This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Edinburgh

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Namibia road trip 2019

Namibia and 1 other country between 19 Jun 2019 and 12 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Amazing trip which exceeded our expectations.

All the locations were great but each had their own distinctive feel and character. The landscapes were more impressive than we had expected and it was a real thrill to get to see so many animals and birds up close.

The people throughout Namibia were very friendly and the staff in the lodges were all very welcoming and made us feel at home. Even things like car hire went very smoothly, with great service from the Bidvest staff.

We highly recommend Namibia as a fantastic destination and will definitely be using Expert Africa for any other African adventures which we may have.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The only thing I would change would be to hire a Toyota 4x4 or double cab next time.

The Nissan X Trail wasn't really robust enough for some of the rougher gravel roads."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Friendly welcome and central location."

1 night Arrived 19 Jun 2019
"Good location, nice view of the city, very friendly staff, good breakfast.

We only stayed one night so can't really comment on activities.

Would be happy to stay there again."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Great desert experience at Hoodia Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2019
"Fantastic desert experience, remote location but not too far from park entrance for Sossusvlei, excellent lodge and chalets (including outdoor bath), very friendly staff who delivered a high level of service, amazing views of the stars at night from our chalet, best ever sundowner.

Thanks for getting our holiday off to a great start."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Relaxing stay at Cornerstone Guesthouse"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2019
"Great location, close to beach, restaurants, museums etc.

The rooms and guesthouse were very clean and tidy, there was a friendly welcome from all the staff, breakfast was good.

Good base for exploring Swakopmund and the surrounding area."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Great stay at Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2019
"Amazing location, really love the appearance and outlook of the main lodge, chalets were great, very friendly staff and great welcome.

Best singers on our trip and it was lovely to hear the local click dialect. Bush dinner was a great experience though the cuts of meat were not as lean as we expected. Having said that, lunch at the lodge was the best we had on the entire trip.

Game drive was great as well and amazing to get close to the desert elephants."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Great lodge, lots of animals to see"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2019
"Great lodge, friendly staff, lots of animals near the lodge watering hole (including a black rhino) and in the game reserve itself, could get very close to the watering hole at the hide but also great views from the lodge and chalets, spotted our first rhinos, lions and giraffes.

Food was great and lovely to eat outside at night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Lots of animals at Safarihoek"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"Great location for animals, excellent guide on the game drive, good food and friendly service.

The lodge and chalets were more like an upmarket hotel and less like the safari camp style of the other lodges. We preferred the style of the other lodges since they seemed more in tune with their environment but that's just a personal view. Others may disagree."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Cheetahs and leopards at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Fantastic opportunity to see cheetahs and leopards up close, lodge and chalet were great with each chalet having an additional separate mini-chalet as a lounge area and its own small watering hole which attracted antelope, jackals, mongoose and various birds.

There were also loads of fires and stoves in the lodge which were great when the night got chilly. It was also good to find out more about the excellent work being done by the AfriCat foundation and nice to know that our stay at the camp was helping to support the foundation. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

"Roy's for good vibe and bush babies"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2019
"Good location for breaking up the journey to Caprivi.

Accommodation was fine, staff were great, food was good and the whole place had a very cool vibe.

It was also the only place in Namibia where we saw bush babies so worth staying there for that alone. We would be quite happy to stay there again."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
River Dance Lodge

River Dance Lodge

"Great location over the river."

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2019
"Great location above the river, excellent staff, first sighting of hippos and crocodiles, lovely sunset on the river.

Rooms were lovely but could do with blinds on the glass doors in order to keep out the light in early morning.

Also a bit noisy in the early morning when staff arrived at the lodge."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

"Amazing treetop location."

3 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2019
"Amazing location, lovely lodge and chalets located in the trees, fantastic staff, excellent guide and game drives.

Lots of animals near the lodge and in the reserve itself. Highly recommended - would definitely return to Nambwa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serondela Lodge

Serondela Lodge

"Back to nature at Serondela Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2019
"Fantastic location, wide open landscape, amazing views in all directions, no other lodges anywhere near us, (including outside our front door one morning!), herds of buffalo, loads of hippos, lots of other game in Chobe national park.

Great sundowner cruise - lots of birds, hippos, giraffes and a whole herd of elephants cross the river beside us. The lodge has a nice laid back vibe and you really feel quite close to nature. Everyone very friendly and it was great to have the local rangers as our guides on the river trips.

Can also highly recommend the game drive in Chobe national park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2019
"Amazing location, spectacular view of the Victoria Falls spray from our balcony, great room, well maintained grounds, lovely food.

Staff were very friendly and delivered a high level of service.

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team