This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Olduvai Gorge visit

Olduvai Gorge visit

Reviews: Olduvai Gorge visit

Below are independent comments from 8 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-8 of 8
Date
Dr C
Newmarket

"Olduvai Gorge visit review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 4 Feb 2020
"It does my heart good to see the continued improvements at Oldupai; what a treasure this site is for Tanzania.

I thoroughly enjoyed the short lecture, the displays and the lovely new lecture gallery.

I never get tired of visiting this spot. It holds so much history and continues to feed my imagination." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jonathan
bronte

"Olduvai Gorge visit review"

Based at Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge on 9 Oct 2019
"A nice place to stop and break the drive up.

Good set-up and they provided a short lecture in the outdoor area which was interesting.

Overall it was worthwhile.

We didn't bother driving on to see the moving sands." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr D.
Cambridge

"Olduvai Gorge visit review"

Based at Lemala Ngorongoro on 9 Sep 2019
"A very interesting and informative visit." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Hampshire

"Olduvai Gorge visit review"

Based at Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge on 6 Sep 2019
"The museum here is new and very interesting, and the talk by a local guide is quite good. I feel a bit more could have been made of this, perhaps by more involvement of the visitors, and/or a visit into the gorge rather than just looking from the rim." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Dip & family
Cardiff

"Olduvai Gorge visit review"

Based at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge on 3 Aug 2019
"Enjoyed the museum, worth visiting." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Marilyn & Duane
CA

"Very interesting hislory"

Based at Rhino Lodge on 3 Aug 2019
"Olduvai Gorge is famous for its research. The museum part was a bit disappointing, some good stuff but a lot more words than displays. I think it could be more engaging given the work the Leakey’s did. I am glad we saw it, an iconic place in the world." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mrs C
Highgate

"Very interesting, great museum"

Based at Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge on 27 Jul 2019
"Really good museum and interesting talk. Well worth a visit" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms H & Mrs J
London

"Definitely worth doing"

Based at Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge on 27 Jan 2019
"Fascinating place and a very good lecture given to us over looking the gorge.

The little museum is well done - I definitely recommend the visit." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
95%
8 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
6
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team