This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 61-70 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
A&A
Portland

"Okonjima Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 20 Mar 2017
"Okonjima was one of our favorite destinations. Lovely lodge rooms and lovely surroundings. Great staff, always helpful.

Outstanding guides who went out of their way to make sure we saw the animals on the reserve.

Couldn't have been better -- we highly recommend Okonjima. " See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Cardiff

"Excellent accommodation and game viewing"

2 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2017
"The stay at Okonjima was very enjoyable. The accommodation, meals and service were excellent. We particularly enjoyed the close views of birds and animals from our room - actually 2 rondavels, one a bedroom with large windows and the other a lounge area open below the thatched roof and supplied with seed to scatter outside to attract the birds.

We were a bit daunted by the list of activities on offer and the prices - there seemed to be an expectation that over the 2 days we were at the Lodge we would do 2 afternoon drives, a night drive, an early morning drive and a guided visit to the Africat centre.

We did one afternoon drive - wonderful close views of leopard and cheetah (for the latter we were on foot); the night drive when food scraps were put outside a hide to attract wildlife (though only a porcupine came foraging that night - but excellent views of this nocturnal creature); and a very informative visit to the AfriCat day centre. We also did two marked walks - one from the Lodge and one starting a few kilometres away. Neither yielded much by way of animal or bird sightings but gave us the opportunity to walk after a lot of time spent in vehicles and to see the plants and scenery close up.

The only drawback was that the walks could have been better marked - we lost the path on both of them!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B
Lancs

"excellent"

2 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2017
"What can I say it was ex in every respect and a total surprise
staff were ex
food was ex
rooms were amazing
guides and activities ex
wildlife ex" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mr A
London

"Excellent experience"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2016
"We loved Okonjima. It's on the way north from Windhoek to Etosha. The accommodation was lovely and we had giraffes outside our hut a number of times.

The service and general ambience in the main areas we great. Everyone was very friendly. Our guide was excellent and really tried hard to get us a glimpse (however fleeting) of a leopard.

We had a fantastic experience walking close to Cheetah and Rhino and then really enjoyed the AfriCat centre. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E & Ms S
Sweden

"Awesome camp!"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2016
"Awesome camp, with great food!

Excellent huts, should have spent 2 nights there if we had known better." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss M
Margate

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2016
"As much as I loved Onguma, our accommodation at Okonjima was out of this world - we had a separate open air living room and in our bedroom the windows opened right out and we were within inches of visiting warthogs and guinea fowl - at night you could lie in bed and watch various animals wander past - the room was so well equipped with everything thought of, it was heaven and I wish we'd stayed here longer.

We had lunch and breakfast here which were fantastic, however, I skipped dinner as I was ill, but they very considerately sent my dinner to my room. The staff were very attentive and friendly and there is a well stocked gift shop.

There's plenty of activities on offer here, but a major highlight was the leopard tracking and sundowner drive - we were incredibly fortunate in that we saw two leopards, one very closely with her cub - even our guide said he'd only seen one of these leopards twice in four years so he was also over the moon." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bruce
Harrogate

"Okonjima, a must!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2016
"Special visit and a memorable end to our three weeks. Fantastic staff andwarmest of welcomes. This place sets out to be good and achieves this in spades.

Angel the Manager was excellent and runs a tight ship with everything done to perfection. Attention to detail justifies its success. Helia his assistant must be mentioned too.

Game drives to see Leopards and Cheetahs fantastic and Previous, our Zimbabwean guide, a fund of knowledge about every aspect of the work of this big cat sanctuary.

The early morning walk to see the cheetahs hunting was a fantastic privilege.

Lovely people and lovely place with fantastic accommodation. A must go-to place." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Hampshire

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs T
Hampshire

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2016
"Always love Bush Camp,friendly,relaxing,great activities (leopard with warthog in tree/cheetahs with kill)" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SG
Cambridge

"Okonjima Bush Camp is amazing!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2016
"We are very pleased that Expert Africa recommended this to us. We had 2 wonderful days here. The thatched chalets are absolutely fabulous with a separate lounge chalet to relax and enjoy the birds and animals coming to drink at the little pool right outside. The food here was the best we have had in all the camps we have visited. The staff were all really nice and welcoming.

Our guide Daniel was excellent. He and the trackers did a great job finding a big male leopard called Nkozi, 2 pairs of cheetah and a pair of African Wild dog for us to track and watch.

On our evening visit to the hide we saw a family of porcupine, a honey badger and a brown hyena!

It was a bit unclear what activities were included and which were extras. We opted for a night drive on our last evening which we thought was included, but found out later was extra. Not a big problem but the paperwork we had in advance wasn't clear about this.

The stars here are amazing too.

The camp is in huge fenced area where you can walk on your own without the risk of meeting a predator. We were therefore able to walk the Dik Dik trail on our own to watch birds It was good to be out of the vehicle and stretch the legs! On our walk we saw black wildebeest." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa