This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr B from Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

Finally my Apr 2022 trip twice deferred due to COVID

Namibia and 2 other countries between 2 Apr 2022 and 26 Apr 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was a long time coming. I have been on safari several times and once before to Botswana My companions were newbie safari goers so it was really interesting seeing how they responded to the different locations and wildlife.

From the beginning in Windhoek to end at Stanley's camp our trip exceeded expectation. The only hiccup was in Swakopmund due to the weather and a health issue that was efficiently dealt with at a local Medical Clinic. Neither of these were in any way related to the organization of the trip by Tracy our brilliant Expert Africa organizational wizard.

The highlights of the Namibian section of the trip were Andersson's camp in the Ongava Reserve beside Etosha National Park. It was a true privilege to be so close to wild White Rhino. All three of us are keen photographers so the hide beside the watering hole was fantastic for capturing closeups of the visiting wildlife, including numerous birds. The second was Sesriem and the visit to Sossusvlei in the Namib-Naukluft National Park. We stayed at the Hoodia camp, outside the gates to the park which meant we were unable to see the sunrise at the dunes, however watching the changing light on the dunes as the sun rose was still a fantastic experience. This location was also one of the best for astrophotography - no light pollution, no airplane light trails and clear Milky Way shots over the surrounding mountains.

Next was Victoria Falls, we experienced two evenings of torrential rain and thunderstorms, which was very unusual. We still took some great shots of rainbows in the mist of the Falls and went on an early morning river cruise - a fantastic experience. When visiting the falls make sure you have good rain gear (you can hire some from the local pedlars at the gates to the Falls) you will get soaked when the Falls are in full flood - we had 90% capacity and the viewing points above #8 were like being in a shower.

Botswana was all about wildlife and lived up to it's reputation we saw all of the big 5 several times and had fantastic sightings of leopard and at Stanley's watched a pride of lions prepare for an impala hunt. We missed the event as we had to leave for the airstrip - it's impossible to predict what wildlife will do but it was a great way to end our last day on safari.

In the circumstances of this trip I think Tracy did a brilliant job of juggling bookings that had initially been made in 2019 to work in 2022. The only glitches we had were due to the companies Expert Africa work with and most probably due to the speed with which travel ramped back up after the pandemic."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 3 Apr 2022
"The Olive Grove is an oasis in the city.

The staff are friendly, efficient and very helpful. The location is great for accessing the exit routes from the city if you are on a self drive holiday. The food and wine are excellent and breakfast is particularly enjoyable eaten in the courtyard by the pool.

Lovely rooms with bath and separate shower behind bedding area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

"Andersson's at Ongava review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2022
"Andersson's is an outstanding lodge.

The location in the private reserve allowed us to see game we would have missed in Etosha National Park due to the recent heavy rainfall that had dispersed most of the animals across an unusually green landscape. There were many highlights, close encounters with elephants and white rhino - it was truly amazing to sit and watch a family of rhino close up.

The Lodge has a ground level hide adjacent to the watering hole that was excellent for watching/photographing wildlife. Our guide, Bono, was brilliant at finding both mammals and birds. The design of the expansive rooms is excellent and the swing chair on the deck great for relaxing and watching for wildlife. The staff at the Lodge were excellent and the food was plentiful with a good variety of dishes at diner.

A resource we felt was almost overlooked was the brilliant Research Centre, the display in the main area is excellent and very informative and we feel should be an important part of the experience at the Lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"The Stiltz review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2022
"Arriving in Swapkomund very different mist/fog/cold. The lodge is at the South edge of the town by the estuary.

We had a 3 bedroom lodge, the setting is fantastic, however be ready for cold and damp. The staff were friendly and the breakfasts excellent.

It’s possible to book local tours and get recommendations for local restaurants at the main office, both were excellent.

We enjoyed the Tug restaurant and would go again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2022
"Arriving in Sesriem back to hot, sunny, warm weather. The location of the Lodge is outstanding nestled below a low ridge of hills overlooking the Sesriem valley.

The rooms are well designed if a little lacking in storage space, with a large outside shower/bath area. The main lodge has a great terrace and pool area beside a small stream.

Meals are served in a dining area surrounding a central fire. There was a limited choice at dinner.

The manager/owner Thomas is very friendly and informative, and the staff are very good.

The sundowner experience is very enjoyable and the day’s excursion to Sossusvlei a must."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 14 Apr 2022
"see earlier review"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2022
"Great location very close to the Victoria Falls. The rooms are spacious with balconies overlooking a large garden area.

The large terrace area fronting the building has the restaurant at one end with pools for children and adults next to a bar area. The bar area was a great place to sit and enjoy a drink and take in the view.

The staff were friendly, efficient and the food was excellent. There was an activities office where we could book a number of different excursions. We took the early morning birdwatching cruise on the Zambezi which was excellent. A visit to the Victoria Falls is also a must."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

"Duba Explorers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2022
"Lodge is set beside a stream that floods with the annual inundation of water into the Delta.

The individual tented rooms are well spaced with outer decks overlooking the stream and at the time we visited a grassy area visited by elephants, eland and hippos. Breakfast is served as part of the morning game drive.

Evening meals are taken at a communal table on the large deck at the main lodge and there is a large fire pit to sit around before dinner and share stories. There is a cute plunge pool set up on the back of an old truck that is great for cooling down in.

