This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms S. from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Fabulous

Namibia between 13 Nov 2019 and 26 Nov 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa were fabulous. An incredible trip was planned at relatively short notice.

We particularly liked the small details such as the travel pack that was sent ahead of the trip.

Thank you Sabina!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

"Lovely boutique style hotel"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2019
"Lovely hotel. quick & easy check in.

Friendly staff. Modern room. Great that breakfast can be ordered off menu.

Nice bar and restaurants on site."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Fantastic Stay at Hoodia"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2019
"Amazing welcome, staff couldn't have been better.

Beautiful décor. Little stay in paradise. Fantastic food. Great desert tour. Would highly recommend.

Nothing to do with the hotel service but one point to note, the 'entrance' gate listed on sat nav (and the map we were provided with) on the D854 is locked so the entrance on the C19 needs to be used."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

15 Nov 2019 • All-day excursion

Great guide.

Brilliant day out.

Fancy lunch for the middle of the desert,
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2019
"Great location. Felt safe walking to and from the hotel at night. Nice hotel, modern and clean (albeit some premature signs of ageing / poor cleaning quality in the bathroom) but felt quite corporate and impersonal.

Check in was quick and efficient and the member of staff was very helpful in advising on things to do during our stay. Breakfast selection was superb, loads of choice but I would have liked to have been able to order off menu. Breakfast drinks service could be improved as was slow and it was necessary to seek the attention of staff.

We were very disappointed with the view from the room. We upgraded to an ocean view room. Whilst we technically did have a view of the ocean, we had to look across the large car park and the glass roof of the restaurant to see it, which generally wasn't a pretty sight and not one I would have upgraded to had I known. Had very good food and service at onsite fish restaurant."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2019
"Very nice set up, fantastic views and great walks.

Service could be improved as this was the most poor accommodation service we experienced during our trip (albeit the other hotels set a very high standard). Breakfast was good, dinner food wasn't great. Dinner service was very slow. Dinner was served outside and it would have been good to have been given the option to eat inside as it was a bit cold (especially as we were waiting a while to be served) and it was too dark to see what we were eating (were told it was salmon, turned out to be bacon - luckily we eat and like both).

Tent was nice with a lovely private set up with lots of outside room, however the set up and in-room facilities are minimal rather than luxurious (albeit we had everything we needed aside from a hairdryer). There were supposed to be two lengths of morning walk available however, guests were persuaded to go on the short walk and discouraged from the long walk (which in practice wasn't really an option). Evening cave drive felt over priced (arguably should have been included in the accommodation price)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Loved it Here"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2019
"We stayed in the suite and it was incredible.

A stunning room and wonderful outdoor space. Great food, service and drive guide. Excellent day trip viewing the desert elephants.

Highly recommend and would have loved to have stayed longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"A Little Disapointed Until the Lion Sighting"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2019
"Overall had a good stay. Décor wasn't to my personal taste; it felt a bit unfinished and impersonal (lots of space with nothing in it). This was particularly the case in the room which felt a little like an oversized student accommodation / military camp room. However, the view from the room was incredible which made up for the poor inside.

The front gate didn't have our details so there were slight delays getting in when we first arrived. Check-in was quick but there was very little information provided. We were not provided with details of game drive so had to actively enquire about these. Dinner quality was ok but serving size was very small. Restaurant as so big there was no atmosphere.

All the negatives however, were compensated by the game drive. The guide was fantastic and spotted a black rhino and her baby. In the morning there were 4 lions viewed at the watering hole from our room. A little while later a male lion was spotted and a guide took guests on an impromptu drive to get a closer look, this was fantastic and much appreciated.

I think this is possibly usually a very good hotel and we just had a bad timing re: the service (which wasn't bad, just did not meet our expectations, lion drive aside)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Fabulous"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2019
"Incredible! Loved everything about Ongava.

Received a warm friendly welcome. Informative yet quick check-in. Amazing room with fantastic views close to the watering hole. Incredible sightings at the watering hole - including elephants and black rhino - and the hide is an excellent facility. Great food. Amazing service. Staff couldn't do more for us and even changed a flat tyre. Game drives were fantastic with a friendly knowledgeable guide.

Didn't want to leave, Would highly recommend."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Incredible Guide"

2 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2019
"Brilliant room - loads of space. Good food.

Guide was incredible (and also found my phone that had been lost off the back of the truck in the dark - absolute legend).

Well designed and decorated dining room / social space with lovely garden views.

Really good work being done for animal conservation.."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team