This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Eve& Reuben from Bozeman

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

2

My Aug 2019 trip

Namibia between 24 Aug 2019 and 9 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"In arranging this trip your staff listened carefully to our expectations and wishes, discussed with us which places would suit and provided us with a comprehensive view of Namibia with so much of its variety and wonderful peoples.

The materials you provided added so much.

Thank you all!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Good place to stay"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2019
"A little hard to find on our first day in Windhoek, would have been easier later. We had a delicious meal at nearby Sardinia restaurant.

We felt the staff here was gracious and helpful, though refreshingly not entirely professional.

The shower in our room could be imp roved. Liked the view and the birds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2019
"Wonderful room. We felt the lodge was a little removed from its setting. Eve and I deliberately walk out across a swale to get a better sense of our environment.

A high point, indeed one of the many high points on our trip, was the “activity “ to visit the dunes at Sossusvlei. Not only were the dunes spectacular, our guide (whose name sadly escapes me) was extremely knowledgeable about the geology, the wildlife and the scanty history of the area. All of which he generously shared with us. On a human level, he rescued a family suffering from heat exhaustion and dehydration."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

26 Aug 2019 • All-day excursion

A high point, indeed one of the many high points on our trip, was the “activity “ to visit the dunes at Sossusvlei. Not only were the dunes spectacular, our guide (whose name sadly escapes me) was extremely knowledgeable about the geology, the wildlife and the scanty history of the area. All of which he generously shared with us. On a human level, he rescued a family suffering from heat exhaustion and dehydration.
Excellent
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2019
"Nice room, loved the sound of the waves, like seeing others beach combing.

Not particularly good on giving us directions to Wallis Bay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals review"

28 Aug 2019 • Morning excursion

Kevin was terrific. Explained the salt flats, its functioning, history, environmental effects and identified the birds there. And a little of the political situation, as only a native could.

And being with the juvenile sea lions was a real treat. Could have hoped to spend more time on the water, but Kevin very reasonably brought up the issue of not spending a lot of time with animals.
The kayaks and other equipment was very good.
Excellent
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2019
"When we arrived much to our joy there was a sounder of warthogs trimming the lawn just outside the dining room.

All the facilities here were first rate. The food excellent, the staff very accommodating.

We were excellently guided to see the painted rocks, their history and speculation on their meaning. On our night walk we enjoyed learning much about the geology and botany of the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
"An interesting lodge perched like a Scottish castle on the rocks. The food varied between as good as we experienced anywhere on our trip to better than just OK.

Seeing the desert elephants was interesting, but seeing how the locals were dealing with the drought was for us even more interesting.

A high point here was the singing as we arrived, as we were finishing our dinner and again as we were leaving. Could have wished more lodges did this.

(An afterthought. On our way to Doro Nawas you directed us to take route D2612. This road at the time was the worst by far of the roads of our entire trip, courduroy reduced our advance to a crawl. Later we found C35 no less scenic and much better. We found the Twyfelontein rock carvings most interesting and guide so well informed. Strongly recommend this to certain clients. The bing museum of Damara was good, the petrified forest and burnt mountain much less so.)"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"We loved Ongava lodge for the setting, the exceptional service, the great food and the animal activity at the waterhole below the open air dining room.

We liked seeing the lion pride with cubs eating a giraffe the the interplay. And the chance, albeit briefly, to see “wild” cheetah.

Guide was a bit disappointing however. Also our guide was not entirely credible, especially when he tried to tell us the stone tower at Okaukuejo was an ancient San prison!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2019
"The room was the worst by far off all we stayed on this trip.

The food was the worst too, and unreasonably expensive. The staff was uninterested in the guests.

The high point was being greeted by a troop of banded mongoose."
Poor
Location
Average
Food
Poor
Service
Poor
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Our favorite place, the place we would return to and take others. Good choice on your part for our last lodge.

Our guide Gerts (sp?) was the best. He listened when we said one of goals was to see a pangolin and took to 2. He gave a good tour of the care center (of particular interest Reuben for having worked for years in one the US), found a honey badger too, and was always good company.

He explained so well the problem of habituated carnivores, and demonstrated the concern when we fed two lions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2019
"Liked this place.

Glad to have spent a full day there when KLM failed to bring a plane from Amsterdam.

The staff was so nice, the rooms and shower very good. The food ok"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team