This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs A. from Oregon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

4

My Oct 2021 trip

Tanzania between 1 Oct 2021 and 14 Oct 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great trip.

Wonderful experience for a first time safari and Expert Africa made the planning much easier.

Coordinating delays from the original plan due to the pandemic and then rearranging plans for a different time of year and with 2 of us flying in at different times was handled well."

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

"Arusha Coffee Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2021
"We were only there a short time, however, they accommodated an early arrival on my part and were available to still offer a meal when my wife arrived late that evening.

Very tastefully decorated room.

They also managed to recognize that my wife left her bathroom bag in the room and brought it to us (at a run) prior to us departing on our safari."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

"Lemala Ngorongoro review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2021
"Somewhat short stay so hard to give much feedback.

Our tent was comfortable, the bucket shower was warm, and the rustic but nice accommodation made us feel like we were truly on safari in Africa, especially when our host mentioned elephants occasionally walk through the camp at night seeking the water intended for the bucket showers!

Hosts were great and the food was good. Very friendly staff. Would recommend for location (right next to the entrance to the Crater) and accommodations, however, we stayed at some other fantastic tent camps later in the trip that made us feel that we couldn't give the same rating as those other sites."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Lake Manyara Safari review"

3 Oct 2021 • All-day excursion

We actually had relatively low expectations based on reading other reviews. We were stunned by the amount of wildlife we saw.

Had we not gone on to see Ngorongoro and Serengti we would have still checked off many of the animals we hoped to see including elephant, lion, buffalo, klipspringer, baboon, monkey, giraffe, bushbuck, and a variety of birds. Many of them up close!
Excellent
The Highlands

The Highlands

"The Highlands review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2021
"This is a truly unique and magical place.

The staff and service were amazing, the accommodation exceeded our expectations and views were beautiful.

The food was very good and we loved having a drink at the cool bar tent before dinner.

We also enjoyed the educational walk with a Masai guide from the camp to a nearby Masai village. We really felt like part of the family that lived there."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

4 Oct 2021 • All-day excursion

The first sight of the crater is awe-inspiring even if you have seen it in documentaries.

The amount of wildlife you can see is remarkable and although you don't always get as close to it as in the Serengeti we were still close enough to feel like we were part of the action.

From what we heard, the park was still not as crowded as in pre-pandemic days and I can see that if there were much more traffic, it might interfere, however, while we were there, I would say the number of vehicles did not distract from the experience.
Excellent
Empakaai Crater Hike

Empakaai Crater Hike

"Empakaai Crater Hike review (not done)"

5 Oct 2021 • Morning excursion

Did not do this hike as we opted for 2 days in the crater.
Average
Maasai Village Visit

Maasai Village Visit

"Maasai Village Visit review"

5 Oct 2021 • Afternoon excursion

This was eye opening. Not your usual 'tourist visit' to dancing Maasai.

We trekked to a small boma that was truly representative of how many Maasai live. It probably deserves an 'excellent' however, it is hard to say excellent to witnessing the conditions they live in.

I understand the cultural differences, but it doesn't make it any easier to see people living in those conditions.

A remarkable experience, I wouldn't trade this for the typical tourist visits to bomas that I had read about. Really makes you ponder deeper questions.
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2021
"Our expectations were high and we were still awed to experience this amazing camp.

The accommodation was luxurious and the decor and architecture of the entire camp are very tasteful and blend in well with the landscape. Enjoyed a bubble bath in the free-standing tub on the deck of our tent and a great massage in the "spa" tent. The staff made us feel at home and were very attentive. Food was very good, although for us it was a bit much from a quantity standpoint."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olduvai Gorge visit

Olduvai Gorge visit

"Olduvai Gorge visit review"

6 Oct 2021 • All-day excursion

Worth the stop if you have an interest in anthropology.

Somewhat overwhelming amount of information for anyone who isn't more than passively interested.

Well-designed information center and amphitheater overlooking the Gorge.
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2021
"A completely different experience than Namiri even though both are essentially open-air accommodations.

Here you really feel as if you are in the thick of nature with animals all around (the wildebeests during our visit). In part, this was due to the timing of our visits and I'm sure Namiri would have a similar feel when the migration is in that area.

Amazingly comfortable rooms and bed for a mobile camp! Great staff as well."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Katambuga House

Katambuga House

"Katambuga House review"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2021
"A great final night. Would be excellent for any stay in Arusha.

Wonderful, helpful staff that went out of their way to make our stay great.

Food was excellent, the room well-appointed and decorated, and the peaceful location was much appreciated."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team