This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T & Ms S from Germany

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

1

My Jul 2012 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 3 Jul 2012 and 22 Jul 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We really enjoyed every day of our trip and appreciated the professionalism of Expert Africa and its team. We've been travelling a lot throughout the world and we have always organized our trips ourselves. This was our first attempt to use a travel agency, due to lack of time. We had sought many offers before we decided for Expert Africa and we do not regret.

We had a special vision of what we wanted the trip and accommodations to be and we must say that Sabina managed to find the right components. The highlight being Turnstone Tour to Sandwich Harbour. The most stressful part being the drop off of the car in Kasane.

All in all a wonderful, memorable trip."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2012
"Villa Violet is definitely a good start for a Namibia trip. It's not too far from the airport and easy to find. We arrived late in the afternoon and could easily walk to the next eating places. Heidi and Benoît are helpful hosts. We felt safe and in good hands."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2012
"Bullsport Guest Farm was our first stop on our journey.
For individual travellers like us, it was a bit unusual at first to 'have to' share the dining table with the hosts and all the guests and
obviously we weren't the only shy ones. After a while though and thanks to the talkative son of the owner, everyone started to relax.
The menu served was excellent and the familiar atmosphere made the whole experience enjoyable. We stayed two nights and actually kept in touch with some of the travellers throughout our trip.
The rooms were charming and very comfortable. We enjoyed the sunny terrace in front of our room, where we relaxed after a day hiking."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2012
"I remember the "Wow feeling" when we arrived at Desert Homestead. The view is fantastic and the lodge terrace is inviting. Unfortunately it was much too cold to make use of the lovely little swimming pool.
The bungalows have everything you need, except a safe (maybe because it's not necessary) and of course there's no TV (thanks God!)
The dinner was one of the best we've had during our trip. Because of the cold weather, the fire place in the dining room was lit and it made the evening really cosy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2012
"You cannot imagine what you will get when you first see the Central Guest House from outside.
First, it's the warm welcome of the owners, then it's the spacious, sunny and very comfortable room with all possible amenities (we got the family room). But the most memorable in this guesthouse for us, will be the breakfast. They serve among others excellent bread and a choice of very good marmalade, like the rhubarb one. The breakfast room is also inviting to a longer stay, as you get rays of sunlight directly through the big windows, which was really welcome in the winter time.
The guesthouse is downtown and it took us about 10 minutes walk to reach the ocean and the restaurants. We also walked back at night and we didn't feel unsafe."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Ernst: our favorite tour guide!"

9 Jul 2012 • All-day excursion

We enjoyed every single day of our Namibia trip but if you ask me, this tour was the highlight. Accountable for that is our guide: Ernst. He is not only knowledgable, he is passionate about nature and he could transmit this in such a humble way. What a great personality. It was a pleasure to listen to him and learn from him.
Excellent
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2012
"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a bigger lodge, catering big groups and it is lacking a bit of atmosphere despite its definitely interesting location in the middle of nowhere.
There is nowhere else you can eat, so you have to dine at the only restaurant and take the buffet. Although once for lunch, I asked if I could just eat a main course and they accepted. The staff is very keen to help.
We booked a nature drive tour, which they organised. The guide was definitely knowledgable about nature and we enjoyed getting some detailed information."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2012
"What a beautiful camp on top of a little hill! The idea of staying in the middle of an unfenced park is amazing. The rooms or tents are very comfortable and are tastefully decorated. Ours was viewing the western part of the hill, so that we could enjoy the beautiful sunset. To get to the restaurant after dark, we needed to be picked up for security reasons, as any animals could roam around...
We just stayed one night, which I think, is enough as a starting point to the Etosha Park. Unless you want to spend a day relaxing at the beautiful swimming pool, there is nothing else to do really up there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2012
"Okaukuejo Camp is like a little village. No familiar atmosphere. We stayed in a room at the waterhole which had a little back terrace, where we could relax in the afternoon. That was nice. Having the animals drinking just a few meters from us, was of course a great thing.
Considering the amount of guests, the restaurant is like a factory and the food is okay. The head chef greeted each table and I must recount that he was particularly helpful to us, when one evening my partner was stuck with fever in bed and the chef prepared a tray with some soup and bread for him.
The Camp has convenient facilities, such as one laundry machine, a petrol station, a post office and some shops selling good and useful brochures about the Etosha park (a detailed map with the names of the animals)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2012
"The Mushara Bush Camp was a welcome stop after the drive through the Etosha Park. It looks like it is also a good base for visiting the northern-east part of Etosha.
The rooms or tents are lovely and have everything you need. We arrived in the late afternoon and so didn't do much. The dining area was beautifully decorated and the food and service were also excellent. There were some families with kids who were well entertained."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Kaisosi River Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kaisosi River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2012
"The location of the Kaisosi River Lodge is its best assets. The lodge has a nice terrace facing the Okavango river. The room we had on the first floor was very big. We didn't make use of the balcony because of the cold weather, but it looked pleasant.
We had some problems with the water in the bathroom and the noise of the generator (installed by the government), but all these were quickly settled by the management. Luckily the generator noise stopped at night.
The restaurant offers an A la carte-menu and we must admit that we were disappointed. The meat was hard to chew and the salad had no taste. The food is definitely a minus point for this lodge, as even the breakfast was not tasty, which is difficult to imagine...
We booked a sunset cruise, where we expected to see some animals as well, but unfortunately in this part of the river, the animals have disappeared. So we enjoyed the beautiful sunset.
When we checked out, the machine for credit cards didn't work (that hadn't happened so far in our trip), but luckily we had enough cash."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2012
"The location of the Ndhovu Safari Lodge is great. We woke up in the morning and in front of our tent, we had hippos swimming in the river. We took our breakfast on the terrace at the edge of the river, with the sun rising slowly and the hippos still swimming. What a beautiful morning! The tasteful three course dinner was served on a long table where the owner sat and ate with the guests. It was a good opportunity to learn about the region.
We booked an evening river cruise with them and the local guide was good at finding animals and giving some explanations.
After I paid the bill, I unfortunately forgot my credit card there. The management succeeded in contacting us in our next lodge 200 Km from there and organized my card to be forwarded. That's service!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Mazambala Island Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Mazambala Island Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2012
"The way to get there by boat is already worth it. The staff is very attentive and eager to help: for example, when I forgot my credit card in the other lodge, they managed to send someone to pick it up at a given place.
The bungalows are simple but comfortable. The lodge has an open fire place which is nice to use before or after dinner. We enjoyed the food very much, as it was a bit different from what we got served so far and it was really tasty.
We booked an afternoon game drive in the park across the river, which we found pleasant, although not very informative.
As the lodge is alone on a tiny island, there is not much to do except relaxing, which we did plentifully on the tower above the restaurant.
The minus point for this lodge is the fact that you can't pay by credit card."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2012
"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge is a big hotel built in the park itself. The rooms are facing a waterhole and the sunset, so a great view is guaranteed. We enjoyed the room and its facilities. The bar offers light lunch and we felt that the food there was even better than the one in the restaurant above. We loved the pancakes with the orange sauce for breakfast.
Even though the hotel is not in the town center, we used the shuttle service running every hour, which was very convenient. An activity desk service is available and we appreciated the good service there.
We felt that this hotel was the right place to end up our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team