This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge

Reviews of Ilala Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ilala Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ilala Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Elephant

62% success

Buffalo

18% success

Zebra

9% success

Showing 11-20 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Peaceful haven in busy Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2019
"First visited in 2001, there is a whole new block of rooms in which we stayed this time, same high quality as the original hotel rooms.

A nice place to rest between safari camps, short walk to the falls and the bridge.

Shops are very touristy and nothing special, lots of begging and you felt a little uneasy if you ventured off the main street, there were guards and police in evidence.

Main drawback to Victoria falls is the constant noise of helicopters and microlights in the sky all day long

A highlight was the early morning breakfast cruise in the Ilala Lodge's own boat, lots of elephants, crocodiles and birds to see." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Edinburgh

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2019
"Amazing location, spectacular view of the Victoria Falls spray from our balcony, great room, well maintained grounds, lovely food.

Staff were very friendly and delivered a high level of service.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G.
St Albans

"Excellent location with helpful staff"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2019
"We stayed in the new wing and were very pleased with our choice. From our balcony, we could see mist from the Falls, the entrance to which is about a ten minute walk from the hotel. Our room was comfortable with a large bathroom. There is ample space to store cases, but no drawers and little space for hanging clothes. Clearly guests stay for just two or three nights and are not expected to unpack.

The dining experience here is excellent and very popular. Most people eat outside, but you can eat inside if you prefer. A pianist played inside the dining area each night we were there. Breakfast is a mixture of buffet and waiter service. There are a number of hot food options that you order from a menu, but there are also a number of continental items on the buffet. We chose to eat all our evening meals in the hotel and were very happy with that choice. During our stay, it was cold in the evenings and mornings, so mosquitos were not a problem.

If you have any free time during the day, there are plenty of loungers in the small pool area and outside bar. The hotel booked a number of activities for us before our arrival, including a helicopter ride. We found all the staff pleasant and helpful.

You can see both sides of Victoria Falls in a day, but we were pleased to finish our holiday at a relaxing pace and stayed at the hotel for three nights. When we stayed, the hotel had a package for guests staying three nights. In the hotel's restaurant we had one complimentary dinner ( food only) and a complimentary river cruise on the hotel's own boat ( price is usually $85.)

" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Mrs B
Oxon

"Excellent stay in all respects"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2019
"Lovely comfortable room, excellent food and service and friendly helpful staff" See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Oxforshire

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2019
"Very clean & comfortable, good restaurant.

Great location, a short walk to the falls. We didn't take part in any other activities on offer as we only stayed 1 night." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Picton, NZ

"Luxury Ilala lodge"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2019
"Very pleasant stay in this comfortable lodge that has a lot of character.

Very attentive staff and excellent food and service in the dining room.

The icing on the cake was a pianist to entertain us during the evening meal, absolutely wonderful." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
F family
Sherborne

" Ilala Lodge - Ideal for the Falls"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2019
"We very much enjoyed our stay at Ilala Lodge: easy ten minute walk to the Falls; comfortable rooms; excellent food; great service. " See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Hinckley

"Ilala Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2019
"Overall an enjoyable stay: room was comfortable, everything worked.. but it wasn't "special" - a typical decent hotel room. Swimming pool was cold (although I've known worse!). The proximity to the Falls - great for convenience - did mean that there was a fairly constant drone from overhead helicopters/planes etc. Staff very efficient/friendly/helpful." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dune lover
London

"Ilala Lodge Review - beware the baboons"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2019
"The hotel itself was well appointed with good facilities. The staff were helpful and the main rooms and dining area well decorated and well laid out. It was a short walk to the Victoria Falls and so the location was excellent.

The town of Victoria Falls has limited attractions away from the river and the Falls themselves. the hotel is surrounded by street sellers which made the walk to the Falls unpleasant and they were very persistent. Any street sellers we encountered in Namibia were always friendly and courteous and would leave you alone if you did not wish to buy. No such luck in Victoria Falls!

There was a waterhole in the grounds of the hotel and we frequently saw elephants. There was also a very persistent presence of Baboons! Never leave anything outside your room no matter which floor you are on!!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Berwick

"Overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 21 Apr 2019
"We only stayed briefly, arriving mid evening and leaving early morning.

It is a lot larger than when we last visited several years ago and consequently has lost its small hotel appeal. Staff very friendly and helpful. " See all these reviews: 17n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 11-20 of 220
93%
220 reviews of Ilala Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
153
57
9
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

With its unique setting, authentic style and excellent service, the Victoria Falls is one of the world’s most iconic hotels.


93% (140 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Victoria Falls Lodge

High on a plateau a short distance outside Victoria Falls Town, the comfortable Victoria Falls Safari Lodge overlooks its own waterhole.


89% (20 reviews)
Sprayview Hotel

Sprayview Hotel

In close proximity to both the town and the Victoria Falls themselves, Sprayview is a value-for-money hotel that offers a comfortable base and an on-site activities centre.


77% (15 reviews)
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp is a luxury tented camp in its own private concession within Victoria Falls National Park, just a 15-minute drive from the town of Victoria Falls.


94% (14 reviews)
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge is a small, friendly and comfortable option away from the bustle of Victoria Falls town, and a perfect base for exploring the Falls.


98% (13 reviews)
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Club

Situated just outside of Victoria Falls Town, The Victoria Falls Safari Club offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore the attractions of this region.


94% (10 reviews)
Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge

Gorges Lodge has spectacular views from its perch on the edge of the Batoka Gorge. Although it is out of town it isn't too far from the main attractions.


98% (8 reviews)
Old Drift Lodge

Old Drift Lodge

A lovely addition to the options in Victoria Falls, the stylish Old Drift has a great location in Zimbabwe's Zambezi National Park, with a range of activities.


95% (4 reviews)
Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands

Zambezi Sands is a stylish new camp with a range of activities on a remote stretch of the Zambezi River.


100% (3 reviews)
Little Gorges Tented Lodge

Little Gorges

Set high above the Zambezi River, Little Gorges Tented Lodge is a tranquil spot to watch black eagles and from which to visit the Victoria Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Matetsi River Lodge

Matetsi River Lodge

Situated in the private Matetsi Reserve, Matetsi River Lodge offers luxury suites, game drives and river activities within reach of the Victoria Falls.


100% (1 review)
Victoria Falls Safari Suites

Victoria Falls Suites

Just out of the town, Victoria Falls Safari Suites offers an exclusive, relaxing and luxurious base from which to explore.


100% (1 review)
Palm River Lodge

Palm River

Palm River Lodge's location on the banks of the Zambezi River offers a picturesque outlook.


No reviews yet
Mpala Jena

Mpala Jena

The intimate Mpala Jena camp in Zambezi National Park offers a luxurious but eco-friendly experience in a true safari setting, within easy access of the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Matetsi River House

Matetsi River House

Situated in the Private Matetsi Reserve Matetsi River House offers families and small groups privacy, game drives and access to the falls.


No reviews yet
Pioneers

Pioneers

Located in a quiet suburb of Victoria Falls town Pioneers promised a relaxed stay in one of Zimbabwe's busiest destinations.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa