This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 51-60 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs N
Purley

"Great drives in the bush"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2017
"We loved this camp and would definitely love to re visit. The guides were very knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H
Leyburn

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2017
"We were in room 9, which is the mini suite, and quite different to the other rooms. We loved it and an excellent choice for a winters stay, as it had a fire place.
I've travelled in many safari trucks, and these had the least amount of room and were probably the most uncomfortable yet." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms F
Southampton

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2017
"This was a great place to stay and it was wonderful to be able to see wild leopards and cheetahs. The guide we had was excellent and the accommodation was great." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Vivonholiday
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2017
"This was stunning in every sense.

Rooms the best we encountered throughout, food incredible, service efficient though welcome could have been better.

Fascinating education / did everything we could in short stay there. Would happily return again " See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Jules & Geoff
NZ

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jun 2017
"Exceeded our expectations in every way.

The bush camp itself is comfortable and lovely but the rooms are fabulous - spacious, beautiful and very restful. The staff were absolutely excellent - especially our guide, Previous.

The cats were fabulous to track and spot and we saw some interesting aspects to how to manage these cats in a manner befitting rehabilitation and release. Good ( but not great) food but a sensational opportunity to learn more about the big cats in Namibia.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Cambridge

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 May 2017
"Very well managed game park. Maybe a bit "managed", but we saw a lot here.

We could just sit on the verandah and watch the wildlife passing by. Perfect!

Food was quantity over quality." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr D & Mrs C
Kent

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2017
"Drinks were actually included, when 'excluded' on the booking. A pleasant surprise.

A lot of people do one night only and they try to maximize the additional activities ( quite expensive).

Actually they have several bush hikes that are well marked and very pleasant if staying longer than one night." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
N & R
Essex

"A must do"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2017
"Our first great guide who made our experience of a fantastic place even more pleasurable.
Cannot fault it." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"First class lodge with wonderful wildlife"

1 night Arrived 3 Apr 2017
"The lodge and cabins are beautifully furnished and equipped but as we spent so much time on game drives we sadly had inadequate time to use and enjoy these wonderful facilities properly.

All staff provided a warm welcome and the trips were tailored around our party of 5. We got within 12 feet of leopard, 30 feet of white rhinos and walked to watch 3 cheetah.

There were also sighting of some game and lots of birds.

Dinner and breakfast was professionally served and delicious." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs S
Surrey

"Fabulous !"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2017
"We had been booked into Plains Camp & got upgraded , which was just great. Great rooms & loads of birds & 2 warthogs in our very own waterhole !

Two minor points -
1) why is there no water available in the lounge chalet where the coffee station is ?
and
2) for such a quality place it seemed odd that there was no choice on the menu (the portions were also a bit on the small side)

As we had been upgraded we had to pay extra for activities which I think are normally included (only fair).

We went on the leopard tracking which was great as we saw Electra. We also wished we had gone on the cheetah tracking - as we didn't see a cheetah in our trip.
The night hide visit was not so great - we saw 3 porcupines, who get fed kitchen scraps - they were already waiting when we arrived ; once they had eaten all the food they left & we were told that it was time to go. Very disappointing - no chance to see honey badgers or any of the other animals that it had been suggested we could see. I found the guide quite rude & did make a complaint.

I was surprised that the visit to the Africat centre was charged at $640, this seemed far too expensive so we declined .

It was nice to get out & go on one of the walks - great views of the reserve - but sadly very few birds (& no animals) seen.
" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa