This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family G from Toronto

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2014 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 30 Jun 2014 and 14 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"EA did a great job of making all part of our trip work smoothly and integrate well.

The only wrinkle was that we were doing Namibia and Botswana, so we worked with two different team members at EA who had experience in each country in the earlier phases of trip planning (good), but neither of them seemed to take responsibility for the overall trip (the wrinkle) until we asked them to figure it out and put one person in charge of pushing things forward."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2014
"We really enjoyed Erongo Wilderness Lodge - the scenery, the walks, the guides, the dining room help, the privacy and remoteness.

The food was excellent and quite possibly the best of the several camps we visited in Namibia and Botswana."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2014
"A good spot in Swakop. Worked for us, but you need to know it is a few kilometres out of town to the north (which we knew in advance). We liked the safety aspect of this and the availability of parking on the property in an enclosed area.

The dinners are very good, although the decor was a little aseptic."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"We enjoyed almost all aspects of our visit to Kulala Desert Lodge although the activities seem to be excessively priced and the food was awful.

--> Of the four camps we stayed at in Botswana and Namibia and the restaurants we went to in the non-Safari part of our trip (Swakop, Vic Falls and Cape Town), the food at Kulala was close to the worst. It was the only place that I regularly passed on a dish or ate a fraction of the food. My kids seemed to think it was fine and ate without complaints.

--> We found the guide who took us into Sossusvlei to be fine, but he was fairly disengaged and only offered up any comments when asked specific questions."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2014
"Good spot for a stop-over on way in or out of Windhoek. Convenient to airport and we were happy to be there rather than in Windhoek. Neat to be out in the bush but near civilization.

The one surprising thing is that the website and marketing material suggest that there are activities and self-guided walks, but the attendant at the front desk gave a simple "No" when we asked if there were any activities that we could do."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

"Kwetsani Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"We very much enjoyed our family visit to Kwetsani. The hostess went out of her way to make us comfortable and our guide (Moya) was excellent. We saw a good amount and variety of game.

We enjoyed the motorboat rides to/from the islands for game viewing as we were keen to be on the water, not just on land, but a real water-based camp with leisurely water-based activities is not really feasible when tourists are rushing in and rushing out after two or three days. We had a brief mokoro ride one morning, but this was no more than a trailer to a movie.

One downside to the time of year we were there is the need to get back to camp via the boat before dark, which is a disadvantage compared to land-based camps."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"Our family enjoyed Lebala. Good variety of game. Neat to see a honey badger during the day (very rare, I think) and we enjoyed the wild dog pack and their puppies. Sorry not to see any leopards tho'!

Lots of elephant coming past and through the camp each day. The guides and staff did a reat job, but not quite as polished as Kwetsani."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

"Victoria Falls Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2014
"We enjoyed VFSL and chose it on purpose as we had our three children with us. Great accommodation for families, view from the lodge, Boma dinner and so on. Hourly shuttle into/out of town worked well and the drivers were great.

We went to the Vic Falls Hotel for dinner one night (at the outdoor restaurant - the Jungle Junction?) which was great. I love the Vic Falls Hotel and would probably have preferred to stay there if it was just the two parents - mainly for the location with the view of the river/bridge and for the nostalgia for old colonial Africa."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team