Our guide, Zac, was excellent finding animals and birds. Excellent sightings of leopard, lion, giraffe and elephants."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2022
"The camp is on a small island reached by boat. The rooms were a good size and well designed. If you opt for the family room, it is really meant for couples with small children the second room has no privacy at all.

The balcony area of the rooms overlook a small lake and you can relax and watch the birds/hippos/elephants. Very attractive communal area, lounge with plenty of seating, an elevated library area, a fire pit seating area over water and a good curio shop. The swimming pool area is off to one side.

Food very good using local herbs and spices and introduced each day by the chefs.

Our guide Sam was a good spotter and we saw a good variety of game. Excellent birding with large number of species seen including: kingfishers, barbets, several species of eagle, woodpeckers, herons and water birds"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

"Stanley's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2022
"Camp well laid out with tents spaced out and central lodge area with dining area, fire pit, large lounge seating area.

The food was excellent and staff friendly and efficient. Our guide, Temo, was excellent and we saw outstanding game and birds.

Sun downers at hippo pools were brilliant and the last night we saw an Aardvark as we returned to the camp an amazing experience. On a previous visit in 2015 the variety of wildlife was limited, this time we had excellent viewings of lion, leopard, hyena, elephants, giraffe etc. One of the best camps for wildlife on this visit.

Did great short helicopter ride over the Okavango Delta."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A truly amazing Safari

Botswana between 28 Feb 2015 and 9 Mar 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was one of the best holidays I have ever taken, I thank Chloe for the choice of the camps and the itinerary worked brilliantly. i really enjoyed visiting the different types of camp and seeing (if only briefly) the different areas of Botswana. I know I will be back.

Even though I gave some negative comments, I truly believe if Vumbura renews the furnishings and improves their maintenance it will be a Premium camp. The location and wildlife were some of the best on the trip, also the managers were really trying to do their best in a changing situation in the midst of construction.

I don't intend to let the attitude of the managers at the Savute Safari Lodge affect my enjoyment and memories of the time I spent there, I met some interesting and friendly guests at the lodge and saw great wildlife and the third guide OB was one of the better guides of the trip. Travelling as a single person has it's challenges and I know that, it was the unexpected contrast with how I had been treated at the other camps that made it such an unpleasant surprise.

All in all it was a great experience and I would repeat it tomorrow if I had the chance!"

Kalahari Plains Camp

Kalahari Plains Camp

"A safari like no other"

3 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2015
"After a dry summer there was less wildlife than expected. Good sightings of Orynx, Kori bustards, Steenbok and Springbok with a quick sighting of the elusive honey badger.

Highlight the sleep under the stars, took advantage of this two nights and saw the Milky Way rotating over head. The main lodge is comfortable with a small bird bath and water hole in the distance so in between meals and game drives it’s an inviting place to hang out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

"Outstanding sightings at Vumbura Plains"

3 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2015
"Must have been outstanding when it opened now in the “shabby chic” stage. They are beginning to update the camp with a new boardwalk being installed and re-thatching the rooms. This is starting with Vumbura North so the South suffers from partial replacement work and less than optimal conditions. I’m assuming this is in part as the owners were waiting to see if their lease was renewed.

I would say the camp is now in the Classic category rather than Premium. Although the size of the rooms is impressive the fittings are dated and in bad repair (stained cushions, filthy outdoor furniture) and the plunge pool looked like a health hazard, stained and uninviting. It was also curious that at many times (afternoon tea especially) there were more staff than guests, yet when a thunderstorm rolled through it was one of the managers who came round to wind down the blinds (I couldn’t figure out how to do it as the mechanical winder was hidden away) so the room furniture, floors, steps and some of my gear was drenched, luckily nothing irreplaceable.

That said the wildlife is outstanding and our guide Ron was brilliant at finding the lions, we also saw leopard and cheetah as well as wattled cranes and a selection of raptors. Would highly recommend for the wildlife and I am thinking about visiting little Vumbura on a second trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

"Elephants at Stanley's camp"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2015
"Lovely setting, the rooms are not as private as some of the other camps as they are closer together.

Highlight definitely the morning with the elephant walk, and an evening ride in a mokoro. Wildlife limited however had a great time watching a breeding herd of elephants. The staff and managers were friendly and very helpful, with a great sense of humour, we had a great time. The meals were excellent with varied foods.

The gift shop was the best of the entire trip and it was a pity I was only half way thorough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

"Mixed experience at Savute Safari Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2015
"Started off badly, guide who met us (2 Germans and myself) acknowledged the Germans and ignored me. By day 3, I had been passed through 3 guides treated like an inconvenient parcel – I made it very clear I was unimpressed by this treatment and will not recommend the company, Desert and Delta Safaris, or the Lodge to friends and colleagues. I assume it was bad luck that I arrived as a single traveller at that particular time and hopefully others will not suffer my fate. The poor treatment was very surprising as at the previous 3 camps I had been welcomed and treated like any other guest.

The lodge itself and the rooms are excellent and the wildlife around the re-flowing channel varied and interesting. Just a pity about the management and unfriendly staff."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

"Mokoro rides at Xigera"

3 nights Arrived 11 Mar 2015
"Surprisingly low water levels as the summer rainfall was very sparse, resulted in no boat rides however the mokoros could still get through the waterways so a partial water camp.

Must be an excellent location when the waters are high, the wildlife was excellent and we saw the elusive Pell’s fishing owl. I would consider returning to see the lodge in it’s watery version."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team