This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Safari Lodge


17°55’2.1"S 25°49’9.4"E

Reviews of Victoria Falls Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

19 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Victoria Falls Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-19 of 19
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs P
Agde, France

"Victoria Safari Lodge Review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"A nice stay here, the falls are always fantastic!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
B-C Family
USA

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2013
"Nice place with view of water hole, though water hole did not have many animals. Good food.

Booking activities was easy, free shuttle down town. Though we would have preferred a downtown location." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K & Mrs B
Norwary

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2013
"We would love to come back to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge" See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Family A
New Zealand

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Dec 2012
"Loved the view of the watering hole.

The breakfast food was exceptional

The airport transfer was welcoming and Benji went the extra mile.

The adjoining rooms was a great feature for a family." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Croydon

"Very comfortable base for exploring the falls"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2012
"The lodge is excellent for accommodation, food and service. It is more like a hotel in the way it is run. Although it is a few kilometres from the falls, the shuttle bus provides a good hourly service, on one trip back to the lodge the bus was too full to pick up everyone at the last town stop.

A number of rooms, including ours, together with the main lodge (bar and restaurant) overlook the waterhole. While we were staying, there wasn't a great deal of activity at the waterhole except for vultures and cranes, but you are ever hopeful!

Both bar and restaurant served very good food, with pancakes (amongst lots of other nice things) for breakfast.

On the last night we booked for the Boma having been told it should not be missed. We found it a bit disappointing. It was about as different from a traditional boma as could be imagined. It was held at a building within the same complex as the lodge but with many visitors and tour groups from elsewhere. It was basically a huge cafeteria! We would have left immediately but decided to give it a try, although not relishing chosing our food in the semi-dark. We had the warthog, which was suprisingly good, along with the salads. After the food we were going to leave, but the entertainment came on and that was quite good (an opportunity for everyone to take part in communal drumming) bash a drum, so salvaging the evening. The idea of an African experience might have been good but it was on far too big a scale and expensive (US$40 each without drinks). Not recommended - eat in the lodge restaurant." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms G
Ireland

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2012
"large hotel which was quite different from all of the other small lodges on our trip. modern, comfortable facility. decent place to stay close to victoria falls. one night in victoria falls is plenty." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr T & Ms S
Germany

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2012
"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge is a big hotel built in the park itself. The rooms are facing a waterhole and the sunset, so a great view is guaranteed. We enjoyed the room and its facilities. The bar offers light lunch and we felt that the food there was even better than the one in the restaurant above. We loved the pancakes with the orange sauce for breakfast.
Even though the hotel is not in the town center, we used the shuttle service running every hour, which was very convenient. An activity desk service is available and we appreciated the good service there.
We felt that this hotel was the right place to end up our trip." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Washington

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2012
"We enjoyed our stay of 2 days/nights in the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, the room was well appointed with a view to the water hole way beyond, the staff was friendly, warm and efficient. We had our breakfast and dinners here for both days, and we enjoyed the inventive food with plenty of local specialities, particularly the lightly smoked duck breast with lichee and plum compote, the crisply fried Zambezi river bream and the tender and tasty warthog tenderloin.

The highlight in our opinion was definitely the location a bit outside of the town, which at first appeared to be a draw-back, but the quietness and the wonderful view from many parts of the hotel over the countryside and to the water hole beyond with the procession of different animals made this a very positive experience.

Day trip to Chobe National Park
We very much enjoyed this trip. Even though this was a day trip and all the viewing was during the day instead of the cooler hours in the morning and the evening, there were plenty of animals to see, in all our previous trips to Africa, we have never seen so many elephants as here in Chobe. The cruise was good, not too many birds but plenty of hippos (groups of up to 10) and families of elephants along the shore as well as bathing in the water. Furthermore, we saw cape buffalos, crocodiles, lizards, warthogs, etc.

The lunch buffet at the Chobe Safari Lodge situated right on the Chobe River offered a reasonably good variety of local specialities, our favorite was the tasty stamped impala.

We saw plenty of animals on the afternoon drive as well, particularly the ever-present elephants and impalas, but also groups of giraffes, kudus, warthogs, marabou storks, etc.

Overall a very positive experience, possibly the only criticism I would have that at times too many vehicles from the same company were at the same spot viewing animals, maybe a more timely phased departure of the vehicles from the lodge would reduce this bunching of vehicles." See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Hampshire

"Interesting and mixed experience"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2011
"We were concerned that the location, a couple of miles away from the town, would be a problem but the excellent free bus service proved invaluable. It was both frequent and punctual. It was great to be able to sit in the Buffalo Bar or the restaurant or by the pool and watch the animals coming to the water-hole.

Our room was comfortable with a limited view of the water-hole. It was a bit dark but had a semi-private balcony and air-conditioning. It also had a safe, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was clean and well-equipped.

We have rated service as average because it ranged from terrible on the first night to excellent on the second - after our complaint! On the first night we were asked to move, in the middle of our soup, to enable staff to re-arrange tables for a large party which had just arrived. Following this, we received very little service at all because due to lack of staff, everyone concentrated on the large party.

Two courses were missed out altogether and the other two took 2 hours! We spoke to a manager who persuaded us that if we came again the next night we would have a good table and excellent service. This proved to be the case and we had a very enjoyable evening.

Food was generally excellent but on our first night the steak was disappointing and the manager adjusted our bill to reflect this - after some persuasion! Food and service in the Buffalo Bar at lunch time was excellent on both occasions. Staff were particularly friendly and welcoming.

We enjoyed a lovely walk on our own by the Falls. It was good to be there again and see that it has changed very little apart from the entrance and car park. Afterwards, we walked back to Ilala Lodge and went in for a cooling Malawian shandy by the pool, which gave us a glimpse of what might have been! The sundowner cruise was a very different experience from our last one; the boats were very much bigger, there were more of them and a great many more people which indicates the improving level of tourism. This made for a rather less peaceful cruise but still enjoyable, with excellent snacks and drinks.

We used the attractive little gift shop and were able to purchase stamps there and post letters in the reception area. It is a truly amazing building which provides maximum viewing opportunities on many levels. The pool is beautiful and kept immaculately clean, with changing/shower rooms nearby. Television and internet were available but we did not make use of them." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-19 of 19
88%
19 reviews of Victoria Falls Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
8
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

Conveniently located between Victoria Falls Town and the Falls themselves, Ilala lodge offers comfortable rooms, a friendly atmosphere & great food.


93% (222 reviews)
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel in a convenient location.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just 15-minute's drive town.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Just outside of Victoria Falls Town, Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base to explore the area.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

In Zambezi National Park, Mpala Jena offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa