This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms M from Lethbridge

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Our February 2015 Trip to Tanzania

Tanzania between 31 Jan 2015 and 10 Feb 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip advisor, Liz, was very helpful answering all our questions and pulling the entire trip together for us. She was able to troubleshoot quickly when our planned lodge had a fire and closed. Because we were enroute she made changes to our itinerary and flights which met our needs.

We were very please she booked us with ASILIA. This subcontrator was excellent. The ASIILIA lodge we stayed at was excellent and the guide throughout our trip first class. Alfred, our guide, was very knowledgeable and accommodating. We hated to say good-bye to him. Had we realized how great asilia was we would have stayed at more of their lodges.

We had an excellent trip to Tanzania thanks to Liz, Alfred and all the others behind the scenes.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We became familiar with your company through your travel books and website. We are glad we made the choice to travel with you. Continue to visit Africa and assess places thoroughly before making recommendations- this helps to ensure a quality trip.

We wish you continued success with your company and would not hesitate to recommend you to others."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Image alt

Kia Lodge

"A great resting place coming and going"

1 night Arrived 1 Feb 2015
"In spite of the fact that our plane was delayed at Nairobi and arrived very late the driver was still waited for us. We appreciated this as we were very tired. The lodge is very handy to the airport.

We missed out on the rest day we had planned to have here before our safari, as a result we did not have the time to access the facilities available at this lodge. All staff were very accommodating.

We also arrived late after our safari and the food service personal willingly prepared a late lunch for us. We never had the opportunity to have supper at this lodge, which is why we are hesitant to give food an excellent rating.

We had a day room at the end of the safari and wish we had planned an extra night at Kia Lodge before leaving Tanzania."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

"Great view from our tent"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2015
"We loved the feeling of privacy as our tent was surrounded by trees. The accommodation was clean and secured with a padlock.
It was a pleasure waking up to the sounds of birds early in the morning.

The staff worked hard to meet all of our needs. Nice location and nice facilities.

It is a longer drive down to the valley to visit Manyara National Park than we expected and the secondary road into the lodge could use road work."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

"Enjoyed the resident wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2015
"Even though the lodge is a little dated, we loved the atmosphere. A very friendly wecoming place to stay.

The resident animals made the visit interesting. We saw waterbuck and a Malibou stork on the grounds here. Our driver amost walked into an elephant after dark.

We enjoyed the hot showers after our day at Manyara. Laundry was included in the price of the lodge which we appreciated. Food was excellent.

We appreciated the cool evenings and knew we could have a fire, in the fireplace, in our room if needed.

We would have liked to stay here longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

"Great topover location"

1 night Arrived 5 Feb 2015
"We chose to stay at this lodge due to its proximity to Olduvai Gorge, Shifting Sands and a Masaii Village we wanted to visit.

Even though the tent wasn't in as great a repair or as clean as we would have liked it was adequate for our needs.

The staff were friendly and efficient. Showers hot and inviting. Food tasty. We were able to pack our own luches here from a lunch buffet set up at breakfast."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

"Great Safari Location"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2015
"This mobile camp is quite isolated and far from the safari crowds. We enjoyed the isolation away from other safari vehicles. Close to the camp we saw a troop of resident giraffes.

We appreciated the hot showers, very clean accommodation, free laundry and extra touches provided (ie. laundry soap, Q tips, bath robes, etc.). Everthing was kept in excellent repair. The food was very tasty and our best packed luches were from this camp.

All the staff were excellent and met all of our needs. The acting camp manager, Anna, was charming efficient.

If we came back to Tanzania we would love to stay here again. We wished we had planned to stay here longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

"Lobo Lodge great off season location"

2 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2015
"A fire and closure at Seronera Wildlife Lodge forced a change of location to Lobo Wildlife Lodge in the northern Serengeti.

We enjoyed the safari we had due to the variety resident game and the absence of other safari vheicles. Visiting here in the off-season was a pleasant change of pace. The scenery in this area is beautiful (ie. the kopi).

The food here was excellent and the staff accommodating.

Built into the kopi the accommodation has many stairs. This could be a problem for people with mobility issues."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team