This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr CB & Dr MB from Tring

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

The trip of a life-time

Namibia between 12 Sep 2019 and 1 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"What a great trip. Superbly organised by Expert Africa (thank you Tracy). It was well worth organising a private and exceptionally nice driver (thank you Ronnie) as we were able to cover an enormous distance in great comfort (an 8 seater Land Cruiser with A/C and a fridge just for the 2 of us).

We saw and understood much more by having our own guide than we would have done if we had guided ourselves. We were spared the problems of driving on relatively poor roads and the anxiety of coping with possible punctures and breakdowns.

With hindsight we wonder whether it was worth the very long journey to Fish River Canyon. Yes it was amazing but unless you have arranged to walk the canyon, you see only a limited part of it from the rim.

We also wonder whether an entire day at a diamond mine that wasn't working was worth the bother.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We think that your organisation and service was fantastic. Well done and thank you."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Great place to start"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2019
"A nice clean place with a very helpful land lady.

Her recommendation for local restaurants was brilliant."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2019
"We really enjoyed staying here.

It was obviously of some concern to the staff though that no photographs which showed animals in enclosures were taken. We're not sure why if everything was as above-board as it appeared to be!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2019
"Really nice camp with great staff. The swimming pool was impossibly cold (as were others in Namibia). You almost needed a wet suit to use it!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"What a great place to stay. The view from our room was fantastic. A pity that we didn't have the opportunity to visit the water hole that we could see in the distance.

Our room was amazing and we felt very pampered here.

The game drive was fine when our private driver took us but the driver that was provided by the lodge was poor. He appeared to think that he was in a formula 1 race (we had 2 such drives with him). Quite honestly we felt unsafe and certainly uncomfortable with him. We know that other guests in the same vehicle felt the same."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"Really nice lodge with great staff and an amazing view.

I'd like to stay there again and again!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"Pretty basic accommodation with a small room. Not much to say about it otherwise. It was clean"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"A really nice lodge with staff who really did to seem to care about their guests"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Nest Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"The hotel is right by the sea but pretty boring and in a pretty boring town.

The room was fine and clean and the food in the restaurant good. The pool was closed all the time we were there for no apparent reason."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2019
"A really quirky place to stay. Relatively small and basic rooms but quite adequate and with air conditioning that worked well.

A relatively simple and small choice of meals but well cooked. I would go again."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2019
"Amazing room.

The restaurant was average but adequate. Generally good service"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team