This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Louise & David from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful memories of an awesome adventure!

Namibia and 2 other countries between 4 Oct 2019 and 21 Oct 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"A fantastic experience.

Enjoyed our days driving in Namibia, seeing the very dry terrain which was so different from when we last visited in April 2018. The lodges where we stayed were very good, the wildlife we saw exceptionally varied, and the people we met were a delight.

Cape Town was crazy busy, fun, very different to when we last visited 22 years ago and the whale watching in Hermanus was well worth a day trip. Our favourite activity was visiting Kirstenbosch and seeing the proteas.
The Okavango Delta in Botswana and Shinde in particular was the icing on the cake and probably the best African experience we have ever had, and we’ve had 7 trips to Africa over the years, so that’s praise indeed!

First time we've used Expert Africa and we are well-impressed. Thank you Megan for listening to what we wanted and helping us to make the choices, it was a perfect holiday - no, a perfect ADVENTURE!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Great overnight stay at Villa Violet"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"Lovely little guest house for a first night’s stay and rest after the long haul flight from the UK. Good-sized bedroom with en-suite, plug sockets for charging phone etc, free WiFi, quiet area of Windhoek but close (walking distance).

Owners were away when we stayed but all the staff were helpful and welcoming. Excellent early breakfast, fresh fruits and juices, cereals, cooked breakfast. Complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits available all day in the lounge area. Our hire car was delivered to the Villa where there was ample secure parking. Within walking distance of two good restaurants, taxied back when it was dark.

Would stay here again."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Beautiful Lodge in a stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"EWL took our breath away! Comfy tented chalets set apart from each other on different levels along attractive walkways and surrounded by the Erongo mountains. Lots of steps up to very attractive main lounge, dining area and pool so need to be reasonably mobile.

With a Guide we did a late afternoon walk, which we found a bit of a challenge but thoroughly enjoyed, to see the cave paintings followed by sundowners which were very welcome as it was still quite hot. On our second day we did an easy early morning 2 hr walk, again with a Guide, to explore the beautiful mountain area and learn about the plants and trees.

Food and service was excellent, great choices, lots of fresh produce and a camp fire to sit by after our evening meal whilst we watched the stars.

We saw lots of birds at Erongo which was an area of particular interest for me."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge for best rhino sightings"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"A lovely first wildlife sighting as on our first night at midnight I woke to hear rustling noises and saw the shape of a giraffe just the other side of our balcony, 5m from our bed - I watched it browse on the leaves of a tree for some while, magical! I had to wake my partner as he would never have believed me the next morning!

We loved this lodge for the amount of wildlife sightings and the stunning, beautifully laid-out communal area with perfectly positioned seating areas overlooking a well-frequented waterhole. The large and comfy Hide was a bonus and we were lucky enough to have it to ourself on each occasion we spent time there photographing the animals, particularly various antelopes and oryx, zebra and giraffe coming down to drink. Whilst we couldn’t fault the service, the food and game drives we found the staff were efficient and polite but more formal and not as friendly or as engaged as other places we stayed, possibly because it is larger, although not full when we were there. Having said that we had a really great stay here and thoroughly enjoyed the game drives with the very well-informed Guides."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Ideal one night stop on leaving Etosha"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Pleasant one-night stop after we’d spend the day in Etosha. Quick and easy to find near the Von Linquist Gate, had a feel of an old American ranch-style hotel, with lots of trees and surrounded by green well-watered lawns, very different from Etosha!

A delicious evening buffet-style bbq was served outdoors in a pretty clearing at the end of a lantern-lit walkway, very unusual and fun.

Staff were attentive and very friendly and we saw lots of different and colourful birds as well as squirrels and mongoose when enjoying our outdoor breakfast.

Could have stayed longer and would be a good base for Etosha for anyone not wanting to stay in the park itself. A recent addition here is a new waterhole a short flat walk from the main area."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp gets top marks!"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2019
"A long 30 mins drive from the main road, however it’s an ideal halfway stopover between Etosha and Windhoek. But more than that, Okonjima is a fantastic place, wonderful people who are truly dedicated to conservation and have a love and understanding of the leopards and cheetahs and all the creatures we saw during our 2 night stay.

The accommodation is fabulous, the communal areas and surroundings superb, food varied and delicious - we can’t rate it highly enough! And as if that isn’t enough to recommend it, all the staff were so engaging and fun to be with and our Guide was very knowledgeable, interesting and a delight to spend time with and learn from. Yes the leopard sightings are somewhat contrived as they are collared and radio-tracked but this in no way detracted from the experience as we were able to spend half an hour or more watching them and learning a little of their habits and behaviour. The rescued cheetahs are in a large compound, not so interesting for us.

We came away with huge respect for the Africat Foundation and it’s work and dedication to helping to improve the lives of the local people and their relationship with the animals, big cats in particular. The wildlife centre was fascinating, not only educational but fun.

A wonderful couple of days, a delightful experience!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

"Lovely guest house in Ideal location"

4 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2019
"Small, well-appointed and well-run guest house in a safe area with very attentive and helpful owners who gave us lots of advice as to restaurants, day trips, best walking routes etc.

The location is excellent - a 10 mins walk to the stop for the hop-on-hop-off bus which we used for 2 days of our 3 day Cape Town visit, within a 10 minute walk of Kloof St. for restaurants, and a short taxi ride from The Waterfront.

Breakfast was plentiful, lots of choices, fresh fruit, local breads and pastries, plus cooked breakfast if required.

Would certainly base ourselves here if we visit Cape Town again."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Shinde Camp surpassed all expectations!"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"Our first trip to Botswana and the Okavango Delta and we fell in love with this place! Everything was absolutely first-class, from the immaculate accommodation to the attentive service and from the delicious food to the exceptional guiding but above all to the beauty of Shinde and the people who work here.

On our first morning our wake-up call at 5.30am was a ‘Hello Good Morning’ before a woman in African dress came into our room balancing a tray on her head carrying a tea pot, cups and saucers, milk, biscuits!

In spite of the heat (36 to 40 degrees!) we joined in every activity: mokoro, motorboat, fishing, guided walk, game drives - we made the most of every moment at Shinde and enjoyed the company of other guests as well as many of the guides and managers who joined us for meals when we exchanged tales and experiences. On return from our mokoro trip two elephants had wandered into camp and were barring our way. The Guides assured us all was fine and that they would browse on the Amarillo tree fruits for a while and move on, we were more than happy to wait and enjoy their company!

The birdlife here is incredible, we noted down more than 60 different birds but there were many many more we didn’t have time to record. The lion sightings were remarkable, lions in trees, a lioness with cubs, elephants and hippos happily crossing the water in front of our little boat and so much more.

A paradise! It was very hard to leave!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team