This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 11-20 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J x 4
USA

"Highlight of the trip"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2019
"Okonjima Bush Camp is top rank.

The staff from the top down is exceptional. The food is above average.

Our guide, Denny, is possibly the best guide we have had in 15 trips to Africa.

The architecture and grounds are beautiful. Our room was great. " See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs M
Edinburgh

"Cheetahs and leopards at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"Fantastic opportunity to see cheetahs and leopards up close, lodge and chalet were great with each chalet having an additional separate mini-chalet as a lounge area and its own small watering hole which attracted antelope, jackals, mongoose and various birds.

There were also loads of fires and stoves in the lodge which were great when the night got chilly. It was also good to find out more about the excellent work being done by the AfriCat foundation and nice to know that our stay at the camp was helping to support the foundation. Highly recommended. " See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Jane/Chris
crolles

"What a finale!"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"We had expected a ‘just OK’ final night. First good surprise - another upgrade to the tented camp.

This is because of the volume of business given to Okonjima by Wilderness Safaris. We had an enormous room (flat!) overlooking the plains crowded with birds and springbok.

Fantastic leopard tracking drive during which we not only tracked the leopard but also saw white rhino, the brown hyena and some sort of fox. Several activities offered here (including walking!).

We could have easily done with two nights here which I would recommend for travellers." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2019
"There are a few leopards with a tracking necklace. We only made that tour and we were happy, cause we saw one leopard. We didn't make other tours, because it was the end of our trip and we had seen a lot of animals before.
The bungalows are very big and have a big window front. You can see the animals pass while you are in bed. Very quiet. " See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs B
Swindon

"Great experience"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2019
"Very interesting place. We tracked three leopards, two excellent sightings, third in thick bush but thrill of the chase was exciting.

Great guide, comfortable accommodation and excellent food. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Lions and cheetahs were fabulous.
" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr J.
Warwick

"Okonjima Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2019
"We found the game drives searching for leopards a little disappointing. The guide spent a lot of time driving around trying to pick up a signal of one of the collared leopards and we didn't see much else in the way of wildlife. We did see a leopard eventually on each drive however which was good. There is only 1 cheetah in the park now and is never seen as he is in the top end of the park. The other cheetahs have either been killed by the leopards or have been brought back into the enclosures at the foundation, which is a little zoo like! The camp was very good though, as were the staff. We only saw cheetahs in the enclosures so I have not counted them among the sightings." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Our Favourite Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 4 Dec 2018
"We absolutely loved our stay at the Okonjima Bush Camp. The accomodation was amazing. It included a separate area with loungers to view wildlife. We would definitely recommend people stay here for a minimum of two nights.

We signed up for all the activities. Opari was our guide for the whole time (and Usha for the night activity to the hide out). Opari was absolutely hilarious, and extremely knowledgeable about all the conservation and activities that the foundation undertakes.

The first afternoon we went looking for leopards, and found two young brothers sleeping not far from each other. During the night activity we saw a porcupine and brown hyena (which seemed to know where we were headed) at the hide out.

The next morning, we took part in the cheetah walk. We tracked them for a little while before they decided to have a nap!

In the afternoon, we took part in the rhino tracking activity, but we asked if we could track leopards as well. We were extremely fortunate that we came across the rhino in the area where the biggest leopard also was active, so we were able to follow rhino on foot, and then track and eventually follow the leopard, which came right up to the jeep. All activities were incredible experiences.

The staff were extremely accomodating and friendly. We particularly enjoyed the educuational centre, rehabilitation centre and newsletters, learning about the foundation's research and medical provision for the animals. We are indebted to such reserves rescuing and protecting wild animals and making every effort to successfully rehabilitate them into the wild.

N.B - at the time of our visit, the wild dog pack had become too large for the reserve, so had been moved to an alternative location. Understandably, sightings of certain animals isn't guaranteed. The foundation are continually working hard to understand the balance of different animals in an ecosystem which is (currently) relatively small. We hope they continue to expand the site and the good work into the future. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Great ending for trip"

2 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2018
"Very comfortable room - large, beautifully appointed, with an outside deck overlooking the bush with plenty of game/birdlife to watch.
The restaurant/pool etc was quite a walk away, but was no problem.

We went on the cheetah, leopard and night hide activities. All were good, but the leopard tracking activity was outstanding, with the guide Rohan brilliant. The activity coincided with a huge thunderstorm, which turned the sand rivers into real rivers - something we had never seen before.

It was a great place to end our trip, although it is a good 3.5hr drive back to the airport which could be problematic if there are any hold-ups on the roadwork stricken B1." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Feels exclusive"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2018
"We stayed here for two nights on our trip and really enjoyed it. We were originally booked into Okonjima Plains Camp but got upgraded on arrival, which was a nice surprise. The accommodation was very spacious and luxurious with a separate lounge area. There were two king sized beds in the bedroom, which were very comfortable with open views across the savannah. At night you can see the outline of giraffes and other animals just outside the windows, as they seem to shelter near the chalets at night. The shower and the loo with a view are also very unique. We made the mistake of leaving biscuits in one of our bags on the luggage rack which got infested with ants, so be careful.

The food was excellent and I was serenaded by all the staff at breakfast for my birthday, which was really nice. They even made me lots of cup cakes which I gave out to other people staying there.

We did two of the self guided walks. On one of them you go up to a lookout and we saw a sable hiding in the bushes in the fenced area below. We could also see the trucks heading out on a game drive. We did the Leopard viewing drive and had a great view of one leopard, who kindly jumped up onto an old hide so we got a good view of him. We were less fortunate with the tracking on foot of the Large Carnivore (cheetah) as we tried to locate a recently released one, with no luck. We also visited the hide after dinner one night and saw brown hyena and porcupine. We got some great photos of birds and animals by just sitting in our lounge area. There is lots of different bird species here and it was very tranquil.

This was a fantastic place to stay with all the staff being very friendly and helpful and it felt very exclusive. I would definitely go back here if I visited Namibia again.
" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Herts

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"Another luxury camp but I was really annoyed to see that they water their lawns! There are notices in the bathrooms asking guests to conserve water and then they waste water watering the lawns. A very mixed message considering this is a very arid environment. I did make this comment to them on their feedback form.

Apart from that the guide was good and the food good also.

I haven't included the animals in the Afri cat compounds in the survey as they are basically captive." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

5 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Showing 11-20 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa