (at the outdoor restaurant - the Jungle Junction?) which was great. I love the Vic Falls Hotel and would probably have preferred to stay there if it was just the two parents - mainly for the location with the view of the river/bridge and for the nostalgia for old colonial Africa." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Wokingham

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2014
"We had been recommended this by Expert Africa and by a friend who had vsiited some years ago, but it was rather disappointing.

We arrived at the hotel around 1:30pm after a long bus transfer. From that point just about everything went wrong in some way - rooms not ready, wrong room allocated, disappearing porters, lost table reservation, inedible food, incorrect bill, wrong time given for transfer to airport, etc etc. And the room was extremely tatty with damaged furnishings and decoration and poor security. A long list of items, each of which would have been tolerable, but it felt like a concerted effort to get absolutely everything wrong. Maybe we were just unlucky!

As we checked out, the deputy manager appeared and asked us if we'd enjoyed our stay - our response was cut short because we were rushing to get on the transfer bus which was nearly an hour before we were told it was due. We suggested to this unfortunate chap that he might read the customer service questionnaire in the room - and when we arrived home we received an emailed apology and a refund for all food/drink (which 3 days later has not been posted to our credit card).

The hotel is located out of town and looks over bush and a waterhole. This was interesting to watch but as we were only there for 2 nights we didn't spend an awful lot of time watching.

The hotel restaurant was simply awful - but the food and service in the Buffalo Bar (open until 6pm) was very nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Don't miss the vulture-feeding at 1pm. We enjoyed the visit from the 3ft long monitor lizard who climbed into our room, and the banded mongooses who seemed to live in a large drain pipe next to our room. BUT beware they do have a monkey problem (which they did forewarn us about) so make sure your room is secure against them.

We visited the Victoria Falls Park (US$30 each, by the way), and the falls themselves are truly remarkable. As it was the end of the rainy season the river was full, which added to the spectacle. For future visitors, please note that the falls send up a spray that goes way up into the air and falls on you like a rainstorm.

We booked to go on the sunset tour on the tram over the Victoria Falls railway bridge. Quite expensive (US$60 each) but very enjoyable. As I'm into trains I'd arranged in advance to go and visit the steam locomotive in the goods yard beforehand and they took us in the tram to the splendour of the Victoria Falls Hotel, ready for the sunset tour. As I didn't stay there, I can't review it, but it looked palacial.

Advice to future visitors:

If you visit the falls you are going to get soaked through despite waterproofs etc, so dress accordingly and take dry socks and maybe shoes etc in a plastic bag. There are towels at the parks cafe and some charming waitresses.

The sunset tram does take you into Zambia a bit but no stamps in your passport so the Yellow Fever vaccination issue doesnt arise.

Curio vendors, beggars, and street traders abound and can be a pest. How many times was I offered a Zim$1Bn bill for US$1? They would even accept your trainers, socks or T-shirt in payment. If you don't enjoy that kind of experience avoid the hotspots.

Everything in Vic Falls is expensive and priced in US$. This means that tips for restaurants, transfer bus drivers and just about anyone else with an outstretched palm can mount up, and your $US supply will soon be depleted. The Safari Lodge isnt any help in changing large denomination bills so I suggest taking at least US$20/day in single dollar bills.

You can buy Zimbabwe entry visas as you enter Zimbabwe. But its a mellee and despite notices warning that its an offence, tour guides are jumping the queue and hassling the officials so we waited an hour at immigration - and it probably wasn't as busy as it gets in high season. Our transfer bus driver told us that if we'd bought our visas in UK he could have got us through much quicker." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Ms C
Sacramento

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Kent

"Excellent facilities"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2013
"Nicely located away from the main town and backing on to the national park. There was a water hole viewable from the lodge, though it has to be said that game activity was limited while we were staying.

Our room was well appointed and staff were helpful at all times. The atmosphere was quite impersonal, due to high number of guests staying. Food at the restaurant could have been better, and was expensive. We had a much better experience when we ate in the bar on the following evening.

Overall, a good place to stay in what is inevitably an extremely touristy location." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Bucks

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2013
"The out of town location allowed us to continue to watch wildlife at the water hole from our room and the bar/terrace.

We made good use of the free shuttle bus into Victoria Falls town for our excursions to the falls, the tram across the VF bridge and afternoon tea at the VF Hotel." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 19
88%
19 reviews of Victoria Falls Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
8
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Conveniently located between Victoria Falls Town and the Falls themselves, Ilala lodge offers comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (222 reviews)
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa